Skytree Reviews | Glassdoor

Skytree Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Skytree CEO Ray Villeneuve (no image)
Ray Villeneuve
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "I like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skytree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like the culture of the company a lot, it is a bit like an academic group (not surprsising since it started as one) but with much better pay and way less politiking. Interesting projects and very capable knoweledgeable coworkers and superiors, very open to new ideas and technologies. Frequent guests from universities and research labs. Flexible work arrangements, flexible hours.

    Cons

    We are a startup and with it come the usual startup cons, e.g. an occassional crunch time where something *HAS* to be done today, longer work week - 45-50 hours seems about average. As far as company specific cons - I really can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Would be cool if we had more company-wide events, e.g. a fishing trip or five.

    Skytree2014-07-11
  2. "Good times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Member of Technical Staff 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skytree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, smart people, welcoming culture.

    Cons

    Leadership changed one too many times.

    Advice to Management

    Should've been aware of issues with the product; growth broke lines of communication.

    Skytree2019-08-28
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skytree

    Pros

    Great technology in a growing market. Good long term strategy.

    Cons

    Were a bit early to the game, then struggled a bit to get the right product strategy in place. Taking too long to simplify machine learning for the broader market.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on ease of use and simplicity above all else. Make ML consumable by the broader market.

    Skytree2016-06-21
  4. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Skytree full-time

    Pros

    cutting edge technology, good problem area

    Cons

    start up, lack of stability

    Advice to Management

    listen to customers and market dynamics

    Skytree2016-05-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Yes, there've been some rough patches, but things are on the up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skytree full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smartest group of people I've worked with. I'm sure things are different from group to group but the people I interact with are almost always positive and supportive. There has been a substantial shift in the company's direction, and it's the right move, but the sharp change in focus was difficult for a lot of people to deal with.

    Cons

    As others have said, there's very little communication from executive management. And it's a startup, so there will be quick course corrections, lots of challenges, and occasional missteps--not everybody is going to enjoy working in that kind of environment.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more regularly, from the Cs and VPs.

    Skytree2016-01-02
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Unpleasant Experience and Unstable organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skytree

    Pros

    Some folks are smart and friendly. Stocked kitchen and coffee machine helps. A beer bash on Fridays is certainly plus.

    Cons

    Well, rest of the reviews depicts the picture of Skytree. I've had the most unpleasant work experience here. Product management has no knowledge of the technology or where company is going with always changing goals.

    Advice to Management

    Take some efforts to have transparent view of the company performance.

    Skytree2015-12-31
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Secretive and non-communicative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member of Technical Staff in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skytree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The engineering team consists of some of the brightest minds you can find. There are a lot interesting problems to work on, and the fully stocked kitchen helps too.

    Cons

    The CEO is says absolutely nothing to the employees other than those in the C-suite. There is zero transparency in the company. And the executive team does nothing to motivate and retain the great talent that they have, or had. Employees are treated as mere means to an end.

    Advice to Management

    Learn some people skills.

    Skytree2015-11-20
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Interesting technology, badly run company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skytree full-time

    Pros

    Interesting area (machine learning). Lots of future potential. Skytree's implemented a subset of ML methods and has done a pretty good job performance wise.

    Cons

    Skytree doesn't know how to take advantage of what it's done, if indeed it can take advantage. I'm not a CEO, it's beyond my pay-grade to figure out things like this. All i know is that we lost our way, we don't have a compelling strategy. On top of that, the sales people are churning and the engineers are leaving. This is not a healthy place to be.

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip ... figure out your business, get some stability in the team ... otherwise skytree will be dead in 6 months.

    Skytree2015-10-16
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Amateur hour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skytree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the smartest and nicest people work on the Engineering and Data Science teams. Sadly many have left.

    Cons

    Where to begin? Founding team has roots in ivory towers of academia and it shows in their general lack of experience and amateurishness. The CTO is erratic and prone to fights of fancy. We once went through a 2 month death march period when the man publicly emailed out roll calls of employees coming in over the weekend and staying late on weekdays, implicitly shaming those who wanted a semblance of work-balance. As... with the CTO, Product Management is also a joke at this place with no real experience in the industry. Product roadmap has frequent changes and feature requests are often not well thought and it isn't uncommon for requirements change from underneath. Given that deadlines are often forced on the engineering team, entirely guided by external factors such as ceaseless need to play catchup with lies management has been selling the investors and a barely existent customer base. This has resulted in a steaming pile of a code base. To top this off, HR was pretty unprofessional surprisingly bureaucratic minded for a startup. We had no peer reviews, no feed was ever shared, your performance was whatever the management said it was. A lot of good people have left the company as a result. While I do honestly get the need for "fake it till you make it" when you're a scrappy startup, Skytree's exaggerations go well above any sense of proportion (10,000x faster than other solutions *barf*). The website overstates the number of paying customers and barely anyone uses the flagship product "Skytree Infinity". All in all Skytree has been singularly the most stressful, unenjoyable and an unprofessional experience in my career.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing startup and return the money to investors.

    Skytree2015-09-23
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skytree

    Pros

    Excellent cultured center on math, data science and analytics Fun team and people Exciting field with lots of opportunities to build successful businesses

    Cons

    The executive team is a revolving door Sales team has been turned over 3 times Classic case of being stuck in the adoption chasm Sales and Marketing sells things the product doesn't actually do Long hours by engineering team to catchup with what sales sells to customers Lack of transparency on company direction and financials CEO was a generally nice person and decent internal manager but didn't have enough... experience in sales and marketing

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to customers More transparency More openness Build more community

    Skytree2015-07-12
Found 17 reviews