Slalom "401k match" Reviews | Glassdoor

Slalom Employee Reviews about "401k match"

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Lower salary compared to market/industry; Some roles can be more staff aug rather than consulting(in 61 reviews)

  • "Our current 401k match is 50% of contributions, up to 6% of your salary in total(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "401k match"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Flexible work life while working with cutting edge technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoy working at Slalom. I love that I am not stuck traveling weekly anymore, but still am able to work with the newest cloud technologies. I feel like Slalom doesn't cheap out on their employees, the company hosts a lot of events (happy hours/team events) which always have continuous free food and drinks. Little things like this mean a lot to me. When we have more formal events like State of the Office or... Quarterly events, you can tell that the they actually take time to organize and make these enjoyable events, rather than just scrape up some things to talk about with last minute preparation. In addition to all of the above, I also am a fan of Slalom's annual retreat. It is a unique perk to have a weekend getaway covered for yourself and your significant other - with the rest of the office. A cool way to get to know your colleagues, who really end up becoming your friends. Culture is also a great part about Slalom. If you come from a larger consulting company, you will likely experience some culture shock when you're no longer treated as just a number. Instead, you'll find snacks/drinks in the office and people shooting each other with nerf guns. Finally, given the company is still growing so quickly, I feel there is a lot of potential for career growth.

    Show More

    Cons

    There aren't many to be honest. Our current 401k match is 50% of contributions, up to 6% of your salary in total. Although this is pretty decent as it is, I think it would make Slalom and even more unique and desirable place if this was an even more competitive benefit.

    Advice to Management

    Improve 401k match further.

    Slalom2019-08-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Have an honest conversation with yourself before joining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Slalom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong cloud and business advisory practice and practice leaders.

    Cons

    Highly progressive culture. Shared work space in WeWork. Comp plan not aligned to account and territory plans. Expense policy can create hardship on employee. No 401K match first year.

    Advice to Management

    Set in motion a formal performance review policy so people know where they stand in their performance and how they are being measured. Right now it seems people can be fired based upon social and political values that do not align to the company. Be honest with the public that you advocate the "mute men" movement.

    Slalom2019-11-18
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Good pay, no room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and some of the benefits are good. Work environment and culture is great, but it could be better.

    Cons

    401k match is not that great compared to many other companies around. Job titles are given out to people that don't make much sense. Some of the hierarchy within teams also make no sense. Not much opportunity to grow despite what some people say. Slalom leaders always say that you have the chance to grow to other positions very quickly. That may have been the truth 5 years ago, but that is no longer the case.... I've even been hearing from some employees in corporate that it's even worse for them. They get shot down many times when they express interest in new jobs in corporate or on the consulting side. Some people that I am still close with had to move on to other companies if they wanted to continue to grow.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please understand that the employees on your team don't want to be stuck with you forever. No matter how good they are for your team, we all want to grow in our careers and if you don't let us grow and move onto higher positions, we'll just end up leaving.

    Slalom2019-04-25
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Great Company With Room To Improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Area Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Slalom is a consulting firm founded by consultants who were looking for something different. In my experience as a practice area leader in one of the markets, our company walks the walk in terms of work-life balance, inclusion, and business ethics. As hackneyed as it sounds, our culture is our main differentiator from other firms. We try very hard to take care of our people; as a leader, this is one of my core... values, and feeling it supported by the company I work for is very important to me. While we don't have the brand name of a Big 4, we do have enough cachet to pull in big, interesting work from both Fortune 500s and smaller, nimbler organizations. Sitting in leadership, I can say that ensuring that work is high impact and exciting is something we consider when we decide whether or not to accept an engagement. Leaders, including the national leadership team, are accessible and human. They are in it for the long haul, and want to do right by the company and the employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    Our benefits could be better. I'd like to see a meaningful improvement in our leave policies in particular. 17 days a year (including sick and personal time!) is kind of pitiful for the experienced professionals we are trying to bring into the firm. In my opinion, it would be more empowering to just measure us on utilization/results and stop tracking PTO at all. Paternity/Maternity leave is also a mess. 1 week... paternity isn't at all competitive in 2018, and the complexity and limitations of the maternity leave policy need some work as well. This issue may mean that I leave Slalom sooner than I want to, because I intend to have another kid, and the paternity leave policy means I'll need to burn almost a year of PTO in order to spend a month at home with my newborn. 401k match is improved at the new 50% up to 6%, but could still be better, especially with the vesting schedule meaning you won't retain 100% of the match if you ever leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to stand firm on our values, as you always have in the past. We are proud of you and the company we are building together.

