Sleep Number Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Sleep Number Corporation Reviews

Updated August 15, 2018
543 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number Corporation President and CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
287 Ratings

543 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great product along with a lot of great staff" (in 66 reviews)

  • "Sleep Number is the best company I have ever worked for" (in 54 reviews)

Cons
  • "Small teams can be tough on work/life balance" (in 43 reviews)

  • "Ever changing priorities of upper management" (in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Smart Leadership, Amazing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Sales Manager in Fargo, ND
    Current Employee - Store Sales Manager in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    At no point do you ever feel like the tools to be successful at your job were not available to use. The company focuses on a mix of servant-leadership along with the push of constant growth and training. As a result of this mixed system, it feels like your leader is both taking care of you and push you to grow to help you do some extraordinary things.

    There is also a huge focus on the the overall health and wellness technology aspect of the company that not only gives a great story to share with your customers but also family and friends.

    What separates a job from a career is the ability to identify the value and passion you bring to both your customers and employees or lives and with that in mind, Sleep Number will truly never lack value or passion.

    Cons

    It is easy to get caught up with genuine engagement you get at work and as a result your work-life balance at times gets a little muddied. However, engagement in better transparency with employees has created a noticeable uptick in this. Being bold enough to request time enough should be encouraged and has translated to happier employee engagement.

    Advice to Management

    Being one of the most innovative companies in the industry means that sometimes our path looks harder, tougher and more callous than staying on the safe road. Please continue down this innovative path. The experiences, products and stories that we get to tell people not only create a stronger brand identity but allow us to engage with people on a separate level that resonates much louder. Some companies beat their dumb louder, Sleep Number just enjoys the music. You ask your employees in retail to be bold and have a genuine conversation everyday on solutions that will work for them. My ask for management is to be bold enough to keep innovating people, products and processes so we can keep telling our story to more people.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    May 22, 2018 – Employer Brand

    Wow! Appreciate the five stars! More importantly, though, your PASSION really came through -- for the company's vision and mission as well as for the customer. Thanks for everything you do to lead... More


  2. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This company is not only focused on the bottom line, but truly cares about their employees.

    Cons

    If you don't hit sales goals or if the store doesn't you don't make much money.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up tje good work

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Aug 16, 2018 – Senior Program Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Thanks for leaving a review. Glad you can feel that the company cares for its team members. We appreciate everything you're doing to help customers sleep better!

  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Expert in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Sales Expert in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Most people go to glass door to speak poorly about a company.
    I'm not one of those people, I worked 5 1/2 years for Sleep Number and I have nothing to say but good thing about the actual company. I'm grateful for the opportunities that were given to me.

    Cons

    I have nothing to say on "Cons"

    Advice to Management

    Making transfers possible to higher volume stores for senior sales team.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Aug 16, 2018 – Senior Program Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Thanks for the five stars! We always love to hear from people who see the opportunity here and grab it! If you're interested in transferring stores, be sure to talk with your sales leader so he or... More


  4. "Great mission, tough work in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - IT in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great product that you believe in

    Some work from home flexibility, depending on your manager

    Beautiful new corporate headquarters

    Very competitive pay with the market

    IT budget is large for a company of their size

    Cons

    Work life balance in IT support positions is brutal. You will work nights and weekends frequently

    Personal development in IT is essentially non-existent

    No real empowerment of any kind. Very common to have a VP involved in minor things

    Most really good people have left the company or the department over the last few years and most of the remaining ones are trying to leave

    Advice to Management

    Many areas are understaffed and underfunded. Other supporting areas need a lot of attention, even if they don't get you face time with the business leaders.


  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Great Company
    Great Product
    Great People
    Great Leadership

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Aug 1, 2018 – Senior Program Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Wow -- five stars AND you used the word great four times! Glad you're having such a positive Sleep Number experience. All the best -- Kellie


  6. Helpful (1)

    "POS system slow, slower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work overall, great product, can be very lucrative pay.

    Cons

    Computers very slow, with every update it gets slower. Customers are nice about it but complaining. Too many key strokes to complete the simplest of transactions. Marketing inconsistent, when marketing is stopped, no traffic in store and we were told to burn up the phones to customers we have already called too many times. This causes loss of sales and pay.

    Advice to Management

    Better job of working on updates to POS or even upgrade computers to be faster. Transactions taking way too long. Consistent marketing to help drive new traffic to stores.


  7. "Needs overhaul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional
    Current Employee - Sales Professional
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good pay , Great benefits 401(k) medical vision and dental

    Cons

    Wrong business hours should be 10am -8pm that is when Cusrmer shop This company does NOT Promote A “work Life Balance !!!!!!!”

    Advice to Management

    There’s a difference between those who manage and those who lead. The management here at sleep number are well equipped to manage paperwork orders scheduling lack in every area the ability to lead people inspire them to be the best that they can be and do.
     Where is the manager ensures that they don’t!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Inbound sales Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Culture, PTO, peers, benefits and building

    Cons

    Commission structure, management, transparency, and communication

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate commission structure to be more competitive.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Aug 1, 2018 – Senior Program Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Appreciate you sharing your feedback about the Inbound role. We agree that the culture and people are big pros to being part of this team. As for your advice to management, we have a new director of... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "High paying for a retail position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Grand Rapids, MI
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Grand Rapids, MI

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Base pay plus commissions on sales means that you will make more than a typical retail position.

    Cons

    None really. The company is well run.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Jul 9, 2018 – Senior Program Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Thanks for stopping by to leave a review. We appreciate it and are glad you were happy with the compensation. All the best. -- Kellie


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sleep Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Health/dental insurance
    401k
    Potential to make a lot of money
    PTO

    Cons

    Horrible scheduling
    Barely any time off
    They say you’ll have a bunch of free time but you won’t.
    Months can be slow.
    Lots of time alone in store
    Not team oriented whatsoever
    Not enough people work in a store in order to have a fair schedule.
    You will most likely not make the money they tell you you will.

    Advice to Management

    Not enough people work in a store in order to have a fair schedule. Do not advertise a false salary and a false idea that a worker will get free time.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Aug 2, 2018 – Senior Program Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Really sorry to hear you didn't leave with a good feeling about Sleep Number. We staff our stores based on a variety of factors including sales volume to ensure we have enough coverage and our team... More


Showing 543 of 553 reviews
Reset Filters