Sky "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sky Reviews

Updated Dec 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Sky CEO  Jeremy Darroch
Jeremy Darroch
916 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant PR Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant PR Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and rewards Great working environment with options for flexible working

    Cons

    Progression is often hard to achieve as promotion is done on whether there is a role available as opposed to merit and recognising the level at which you're operating

    Advice to Management

    To consider personal progression more and to make employees feel as though they are valued

    Sky2019-03-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A mixed experience with good times and bad times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Isleworth, England

    I worked at Sky part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits - I've not seen any other employer match them so far. If you work in Brentford then nice new offices with a number of cafes, canteens, restaurants and a bar. You are encouraged to watch TV all day at work. Good attitude to family and health needs.

    Cons

    I believe I experienced discrimination before I went on maternity leave. Despite having previous promotions and internal interviews Sky refused to consider me for further interviews after I joined a trade union. I cannot prove the link but I suspect. It meant I got stuck in the same role for a number of years. There was a culture of continually cutting staff and more work being put on current staff shoulders. You never knew when your team would be next for the axe. To be fair my personal head of department at the time I left was extremely good and loyal to his staff and probably the most professional and head of department I have ever known - I was not under his remit when I believe I experienced discrimination. However what was going on in the wider company was out of his hands.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not discriminate. Change your attitude towards unions and be transparent about what is going on within the company.

    Sky2019-03-09
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, listen to employees needs.

    Cons

    In some department, management communication is not very good.

    Sky2019-02-12
  4. "Summer Placement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Sky

    Pros

    Amazing work environment, dynamic people, great company culture which cares about its employees, great benefits and good work/life balance

    Cons

    Campus is outside of London, but Sky helps with transport from local stations

    Sky2019-02-08
  5. "Enjoying Life at Sky"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, everyone's friendly, lots of opportunities to develop if you're proactive about it, fair pay, flexible working

    Cons

    There's a lot of people whose sole jobs seem to be organising meetings and delegating work without really giving a clear brief.

    Sky2019-01-22
  6. "Retail sales agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, sky tv, health insurance, pension incentives. Positive atmosphere

    Cons

    Lack of progression, communication down can be a problem

    Sky2019-01-26
  7. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sky Retentions Agent in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sky full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and incentives with a fantastic workplace environment make coming in each day a little bit easier.

    Cons

    The closest to a con I have is that some of the upper level staff aren't easily approachable and sometimes outright abrasive.

    Advice to Management

    Be more approachable.

    Sky2018-12-16
  8. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time

    Pros

    -great benefits, dental, medical, free sky tv

    Cons

    -long hours and tedious role -

    Sky2018-12-13
  9. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits Amazing people There is always something going on at Sky which allows you to feel that it’s more than just a work place.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than most competitors. Although they counter that with the great benefits.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Sky2018-12-12
  10. "Good but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits. - Good work life balance

    Cons

    The re-organisation seems to have changed the general mood at Sky. Not the same happy place I joined 2 years ago.

    Advice to Management

    The more autonomy you give to developers, the more you get out of them.

    Sky2018-11-01
Found 132 reviews
</>Embed