KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Skytap

Is this your company?

Skytap

Add a Review

Skytap Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Jan 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 58 reviews

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Skytap CEO Brad Schick
Brad Schick
10 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

446

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I love working at Skytap!

    Aug 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Skytap is in an exciting industry, and it has unique capabilities that solve real customer problems. The product works, and it works very well. There are smart and talented people across Skytap, and everyone is invested in the success of the company. The company invests in employees with frequent perks and good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Skytap has grown quickly over the past few years. There are some growing pains, but these are excellent opportunities for innovation in the company.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Thrilled to be part of an exciting, growing company

    Aug 1, 2017 - Financial Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - As a financial analyst, it’s very rare to be involved in a company of this size and stage. Offers many chances to participate in financial exercises that a large company typically silos - Financial leadership is very willing to include people of all levels in important discussions - Employees are encouraged to invent and explore as much as possible - Company has a major market opportunity - Leadership are experienced, driven, and approachable - Amazing work life balance - Office culture is fun but focused. Employees are very smart people who enjoy work and play

    Cons

    - Some parts of the work can be unstructured but that isn’t unique to Skytap. Allows for opportunities to define workflows and processes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Leadership and Great Direction

    Jan 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Skytap's people and leadership are the reason the company shines and has been stable for so many years.

    Cons

    Things are moving quickly, so expect some start-up characteristics.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Terrible culture driving away talent

    Jun 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Skytap has some good perks, including catered lunches on Fridays and a flexible work remote option. They also offer your choice in technology (PC or Mac), and are good about appointing your work station with whatever you need. The office itself is in a convenient central location, and there are some good lunch options in the area near Pioneer Square.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Skytap itself is an interesting product, but the culture here is toxic. For that, I think Skytap has a dim future unless there is a drastic change in upper management. Skytap fosters a blame culture. It’s every man for himself, so if you enjoy working as part of a team and sharing knowledge and successes, this is not the company for you. Management does nothing to inspire team members to actually work together, and indeed actively encourages team members to pass the buck, assign blame, or hand-off work until the least popular people on the team are saddled with an unreasonable amount of responsibility. If you are detail oriented and are passionate about producing high quality work, this is definitely not the place for you. Under the current management, you will be forced to adjust numbers to look more favorable to the board. Style is valued far more than substance at Skytap, and employees who skew numbers to give the appearance of success are celebrated. Those who identify areas of improvement and offer solutions are treated as problems by upper management. Skytap has a fiercely hierarchical org structure, to its own detriment, as much of the more practical and effective strategies actually come from its lower level employees. These technical and talented people are leaving in droves, which is gradually revealing the ineptitude of the directors and the chief staff. There is a well-founded distrust of the senior HR management at Skytap. Lewd and unprofessional behavior is hand waved at Skytap. Nothing confidential is kept secret, even by well-intentioned employees, and personnel issues are gossiped about and passed around by those in the proverbial “inner circle.” Employees are fired publicly and with little to no warning, only to be laughed at and gossiped about after they have left. Skytap does not support its employees professionally, and there are scant opportunities to develop your career here, whether by promotion or expanding one’s skill set. Employees are expected to produce miracles with little or no resources, and are cast aside when unrealistic expectations are not met. Overall, this is an unhappy place to work. The senior leadership is uninspired and lazy, particularly those individuals close to retirement. Hard working employees will not get support or recognition here. The environment is cliquish and juvenile, and the morale is low.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    boutique cloud computing shop

    Dec 1, 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    amazing technology extremely smart people great engineering management comfortable workplace

    Cons

    features are introduced slowly lack of general vision

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company I've ever worked for

    Sep 1, 2020 - Customer Service Manager (CSM) in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked in a professional environment for almost 15 years and this is the best experience I've had, hands down. The people are truly amazing and sincere. Upper management tries and succeeds in creating a positive culture. The services offered are top-notch and our clients are treated as if they are apart of the Skytap family. Every team is involved to create a good experience from our smaller clients to our enterprise clients. This is a very ethical company which is very important to me. Compensation and benefits are good. Plenty of time off and most importantly the work-life balance is more than fair. The managers are wonderful and very approachable. Everyone is committed to helping each other succeed. Social issues are important and they not only talk the talk but walk the walk. I'm proud to work here. I've always been an idealist so working for a company that tries to better the community is wonderful. This is a wonderful place to work overall.

    Cons

    The only thing that comes to mind is the commission structure is a little confusing. Other than that, I can't think of anything.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Tremendous Potential

    Aug 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The offering has potential and upper management seems to be well equipped to tap into it. They are going 'all in' to prepare for continued growth.

    Cons

    Some middle managers seem to not particularly care for people in general - they are mean and rude at times. I believe this is a part of growing pains and those managers will eventually be displaced.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Some interesting pockets but overall not great.

    Mar 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There's some really great technology, and Skytap is often trying to push the bleeding edge. Fully willing to try new things ... and this is a sweet spot in a very hot and growing market. Some very smart people to work with.

    Cons

    Slow moving at times, mid-level management is generally very poor. The company lacks some direction ("this market is hot and growing, we have a great idea and good technology, now what can we do with it?") and feels a bit adrift. Without a clear plan for the technology and little opportunity for professional advancement, there's a fair bit of political jockeying for the best projects.

    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hardware to Front End Cloud Engineering without Big Company Craziness

    Feb 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get insight into all aspects of what it takes to engineer a global cloud from physical hardware and networking, through hypervisors, SDN, storage to ELK, web front end and operations. Skytap is small enough you get much deeper insights into both the technology and the leadership. Great engineering oriented CEO that understands how to balance business and engineering/operational needs. Great people who are fun to work with.

    Cons

    Breadth of individual ownership and accountability is significant.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great group of people, heading in the right direction

    Sep 29, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I saw several negative reviews for Skytap here on Glassdoor before I accepted the position, but had such a great interview experience, I didn't even ask about it. I work in engineering. I am still ramping up, but so far it has been a great experience. The engineers are very supportive to new hires. I have had people sit with me and explain things without my even having asked. When I have asked to talk with a co-worker for a few minutes - coming up to speed, asking questions, everyone has been very helpful and available. This is not a 'fake' review posted by HR :-). The product is interesting, is not competing with the big players, and has a huge potential market. The company is growing, and growth requires changes. The management understands where they are and where they need to be. The roadmap is on-point and good progress is being made.

    Cons

    No cons. Great snacks in the kitchen!

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Work at Skytap? Share Your Experiences

or

Skytap Photos

+ Add Photo
Skytap photo of: Kitchen Fun!
Skytap photo of: IBM Fast Start 2020
Skytap photo of: Team event at Pasado's
Skytap photo of: Halloween 2018
Skytap photo of: Holiday Party 2018
Skytap photo of: Anniversary Party 2016
Skytap photo of: Spike brings in a morning treat
See All Photos