Sleep Number Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Sleep Number Corporation Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number Corporation President and CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
336 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Not what it once was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation

    Pros

    The money is awesome for the amount of work you do. The product is great and the customers are fun most of the time.

    Cons

    This is one of the most stressful jobs I have ever had. I have been a top performer for years. Now that I am having a rough year the heat is on. I love my job and this company. However I don’t need to have anxiety daily because district managers rule with fear and punishment. I don’t work for a leader - I work for a boss. And everyone feels it.

    Advice to Management

    This isn’t the new Kay jewelers...yet.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-09-30
  2. "Loved, loved, loved this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sleep Professional 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good base pay PLUS commission, lots of downtime (at a low-volume store at least), opportunity for advancement, great training, great benefits, paid time off, holiday pay

    Cons

    It's sales, so there can be pressure to make goal. The store staffs are small, which meant I wasn't able to stay with the company when I moved, unfortunately.

    Advice to Management

    Make transferring easier, and make sure you are encouraging and not just negative about sales numbers

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-09-22
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Too much stress and politics at Corp."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Self Contributor in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pay, some co-workers, pretty building

    Cons

    The Executive level is its own worst enemy. Self-entitled-ego-maniacs are whats at the top leadership level, and all they want from employees are to be and act like sheep.

    Advice to Management

    None. It wouldn't matter anyways, if you don't clap, sing and dance like the rest of the sheep you are considered expendable and they are glad you are gone.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-10-22
  5. "SUCKS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, co-worker are great , wonderful.

    Cons

    Expect your knowledge of making bed's.in a timely manner. UNTRAINED.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-09-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sleep Associate in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Money can be good when you work at a location with good customer traffic

    Cons

    One of the most high stress jobs I've ever had

    Advice to Management

    Be sure all store managers know how to motivate their sales staff in positive ways. Negative managers create stress which can result in poor sales performance and high employee turnover

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-09-22
  7. "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great customer base to work with

    Cons

    Doing your own marketing to bring customers in

    Advice to Management

    Management, has a lot of unqualified people running stores

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-09-21
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Harsh Sales Goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sleep Expert 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Insurance after 90 days, 401K plan, Flexible schedule, discount on merchandise, selling a very good product. Hourly rate plus commission.

    Cons

    Very harsh and demanding sales goals, unrealistic and hard to achieve most of the time. Competing for sales with your manager, and they will always have the upper hand and last word.

    Advice to Management

    Don't allow your district managers to "pencil whip" the stores monthly sales goals beyond 10%.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-09-08
  9. "Good starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pays well and chill hours

    Cons

    Occasionally high budget which make bonus hard to reach

    Advice to Management

    Managers are good

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-08-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It's great, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great feeling when you help your clients find the right bed and get them to sleep better! Had great chemistry with my co workers .

    Cons

    Not so great work/life balance.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-09-05
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Great starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great position for someone starting out in sales.

    Cons

    Commission structure is somewhat low for a nationally-recognized brand. Commission on an average $4000-$4600 sale is about $30-50.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-08-28
Found 636 reviews