Sleep Number Corporation Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

Sleep Number Corporation Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
67%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number Corporation President and CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
80 Ratings
  1. "Great Place To Grow Professionally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great compensation! Good work/life balance. Great Healthcare, life insurance, 401k match.

    Cons

    Holiday hours (retail) The pay can swing as it is a performance for pay environment.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-07-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Just okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good product although employees can’t afford the beds.

    Cons

    Poor pay, poor pay, poor pay.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better starting wages.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sleep Number Cares!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Holyoke, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sleep Number cares so much about the wellbeing of employees and customers. I believe in our product which delivers proven quality sleep and our mission of improving lives. There are many training and growth opportunities. I'm surrounded by a wonderful district of positive people to work with!

    Cons

    There aren't any major cons. I totally recommended joining Sleep Number!

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-06-23
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Soul sucking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to work with a lot of talented people.

    Cons

    Terrible work life balance. Black out days, every month is a new sale and you're expected to work almost every weekend of the year. Very difficult to have a life outside of Sleep Number

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your employees. Strive to create happier teams.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-07-14
  5. Helpful (17)

    "From Great to Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This used to be the best place in retail to work. The product really is amazing. Good sales process and a lot of really good people in the field.

    Cons

    You need to be able to make it by on your base salary. Sales fluctuate drastically and bonuses can be scarce. As with most companies these days, senior management is compensated VERY WELL, at the expense of everyone else (no, DMs are not senior management) Be prepared to work ~ 60 hours a week, including weekends and most holidays. Micromanagement is at an all time high. When traffic is off be prepared to... explain why sales are off and and "what you're doing about it." A lot of politics at Sleep Number.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I could spend a lot of time here, but current management seems to think everything is fine.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-05-17
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Retail hours can be demanding.

    Advice to Management

    Yearly pay increases.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-05-22
  7. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great product, good sales training

    Cons

    high goals, tons of phone calls required daily

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-05-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good Company, Little Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Lawrence, KS

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sleep Number gives a great benefit plan and Paid Time Off. Overall much more regular hours than most retail positions, and a smaller staff group.

    Cons

    Not a ton of management training, and a heavy focus on the company sales process rather than focusing on the local sales climate. Due to small staff size it can be difficult to take advantage of your PTO. Like most jobs, management above you can make the difference between a great workplace and a horrible one.

    Advice to Management

    If we are supposed to operate like an owner, give store staff the ability to work with minor customer service issues. It's hard to have that attitude when you can control so little at the store level.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-03-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It is a job, that may or may not pay your bills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great sales culture. Selling by Numbers is a proven formula for success.

    Cons

    Call lists that don't really drive business.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-03-20
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great Job. Just wasn't for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Product. Love the customers. Easy work. Great company overall with opportunity for growth if you are willing to master corporate speak. The money is great if you can sell.

    Cons

    Way too many hours. Zero Work/Life Balance. You are supposed to get 2 days off but that does not happen if your store is behind, there is a meeting, you are on the event team, etc. I received my days off probably once a month. Be prepare to write up your team for having a bad month. They may be stellar employees but everyone is being written up. It's demoralizing.

    Advice to Management

    Hire from within more than you do. All of the store managers that were hired from the outside while I was there could not perform. If they can't skill practice the SBN...who's training their team?

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-02-11
Found 125 reviews