Slalom Employee Reviews about "401k match"

Updated Jan 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Fantastic Work Life Balance is more than a slogan(in 311 reviews)

  • "Great colleagues - overall great people(in 98 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of Diversity, Staff Aug roles at time, new framework with unclear expectations(in 63 reviews)

  • "401k match could be better and more women in leadership(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Slalom and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "401k match"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Place to Work!

      Jan 15, 2021 - Principal 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance, no travel, engaged leadership

      Cons

      limited vacation time, 401k match

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Extremely impressive

      Dec 29, 2020 - Principal Consultant in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’m finishing my first year with Slalom, and I have 23 years of professional experience, including 10 years with consulting firms. Slalom is easily the best consulting firm I’ve encountered, as an employee or a client. Pros: - most of the staff are professional, experienced, thorough and team oriented. I have a learned a lot from my colleagues. - very supportive during the pandemic, found ways to keep us motivated, inspired and feeling connected. Strong financial discipline prevented layoffs. - supportive of personal growth. I’m reskilling to focus on Salesforce, and have gotten wonderful support in my office and from others. - I’m impressed by their ability to support associates who don’t want to travel. This is very important to me a parent.

      Cons

      Very few. There’s some room for improvement in the 401k match.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Flexible work life while working with cutting edge technologies

      Aug 22, 2019 - Consultant in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoy working at Slalom. I love that I am not stuck traveling weekly anymore, but still am able to work with the newest cloud technologies. I feel like Slalom doesn't cheap out on their employees, the company hosts a lot of events (happy hours/team events) which always have continuous free food and drinks. Little things like this mean a lot to me. When we have more formal events like State of the Office or Quarterly events, you can tell that the they actually take time to organize and make these enjoyable events, rather than just scrape up some things to talk about with last minute preparation. In addition to all of the above, I also am a fan of Slalom's annual retreat. It is a unique perk to have a weekend getaway covered for yourself and your significant other - with the rest of the office. A cool way to get to know your colleagues, who really end up becoming your friends. Culture is also a great part about Slalom. If you come from a larger consulting company, you will likely experience some culture shock when you're no longer treated as just a number. Instead, you'll find snacks/drinks in the office and people shooting each other with nerf guns. Finally, given the company is still growing so quickly, I feel there is a lot of potential for career growth.

      Cons

      There aren't many to be honest. Our current 401k match is 50% of contributions, up to 6% of your salary in total. Although this is pretty decent as it is, I think it would make Slalom and even more unique and desirable place if this was an even more competitive benefit.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Hard, if not impossible, to get ahead

      Aug 12, 2020 - Consultant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Won't work as hard as other places

      Cons

      Lack of career path (suck ups get promoted) Weak benefits (PTO / 401k match) Excuse culture

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Slalom Response

      President & Co-founder, North America

      This is John Tobin. This has been a tough year for everyone, but I am proud that we took the stance to protect our people and our business and by all accounts, we have faired very well. We are going to have salary increases in 2021 and the freeze was only put in place for mid-year consideration, which is not a normal thing anyway. I know of so many people over the years that have grown and obtained more responsibility, but I'm sorry this did not work out for you. I would be interested to talk to you if you are open to it, simply send me an email at johnt@slalom.com to set up a time to speak. Alternatively, if you’d like to share more feedback anonymously, please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Pros

      Having been with Slalom for 4+ years the opportunities I have had have been innumerable. I’m constantly impressed by the caliber of people I work with day in day out and how corporate leadership is looking to build a company that will endure to serve the world. I have constant opportunities to share and own my ideas. Benefits overall are great including recent enhancements to parenting leave - the company is constantly looking out for its people and listens to feedback that it receives. Celebrating our people is at the core of who we are. I can see myself being at Slalom for some time to come.

      Cons

      Almost none. Perhaps slightly better 401k match, but that’s minor in the grander scheme.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Have an honest conversation with yourself before joining

      Nov 18, 2019 - Consultant in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong cloud and business advisory practice and practice leaders.

