Sleep Number Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Sleep Number Corporation Reviews

Updated February 13, 2018
497 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number Corporation President and CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
256 Ratings

497 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • This is a great product, innovative company (in 67 reviews)

  • Sleep Number has an amazing product (in 51 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Field Service Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Tucson, AZ
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great hours and great benefits.

    Cons

    Sometimes work days off

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like gold

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Feb 12, 2018 – Employer Brand

    Hey -- thanks for the five stars! Glad you're feeling good about being part of the team. We're happy to have you. #chopchopboom -- Kellie


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Loved it, just needed better work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Plymouth, MN
    Former Employee - Manager in Plymouth, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The work was fun and rewarding. Incredible innovations. Their product is amazing. Liked the Summer Hours perk. Great employee discounts and sales. Loved and still love the people and upper management.

    Cons

    Work life balance was a challenge. Timing and expectations of projects were not consistently realistic. Felt had to work extremely long hours to be successful. Received praise for the long hours and work results, but ultimately it burnt me out and made me decide to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the work/life balance side of things and I suspect your ratings will go through the roof as an employer of choice for prospective job seekers. The products and work content is amazing. I wish you the best and will be a brand ambassador for life.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Feb 19, 2018 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for your candid feedback – we definitely acknowledge that work/life balance has been a recurring theme from our team members. As we’ve transformed into a sleep technology company – with... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not a hard Job. Very expensive bed for what it is. Pay is ok for retail so are the hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Opportunity to succeed in the right store you can make good money. Stuck in a bad store you can starve.

    Cons

    The biggest issues is the poor Point of sale system. It goes down all the time. Customers walk out because the computer isn't working can cost you a sale.

    Advice to Management

    Fix your POS.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Feb 19, 2018 – Employer Brand

    Appreciate you sharing your feedback. We know not everything about our point-of-sale (POS) system is state of the art but we are investing in our systems and infrastructure in a very strategic and... More


  4. "It's great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Easy, stressless, good money. I enjoyed people I worked with.

    Cons

    Slow, little boring, most of your clients are old.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Feb 5, 2018 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for stopping by to leave your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the people you worked with and were able to help customers (of all ages!) improve their sleep. Take care -- Kellie


  5. "Field Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales Leader in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Field Sales Leader in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Everyone is aligned behind our Vision and Mission to improve lives by individualizing Sleep experiences! One team, one dream, pretty cool to be a part of.

    Cons

    As in most retail job the peaks are high and the valleys are low. If there was a way to flatten the shopping patterns out to more predictable earnings the job would be perfect.

    Advice to Management

    Keep Dreaming Big! Love the direction!

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Feb 5, 2018 – Employer Brand

    Glad you're excited about the direction we're headed -- the future of sleep! -- and that you like being part of our team. We agree that it's pretty cool stuff. Thanks for everything you do to improve... More


  6. "Lots of exciting work happening at Sleep Number!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Office in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Home Office in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Sure, it may be fast-paced and sometimes a tad political, but at Sleep Number you're guaranteed to work on some fun and exciting projects.

    In the last month alone, we've gone to the Consumer Electronics show, participated as a host for the Super Bowl in our hometown and we just announced a partnership with the NFL.

    I can honestly say that I've done some of the biggest, boldest work of my career at Sleep Number. And this year is shaping up to be even better.

    Cons

    Some leaders' opinions matter more than others and it's not always possible to persuade. Definitely some politics creeping into the culture.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to hearing from a broader group of team members about what's important. You've hired some super smart people. We've got this!

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Feb 6, 2018 – Employer Brand

    You're right -- we've had an exciting start to 2018 thanks to our team members. Appreciate your enthusiasm and all of the BIG and BOLD work you're doing for the company. Cheers to the year ahead... More


  7. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great product. Amazing Pay when goals are met

    Cons

    Overbearing and can feel like they have lost their way as a company on what the product actually is.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Feb 5, 2018 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for sharing your perspective -- and for everything you do to improve our customers lives. -- Kellie

  8. "Field Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service
    Current Employee - Field Service

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    New focus on delivery of white-glove installation for top-of-the-line product.

    Cons

    The company is still finding it's way resulting in some disorganization and mis-communication issues.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the path, the growing pains will be overcome.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Feb 5, 2018 – Employer Brand

    Hey -- thanks for the 5 stars! Glad you like the focus on great service and appreciate you hanging in there with us while we work to improve some of our processes. Hope you're excited about the NEW... More


  9. Helpful (7)

    "Stressful and getting less financially rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager
    Former Employee - Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fantastic product, decent hours, the ability to improve the lives of your customers and to sell a product that you actually can believe in.

    Cons

    Unable to trust anyone. Co-workers would sell you down the river to make $$ or to get ahead. Upper management assigns goals based on who they want to succeed and chooses to “coach” based on who they want to get rid of rather than actually helping them make goals. Very little personal
    Contact with supervisors. Positions are filled just to fill
    positions- and turnover is huge. Bottom line is they turn a blind eye to how you make the money just so you make the goals. Worst delivery service ever.

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone the same. Get involved with your team, be realistic, honest and communicate. Corporate stop
    blaming the stores for everything. We work the hardest and are the “face of your company “. WOW doesn’t cut it- reward us with something real!

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Feb 12, 2018 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for your feedback. As always, we look forward to hearing how we are doing and strive to create a fair and well-balanced opportunity for all.

    It’s always great to see comments like yours... More


  10. "Proud to work at Sleep Number!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Office Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Home Office Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people, product and passion. We are doing some amazing things at Sleep Number and the future is bright.

    Cons

    The workload is intense.

    Advice to Management

    Authentically appreciate the work they do and the results they bring to the company before you look for the next thing.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Feb 5, 2018 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for sharing your feedback! So glad you called out people, product and passion. We agree, those are some of the best parts of being on our team.

    As for workload, yes -- it can be intense... More


Showing 497 of 505 reviews
Reset Filters