Sleep Number Corporation Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Sleep Number Corporation Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
71%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number Corporation President and CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
83 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "you are expendable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay is competitive culture located downtown minneapolis

    Cons

    you are not valued unless you are a manager or a higher up.

    Sleep Number Corporation2018-01-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Improving lives, compensation, good people, selling is fun here, great products.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance during sale periods can be challenging. Taking specific days off can be challenging.

    Advice to Management

    More recognition to sales teams.

    Sleep Number Corporation2017-09-26
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Great Opportunity for Some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The products are the BEST around. They truly do improve people's lives. My DM was the best manager I have EVER had....motivating and bringing out the best in his people. I will miss his leadership tremendously. There is a good amount of money to be made with Sleep Number.

    Cons

    The logistics of staffing in a 3 person store with all of the All Staff days are a nightmare. There is no way to give your people 2 days off and also have off yourself. Work/Life balance does not exist. I have missed a lot of time with my family in order to run my store. Home Delivery reschedules happen a lot more than they should.

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider the Matrix. There really should be a minimum of 4 people in every store. Also, HD should have a "Clean Up Crew" that catches reschedules due to DOT regs. and/or call offs. No customer should have to wait 2 weeks for a reschedule. That causes a lot of issues; lost commissions due to cancellations being one.

    Sleep Number Corporation2017-08-26
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great product - Logistical Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good pay.

    Cons

    Very little work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Figure out a way to help store managers and district managers from experiencing the dreadful burn out.

    Sleep Number Corporation2017-08-31
  5. "Select Comfort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay and commission scale

    Cons

    Long hours. High pressure sales

    Sleep Number Corporation2017-08-21
  6. "Great place to thrive!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love the focus on customer and employees. Plenty of room for advancement and amazing opportunities with competitive pay structure.

    Cons

    Balance with home life can be hard.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes there can be too much information coming out and it can be hard to follow and/or prioritize during busy times.

    Sleep Number Corporation2017-08-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your location is a big part the senior management is unorganized. If you are in the right location and have a leader that understands sales, you can grow.

    Cons

    A corporation should not have the "buddy system". Management doesn't work as a team. Being told to different things by different people that go against policy. They leave you with no help. Sales and customer service isn't their most important goal. Leaders favorites will successes and will most likely be male. Be prepared to work more than scheduled and expected to do it off the clock and keep your mouth shut and just be a leader.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Know what your District Managers are doing. The values of this company are being smothered by their interpataion of "policies"

    Sleep Number Corporation2017-08-31
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Base salary plus commission and monthly bonuses

    Cons

    Ever changing priorities of upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to focusing on people and not the technology.

    Sleep Number Corporation2017-07-17
  9. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Huntington Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great product and great pay with an innovative company and great people.

    Cons

    Sometimes having to work weekends and holidays can be tough. It is all how you balance your family time though and I have learned to work around.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Sleep Number Corporation2017-07-04
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Commision not paid fairly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall a decent company, and great product

    Cons

    Company keeps keeps getting into issues that impact delivery and result in several cancellations, or money back to customer to keep from canceling. Both of these results in commissions and bonuses not being paid, even though sales targets were met.

    Advice to Management

    When you keep screwing with peoples income it's no wonder good people leave. We lost a ton of good people 18 months ago. The policy to pay out commissions "over the normal rate" last time didn't benefit anyone I spoke to. Just a talking point to appear something was being done.

    Sleep Number Corporation2017-07-08
Found 128 reviews