      Cons

      Highly progressive culture. Shared work space in WeWork. Comp plan not aligned to account and territory plans. Expense policy can create hardship on employee. No 401K match first year.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Slalom Response

      President & Co-founder, North America

      This is John Tobin. I don't really understand the comment about firing people based upon social / political views - I've never remotely heard of this happening at Slalom. Still, I'd be happy to talk to you more about this if you would like - simply email me at johnt@slalom.com to set up a time to speak. Alternatively, if you’d like to share more feedback anonymously, please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Three years in, this is definitely the best company I've ever worked for

      Feb 6, 2017 - Consultant Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Compensation is fair. I've personally witnessed people receiving 10+% raises because leaders did a market evaluation and found that their folks were not making enough. I've always felt well-compensated. - Culture is outstanding. If you stay plugged-in to company events, you will feel like part of a family. I've gone through some personal issues recently, and the amount of people who have reached out offering support, hugs, dinner, beers has been hugely impactful to me. There is a family feel with this company that I have only found at one other place in my career. And as we grow, it's clear the leaders are concerned about fostering this culture and not letting it slip away. - Events are top-notch. Skedaddle, the yearly all-expense getaway weekend in the mountains, continues to be a huge draw for me. I love getting to kick back and spend the weekend with coworkers/friends. The Christmas party, summer picnic, Rockies opener tailgate, and other events are all well-done and fun. - The company is willing to be self-critical. The Widening the Circle training, for all of it's "diversity rah rah" has a great introspective point to it. We identified the "typical Slalomer": avid drinker, young, preppy, college-educated, white, among others. And it makes us think about the people we may be missing out on because we aren't stepping out of our typical circles to find folks that are just as good if not better, but don't look/act like a typical Slalomer. And I've seen results from the training: we offer more events where drinking isn't a central point--variety is great! - Leadership is open. I've witnessed very frank questions from coworkers to both office and national leadership, and have heard frank answers. The leadership at all levels (barring a few folks in the Denver office) is very approachable, personable, and honest. When things go wrong, they own it. When things don't pan out, they analyze why not and tell us. We have insight into company financials and plans on both year and multi-year forecasts. - Work/life balance is modeled by leadership for the most part. I've seen practice directors take additional time off after having children. I've had coworkers who moved to a 4-day week to support their personal life needs. All of these changes are supported wherever possible. Consultants have the right to say "no" to a project that won't fit their desired work/life balance.

      Cons

      - Benefits, particularly 401k match, could use some work. The company has made strides in the benefits area, but they are still not at the level I expect from a world-class company. - The ITP process (Intent to Pursue--the promotion process) is not fun for most people that endure it. I've seen two quality coworkers get stuck in ITP with objectives met but no appetite for their promotion. We lost both of them to other companies because they were fed up with not having the promotion occur. ITP is different for different people and roles, as well. Some people it seems don't even go through it, while for others it takes a year. I haven't talked to a single person who has gone through ITP that thought it was valuable. - If you aren't willing to put in the time to see and be seen at outside events, your mobility is limited. I don't necessarily see this as a con, but I'm putting it out there for those who expect quality work to be the sole promotion force. Slalom still has a solid group of Consultants who just want to do the work and go home, and that is supported and not in any way deterred.

      Continue reading
      44 people found this review helpful

      Slalom Response

      Communications Manager

      Thank you so much for sharing your detailed reflections on working at Slalom Denver. It's wonderful to hear that, by and large, you feel that the culture is "outstanding," the leadership is great and both compensation and work/life balance are fair and supportive. Thanks also for your insights around things that can be improved. Your advice for both the Denver team and the National processes/benefits will be shared with the appropriate leadership teams. If there's more that you'd like to share anonymously please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey. Thank you for your candor and for being with Slalom.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company With Room To Improve

      Sep 23, 2018 - Practice Area Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Slalom is a consulting firm founded by consultants who were looking for something different. In my experience as a practice area leader in one of the markets, our company walks the walk in terms of work-life balance, inclusion, and business ethics. As hackneyed as it sounds, our culture is our main differentiator from other firms. We try very hard to take care of our people; as a leader, this is one of my core values, and feeling it supported by the company I work for is very important to me. While we don't have the brand name of a Big 4, we do have enough cachet to pull in big, interesting work from both Fortune 500s and smaller, nimbler organizations. Sitting in leadership, I can say that ensuring that work is high impact and exciting is something we consider when we decide whether or not to accept an engagement. Leaders, including the national leadership team, are accessible and human. They are in it for the long haul, and want to do right by the company and the employees.