    Slalom2018-09-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + I work with smart and talented people that I am friends with outside of work + Company culture that values every role in the organization. I feel valued and appreciated, and am told that by my colleagues daily. I look forward to coming into the office + New public sector work makes me feel good about the impact we are making in the Denver community. +Lots of opportunity to get involved and plenty of... room for growth. +Company really listens to feedback and takes action to change when a need is expressed

    Show More

    Cons

    + No women in upper management + Benefits and 401K contribution could improve-- 401K match did increase this year!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up what you're doing with culture. Work on adding diversity to upper management. More women and people of color on our leadership team would increase innovation and mirror Slalom's values of diversity and inclusion. Invest in diverse employees early and create a path for leadership opportunities down the road.

    Slalom2018-05-24
  6. "There is something special here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The values are lived every day by our people. We challenge one another to be better, support through hard time, and have fun along the way! I have never been part of an organization that is more genuine and authentic than Slalom. There are still stressors that come with any job, but I couldn't imagine working with smarter people who want to genuinely help you wherever they can. We are also a growing firm which is... fun and allows for ideation as well as execution. We focus on outcomes but doing things the right way. Overall, I am excited to continue to grow myself personally and professionally at Slalom.

    Show More

    Cons

    401k match has improved but could always be better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your people and making this place fun and open.

    Slalom2018-05-24
  7. "Slalom Culture rules over any other Consulting firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Consultant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I feel valued every day I come to work. I am constantly challenged to push my skills in order to deliver more value to the client. Slalom hires amazing, talented and generally fun to be around people. We operate by a very 'entrepreneurial' mentality where whatever ideas we come up with can be presented to Leadership for possible inclusion. Our executive leadership team is approachable, available and is... constantly looking for areas of improvement and feedback. This is very flat organization where you're encouraged to 'do what you love.' If that means staying in a Consultant role it is completely fine. Overall I love working here because I feel empowered by my peers, encouraged to seek new areas of growth and surrounded by amazing people.

    Show More

    Cons

    There can be times when you are staffed at a client to do work that doesn't align with your career path. It's the balance of being billable vs doing the work you are passionate about. Since it's a small office being on the bench waiting for the right role as opposed to any role is a fine balance. Also the benefits are lacking as compared to the bigger consulting firms. The 401K match is not great but they are... making improvements to it as we grow.

    Show More
    Slalom2018-05-24
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work if you're willing to sacrifice compensation for good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Have genuinely enjoyed working with almost everyone I have worked with here. You can generally count on your co-workers to be good at their jobs. - Management makes a concerted effort to be forthright and transparent with their planning and vision for the company, and a very open and accessible if you have questions or concerns - For the most part employees are given some input into what projects they would... like to be on. For all my projects my manager has come to me before the project to describe it to me and get my approval before staffing me on it (that being said I haven't had a project I turned down yet, so not sure how that conversation would go). - Office environment is very laid back and fun. Lots of events, chances to connect with co-workers. Seems to me to be generally a very open and welcoming environment. - Slalom has the most mature agile practices of anywhere I've worked. Most projects generally follow agile practices and are fairly well run and organized.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Compensation is below average for Seattle. 401k match is much smaller than I've had elsewhere. - There are a fair number of pretty frustrating/directionless projects that people get stuck on. I haven't been on one personally, but seems that most people have a couple horror stories of really bad projects they've been on, or are currently on. I can think of a three project right off that are going right now... that I know people that can't wait to get off of. - Management can lay it on a little thick with the "we want to change the world, we want to be the best company ever" narrative. Perhaps they really feel that way, but it doesn't land well with the individual contributors, particularly when they're on a mundane, dead end project.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Overall, keep doing what you're doing. Your transparency and openness to feedback is great. - I think you would have an easier time retaining talent with more competitive compensation and benefits, but I think for the most part the people here (myself included) are here because we enjoy working here even though we could be making more elsewhere. -Take it a little easy on the grandiose company goals. I'm... not saying you should change our fundamental vision, but Brad sending a video telling us about the grand designs he envisions for the company doesn't really resonate with me when I'm in the middle of a uninteresting project that doesn't really seem to be going anywhere.

    Show More
    Slalom2018-01-09
  9. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome culture, decent pay, supportive team

    Cons

    Poor PTO and 401k match

    Advice to Management

    Better benefits, please!

    Slalom2017-09-19
  10. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow professionally and advance your career Work - life balance Outstanding culture Opportunity to work with very smart people in entrepreneurial environment.

    Cons

    Some room to improve 401K match

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Slalom2017-07-27
Found 46 reviews