Slalom Reviews | Glassdoor

Slalom Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Grass is not always green"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Answer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and laid back environment. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    Lack of career growth within the company and leaders who don’t like addressing difficult questions of growth and inclusion..

    Advice to Management

    Take more unconscious bias trainings for leadership roles and listen to employee concerns regarding growth and inclusion.

    Slalom2020-01-17
  2. "Best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Trust Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture - no exaggeration. Slalom is dedicated to excellent employees.

    Cons

    Sometimes too many smart people making decisions all at once.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t ever change!

    Slalom2020-01-16
  3. "Great consulting company, values consultants and clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Principal in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Actually values Consultants, seeks to understand and address their needs and aspiration Values clients, seeks to always do the best for clients irrespective of who gets the business Great work culture, always seeking to develop new skills while having fun Great training organization Great benefits

    Cons

    Very decentralized culture, lot of overlap between groups

    Slalom2020-01-13
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Traffic Control Specialist in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good client base - team cares about well being of consultants - open company culture - work life balance is better than other consulting firms

    Cons

    - staff augy assignments (understandable because growing practice) - Some consultants have given up on themselves or are not motivated

    Advice to Management

    - Improved compensation, bonus structure, and benefits (huge complaints) -

    Slalom2020-01-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Principal in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - People focused culture - Great clients - Many resources to grow - Diversity of projects

    Cons

    - Consulting is not for everyone - Even if there is a people focus culture, there are a lot of people managers that are not good at managing people. Thats a contradiction - Career growth is rigid, and is hard to get meaningful pay increases without sales responsobilities

    Advice to Management

    - Revaluate your people managers, not everyone should be a people manager. It would be great to have PAx who focus on people and PAx that focus on sales for example - There needs to be a route to a pay bump without a promotion - Overall Slalom re-invents the wheel most of the times, we need to be more a team of teams

    Slalom2020-01-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Crowded office, very little area for personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Slalom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great office view in Seattle. The operations and HR team are very supportive and efficient. Overall great hiring experience.

    Cons

    - Meeting room is extremely LIMITED. To make the situation worse, the VP/president's secretary constantly overrides booking calendar and kicks people out for their "important" meetings. When you write nice words on Glassdoor, please take the action to give your people the generosity of space. Just be fair, it it hard for everyone! - absolute no saying on the types of project you are working on.

    Advice to Management

    - Ask your secretary to find room elsewhere - Give individuals opportunity for the types of project suitable for their personal growth/career goals

    Slalom2020-01-10
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Slalom full-time

    Pros

    Good work and life balance

    Cons

    Some clients are not desirable

    Slalom2020-01-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "5 years and counting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I waited five years to write this review. One year felt unauthentic since I was still finding my way. Three years seemed like the right time since it marked the longest job in my career, but I knew the true test for me was whether I could pass that point and still be happy. Then five years hit, and I have not only exceeded the time I spent at any other company, all my expectations around what I could achieve at Slalom have been blown out of the water. If you are looking for a company that truly cares about growing its people, and you want to surrounded by the smartest people you’ll ever work with, Slalom is the place for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    The biggest challenge I’ve faced at Slalom is navigating internal politics. It is true however that if you should up humble, curious, and authentic, you will go far. Leave your ego at the door and be willing to do the work, both for the client and with internal relationships.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push for a unified message externally and, more importantly, internally so we show up as one company, and one vision, for our clients.

    Slalom2019-12-31
  9. "Incredible place to work and grow as a professional."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flat org structure gives everyone an equal say and creates a really strong collaborative environment

    Cons

    Consultants are challenged to plan their own career with no formal guidelines. Can be challenging at times

    Slalom2019-12-21
  10. "The Best Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slalom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, work life balance, opportunities, pay raises and promotions, professional growth. Quality of work over chasing bad work.

    Cons

    Consulting is hard work, if you want to coast in a job this isn’t the place.

    Slalom2019-12-14
Found 1293 reviews