Sleep Number Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Sleep Number Corporation Reviews

Updated January 20, 2018
487 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

487 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • This is a great product, innovative company (in 66 reviews)

  • Thanks to the support of several leaders, I made my way back to Sleep Number in a different role (in 49 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (10)

    "Going downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - salary + commission, although the commission scale is the most complex scale I’ve ever seen
    - pretty decent product that seems to help a good amount of people
    - no sales stealing or split tickets
    - healthcare, benefits, 401k

    Cons

    - astonishingly terrible upper management
    - corporate, customer service, delivery department are beyond inept
    - quickly becoming more of a telemarketing job than a sales job
    - one of the worst retail systems I’ve ever seen
    - work/life balance isn’t great
    - nepotism beyond your wildest imagination
    - any meeting you go to, prepare to learn nothing
    - they pitch themselves as a tech company but can’t even get their tech updated
    - sales process changes on average every two weeks
    - delivery problems almost daily
    - warranty issues are out of control and customer service is zero help
    - sale literally changes so much it’s hard to remember what promotion you’re running
    - minimum 20 cold calls a day, or as they call it, “insider promotion lists” or “care calls”
    - the favoritism on store budgets is glaringly obvious
    - outdated and poorly constructed training modules

    Advice to Management

    No advice, just a comment. This company is the Titanic. You’ve already hit the iceberg and there’s no going back with how badly and quickly you guys have run this place into the ground. I’d grab a life boat immediately before you go down with the ship.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Nov 15, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thank you for your feedback – glad you have a favorable reaction to our compensation and benefits; however, the rest of your feedback is clearly concerning. I want to assure you we have amazing... More


  2. Helpful (7)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Promises of high commission and bonus. Small teams create close relationships. Constantly rethinking products and creating new ones. Company has been in business for over 30 years.

    Cons

    Goaling system is grossly unfair and unattainable. Top heavy in expensive upper management. Demands of more non commissioned sales, Home delivery is horrendous as is customer service new expensive computer system nearly destroyed the company cost the sales team thousands in lost commission and we have never recovered.

    Advice to Management

    Get realistic in the goaling process "the math" doesn't make sense.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thank you so much sharing your thoughts with us. It’s great to hear that you view our company as innovative because we’re always upgrading our products. I agree!

    I also get the sense that you... More

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Henderson, NV
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Henderson, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great Product, Friendly Staff, Starting Pay

    Cons

    Unrealistic Goals for their Commission Base, Company does not have any Loyalty to Long term employees I was there 16 years let go because of age in a right to work state

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, they are your Greatest Asset, They work the Front Line

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Oct 12, 2017 – Employer Brand

    We value all of our team members and their contributions, and do not terminate or take any employment actions based on a team member's age. If you feel that you were treated unfairly due to your age... More


  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Improving lives, compensation, good people, selling is fun here, great products.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance during sale periods can be challenging. Taking specific days off can be challenging.

    Advice to Management

    More recognition to sales teams.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Oct 3, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you enjoy improving lives and working with the team. As for retail hours -- we know they can be a challenge. So, we deeply appreciate our sales team working... More


  5. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Growing innovative company that tries hard to it right for the customers

    Cons

    Sometimes can he over demanding and the strategy can be hard to interpret

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for the five stars! Glad to hear you're having a great experience with Sleep Number. And thanks for your commitment to improving our customers' lives. -- Arik


  6. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The money is good , District Manager is fair and honest, benefits/401k Positive vibes.

    Cons

    Goals, working weekends, extra responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair, handle customer service issues so we can sell.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for the five-star rating! And, glad to hear you're feeling rewarded for your work, and feeling positive about your Sleep Number experience! - Arik


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Questionable at Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sleep Professional in Holladay, UT
    Current Employee - Sleep Professional in Holladay, UT
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Customers, Great Product you can believe in, fun team members, commission plus hourly, okay benefits, and paid time off

    Cons

    Work all holidays, awful management, company sets unrealistic expectations for goals, managers and district managers unqualified, small teams, hard to get time off

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Oct 3, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thank you for your feedback. Of course, we agree that we have great customers -- who we value tremendously -- as well as great products. Glad you feel that way, too.

    That said, we were very... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great product - Logistical Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Anchorage, AK
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very good pay.

    Cons

    Very little work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Figure out a way to help store managers and district managers from experiencing the dreadful burn out.

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Appreciate you sharing your feedback about the store manager role. We know that retail hours can be a challenge -- thanks for working nights, weekends and holidays to help our customers know... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Opportunity for Some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The products are the BEST around. They truly do improve people's lives.
    My DM was the best manager I have EVER had....motivating and bringing out the best in his people. I will miss his leadership tremendously.
    There is a good amount of money to be made with Sleep Number.

    Cons

    The logistics of staffing in a 3 person store with all of the All Staff days are a nightmare. There is no way to give your people 2 days off and also have off yourself. Work/Life balance does not exist. I have missed a lot of time with my family in order to run my store.
    Home Delivery reschedules happen a lot more than they should.

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider the Matrix. There really should be a minimum of 4 people in every store.
    Also, HD should have a "Clean Up Crew" that catches reschedules due to DOT regs. and/or call offs. No customer should have to wait 2 weeks for a reschedule. That causes a lot of issues; lost commissions due to cancellations being one.


  10. "Good Spring Board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good place to start out, or ok in-between job.

    Cons

    You are put into an internal track

    Advice to Management

    Provide more opportunities and compensate your employees

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Glad you think Sleep Number is a good spring board -- but, we'd actually like you to see this as a place to build your retail career! In our most recent engagement survey, the sales team scored well... More


Showing 487 of 493 reviews
Reset Filters