      Cons

      Our benefits could be better. I'd like to see a meaningful improvement in our leave policies in particular. 17 days a year (including sick and personal time!) is kind of pitiful for the experienced professionals we are trying to bring into the firm. In my opinion, it would be more empowering to just measure us on utilization/results and stop tracking PTO at all. Paternity/Maternity leave is also a mess. 1 week paternity isn't at all competitive in 2018, and the complexity and limitations of the maternity leave policy need some work as well. This issue may mean that I leave Slalom sooner than I want to, because I intend to have another kid, and the paternity leave policy means I'll need to burn almost a year of PTO in order to spend a month at home with my newborn. 401k match is improved at the new 50% up to 6%, but could still be better, especially with the vesting schedule meaning you won't retain 100% of the match if you ever leave.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Likely a Great Choice

      Dec 2, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Slalom is doing a lot of things right. They do a good job of focusing on culture and making you feel like a part of a company that cares even as they've grown. There is a nice blend of "professional corporate" while still feeling small enough to feel personal. Despite not being a high level decision maker myself, I always felt comfortable approaching and talking to people at all levels of the organization including Tobin. If you are motivated and clear about what you want to do, you can generally steer your career the way you want. Want to learn a certain technology? Be aggressive about wanting to be involved in it and you will most likely be hooked up. I moved on from Slalom but am glad that I spent several years there. It was a great experience with a great company.

      Cons

      Slalom at its roots is a sales focused company that feels like it. People with a technical skillset (with or without people skills) will be better compensated at a tech company that prioritizes technical ability. The 401k match is dreadful Higher levels feel very white/male/Accenture No paid paternity leave They take FOREVER to fire the truly terrible employees, foisting a lot of painful problems on others who have to clean up the mess and get things done.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Slalom Response

      Communications Manager

      Thank you very much for providing such a thoughtful and detailed review. It is great that you experienced our leadership team as accessible and personable. Your thoughts regarding the lack of recognition of technical skill sets, benefits and firing fast will be shared with leadership as will your advice regarding hiring a female GM. If you have any additional feedback that you'd like to share, even though you are a former employee, we'd love to hear it. Please feel free to email HR anonymously at feedback@slalom.com. Again, thank you for sharing your insights.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overall good but need consistency with some of the policies

      Mar 28, 2016 - Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a number of great perks working at Slalom. Stocked fridge, unlimited snacks, beer on tap and the constant availability of food and beverages at company functions. They do not do anything on a small scale when it comes to out-of-office activities (holiday parties, team outings) and they are extremely generous with these types of events. Annual outing where you are allowed to bring a significant other for an entire weekend away from the office, with almost all of the expenses paid. The former Chicago GM still sends an email on everyone's birthday or anniversary which pretty impressive considering the number of people that are now work in the Chicago office.

      Cons

      The company grew fast but some of the perks and benefits of this don't seem to have coincided with the growth. The 401K match is still extremely low, the PTO is catching up but the work/life balance model seems to be inconsistent between teams. Some members of leadership restrict or limit the ability for individuals to work remotely when between projects or even when they're on internal projects which isn't what was "sold" as a benefit during the interview and recruitment process. It also seems like that as the company grew, employees were promoted into management positions due to tenure and not because they are qualified or have "people management" skills.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Slalom Response

      President & Co-founder, North America

      This is John Tobin. Helpful feedback regarding the communication and the need to be consistent with certain policies. If you ever want to talk more about this live, simply send me an email to discuss live - johnt@slalom.com. Thanks

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 49 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Slalom Job Seekers

    Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Slalom? Share Your Experiences

    or