Slalom Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Fantastic Work Life Balance is more than a slogan(in 311 reviews)

  • "Great colleagues - overall great people(in 98 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of Diversity, Staff Aug roles at time, new framework with unclear expectations(in 63 reviews)

  • "401k match could be better and more women in leadership(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Slalom and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Awesome culture

      Jan 8, 2021 - Consultant in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative culture, great people, care about staff and community, interested in your development, inspiring leadership, no required travel

      Cons

      PTO policy could be a bit better compared to other consulting firms, but hey . . . no travel required.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great overall

      Jan 14, 2021 - Principal in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, leadership that cares, teams that work together and don't compete, interesting work, flexibility and overall work-life balance, innovative and entrepreneurial

      Cons

      Pay and benefits are not competitive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Consultant

      Jan 15, 2021 - Consultant in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleagues - overall great people

      Cons

      compensation does not match what they promote

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Slalom Response

      President & Co-founder, North America

      This is John Tobin. Share the feedback to your People Business Partner and/or leadership what you feel is your justified compensation for your skills, experience, and market. If you want to share more with me regarding what your exact situation is, simply email me at johnt@slalom.com to set up a time to talk. Alternatively, if you’d like to share more feedback anonymously, please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love working for Slalom

      Dec 1, 2020 - Security Consultant in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people Great benefits Fun environment Interesting and fun projects

      Cons

      Leadership varies from practice to practice

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Cool projects with opportunities for growth

      Aug 30, 2020 - Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, opportunities to learn through projects, work life balance.

      Cons

      People can get to be very echo-chambery- not bad when the topic is work-related, but pretty annoying when it comes to politics.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great People and Company

      May 22, 2020 - Salesforce Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really great people, interesting projects, fun retreats

      Cons

      If you're on the cross-team department, you still have to live near an office. This team is the one that does the traveling and augmentation for other offices. I never had to go to my home office as my teams and projects were all over the country, rarely in the city I lived in. Would have been nice to have more flexibility to live anywhere if I was WFH home or traveling all the time. This may have changed since I last worked there though.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good from the beginning until trust was broken

      Jul 7, 2020 - Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Incredibly intelligent and kind people - Awesome network of resources around the nation - People-focused (for the most part, not all-inclusive) - If you're a 29-45 year old consultant, this is the place for you. Great people, but the vast majority of the office falls into that age group. If you're coming straight out of college, I personally would've potentially preferred a different firm.

      Cons

      - Leadership loves and welcomes the word diversity but the only diversity I've observed them pursue until recently is gender parity. As a person of color, I didn't feel they completely had my interests at heart until there was pressure from the world. - Talked about during the interview process and confirmed within 2 months of starting, I brought up work travel, asking if there were opportunities. They said I could if that was what I desired. To that, I said I want to travel as close to 100% as possible. It's been over a year since I started and I haven't gotten an opportunity to travel for projects. - Earlier in the interview process, I asked if I would be acting in an individual contributor on projects. I'm a growing professional who wants to learn from the intelligent people at Slalom. They said I wouldn't be alone. The last two projects I've been assigned to, I've either been the only Slalom employee at the client or the only Slalom resource on the project. - Slalom told me I would receive a promotion in 6-12 months if I delivered after I started. About 9 months in, I took the initiative to play a role on a project two promotions above my current position. I delivered well, the client trusted me from the beginning of the project, and we worked well together. Thirteen months later, even after delivering exceptionally, I'm still promotion-less with a promotion date that stands as TBD.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Slalom Response

      President & Co-founder, North America

      This is John Tobin. I would love a chance to talk to you further about some of these items. Of course, I would always encourage you to talk to your GM on these items too. It is COVID. No one is really traveling. And frankly at Slalom, as you know, we have a no unwanted travel policy. Most people in local markets, do not travel. If you wanted to travel here, there are groups within Slalom where that is likely (like RDT), but it might be a little tougher to get in some of those teams earlier in your career. Anyway, I would very much welcome the dialog. Simply email me at johnt@slalom.com to set up a time to talk. Alternatively, if you’d like to share more feedback anonymously, please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Beware

      Oct 19, 2019 - Consultant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, very smart and hardworking. Lots of legit rockstars. Great leadership at highest levels, who always listen and mostly care. Lots of opportunities to work on community projects with teammates. Recruiting teams - excellent. Year One - excellent.

      Cons

      Staff aug work, zero strategy, disconnect from leaders. ITP...aka Ambiguous deadend journey to some promotion or title change that could arbitrarily end in 'nope'? Joke. If you're not a rockstar or not ok with being in the boys club, do not bother. Lots of talk about culture, but its only at low level, not with leadership... at that level, its just about a marketing firm and money machine selling consultant services and resources. Aka Cult-ure. (URE = U R expendable). And JT, I'm sure you'll reply to this... you could always answer emails, too.

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful

      Slalom Response

      President & Co-founder, North America

      This is John Tobin. You obviously know me, so why don't you send me an email or call my cell - I'd be happy to talk to you more about this if you would like. I will forward to the Boston leadership team and alternatively, if you’d like to share more feedback anonymously, please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey.

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Emerging

      Sep 22, 2020 - Principal in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, opportunities and work/life balance

      Cons

      Still emerging in the SF market

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Okay

      Sep 5, 2020 - Human Resources Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of great people, fun perks

      Cons

      Not a great salary for corporate employees.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 98 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Slalom Job Seekers

    Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Slalom? Share Your Experiences

    or