Sleep Number Corporation "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Sleep Number Corporation Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number Corporation CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
341 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer service"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Feels like Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Mission Driven, Trustworthy, Incentivized, Health & Wellness Focused, Innovation Company where you work hard - and your pay will show it!

    Cons

    Retail hours are inconsistent with some shopper habits. Would love to see more technology in POS systems. Communication between customer service and store could always improve but it is much better now than ever.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2018-03-21

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    March 23, 2018Employer Brand

    Thanks for stopping by to leave a review! Nothing makes us happier than when team members leave "mission driven" as one of their "pros." It's really what we're all about --improving lives. Thanks for your efforts and hard work. -- Kellie

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (5)

    "The Pinnacle of Micromanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sleep Expert 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The product is solid and really does work, so you're never embarrassed or ashamed to sell it.

    Cons

    Senior management is WAY more into a robotic sales strategy than they are in cultivating a culture that inspires employees to do better. It's obvious that former employees back in the day abused the system, so instead of hiring better people, they went into obsessive micromanagement and the results are high turnover (even for retail), a culture of fear instead of empowerment and relentless, sometimes ludicrous management demands and sayings...I hope I never hear "Practice doesn't make perfect, perfect practice makes perfect" ever again. Management is heartless, at times to dangerous results. While having the flu and a fever of 103.4, I was told by my district manager to drive 25 minutes, in a massive snowstorm, to close my store since my district manager had no keys. When I informed him I was way too sick to drive, I was told to get an Uber (which b/c of the weather, there was none). Two days later, I was told to help set up for an event in a building with no heat in it, again still sick as a dog. Sleep Number should be utterly ashamed for putting sick, contagious employees in such positions. Retail or not, common sense and good judgment need to kick in. Because sales is at a premium, cheating was rampant. Event codes were used in stores for anyone that showed up, old certificates were used often and at state fairs, if a customer was told they had an issue with their bed, we were encouraged not to help them with their issue, rather try and upgrade them into a new bed. There are people who haven't worked a state fair in years, yet rack up hundreds of thousands in sales each year, using the event code in their store. Sleep Number turns a blind eye to this, because in their eyes, sales > ethics. Micromanagement is so bad, salaried employees have to clock in and out. Backwards culture has managers working more hours than sleep professionals, who often make more than the managers. Why would anyone want to move up? The only manager perk used to be setting the schedules, which was thrown away by the regional director, who ran such a rigid "game plan" that managers became nothing more than glorified sales puppets. Horrific customer service line that often was more about saving company money than doing the right thing. I had an elderly gentleman have a problem with his adjustable base and customer service kept demanding he get under the bed to fix the problem....the man was too old and too weak to get under a bed and yet customer service refused to help him, or send a technician to assist. Again, heartless. Also, Sleep Number did NOT provide me with an exit survey after I gave them a proper two weeks notice and continued to work and sell to my upmost ability. I thought it was very poor on their part to not live up to their own words.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2019-08-07

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    November 22, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Even though it's been awhile, I wanted to circle back and respond to your review. When it first came in, I shared your feedback with both Human Resources as well as our new Chief Sales Officer. While your review is primary negative, I really appreciate how you took the time to thoughtfully lay out your feedback about how we can make things better. Thanks for caring so much about the Sleep Number brand, team and opportunity...and thanks for all of the lives you improved as part of the team. All the best.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Very Stressful Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in No Name, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The beds really help people sleep better! Good customer service

    Cons

    Sleep Number why is that you pay managers a strong base , commission and a bonus every month and have them in the sales rotation while you only pay the sales people the bare minimum, it's like you are in competition with your manager . I have a manager that spends most of the time on personal phone calls to his family and not paying attention to what is going on in his store, always on his cell phone either texting or personal stuff. Very frustrating when you want to talk to him and he really not paying attention to you and could care less . You can be up and it's a customer service issue you have to take care of then the next up your manager gets a 12k lay down sale! Not fair! The managers should take care of all the customer service issues and let the sales persons do there job! It creates a very hostile environment and a lot of resentment. It creates a not so healthy environment. If the store is not at goal then you have them work 6 days a week so more ups for them , not right. Our job is to help people and solve their sleeping issues well it's very hard to pass that on when you yourself do not feel valued or appreciated and not paid appropriately. We are human selling to humans so Sleep Number you need to pass that on to us. We have to work holidays and work long and late hours. Why is it that we have to call these call lists that have very old numbers and half the numbers are disconnected, isn't it against the Telecom Law? I think it is.. Please hear my voice..

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2019-06-11
  4. Helpful (14)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to make money sleep number has a great product with the Sleep Number bed. And you really do help change people’s lives because they really do sleep better.

    Cons

    No work life balance, no ability to provide good customer service. Sales professionals are penalized with losing commission when home delivery fails to set up bed properly, no recourse to save the sale, and you are at the mercy of customer service who is rigid and inflexible. You also get a fixed hourly raise with no ability to get a raise. And before you start making commission you need to sell 15k first.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2019-03-22
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Good product not a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sleep Professional in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a good product, Which makes it easy to sell. Good pay if you’re capable of selling

    Cons

    Company outsources manager positions and DM positions regularly, so no opportunity to move up. They will fire you Add a drop of a hat, they don’t care if you’re a top performer they’re not clear on the rules nor do they give you an opportunity to learn, they’ll just fire you, and when they do fire you, they will add a bunch of things on your firing, so you can’t get Unemployment. The company itself is crooked customer service and sales reps are on different pages completely. The company only cares about money even though it has an amazing product. They will use you until they’re done with you or you make too much, my store was routinely flooded, on the last flood we were out of work for two weeks and then when we got back they fired me, they did let me know that I was under investigation and that I wasn’t allowed to talk to anybody about it “Isn’t that shady”Then when it was convenient they fired me, The Omaha location hasn’t been able to keep an employee longer than two years, that’s because they have a high turnover, because they fire almost everybody they hire. Stay clear of this company, I try to do a review of this company when I did work with them and I was contacted by corporate told to take it down or lose my job, so I took down my review they censor their own employees so they don’t have to be a better company.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2019-03-20

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    March 28, 2019Senior Program Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. In this case, however, we have to disagree. We have a great team in Omaha! Sorry you left feeling differently. All the best.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great first sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Commission can be rewarding if you work hard Great team environment

    Cons

    Some things are out of your control such as Home delivery or Customer Service. When things go wrong on their end it can lead to cancellations and loss of commission for on your end.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2018-03-26

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    April 20, 2018Employer Brand

    Thanks for your feedback. Glad you like the team environment, but agree it can be frustrating when things happen post-sale that are out of your control. That's why we brought retail and home delivery together in one organization and are working hard to minimize disruptions for the customer. Appreciate all of the lives you're improving! -- Kellie

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (13)

    "It's a very hard place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sleep Professional in Denver, CO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great product, we help a lot of people that have sleep challenges. We have a great warranty and our insiders love our beds. .

    Cons

    The company sets very high goals every month and expects us to achieve them. You get written up if you do not make them. They do not take in accountability that you might have a sick day or vacation durning that time. It seams every year it gets higher. Even if the store does not make goal they still write you up. Also the way they have the up system and the lead ownership it's a nightmare! You can work all day and not have an up and your co worker has 3! How is that fair. Corporate needs to reevaluate the policy. Also all the notes you have to put into Seibel to own the lead is redundant, if you miss putting one activity your co worker can take your lead!!! Not fair..There is a lot of favoritism and no accountability. Sleep Number got a tax break and have they passed it on to their employees no. They do not take care of their own. Many companies gave their employees $1,500 and we have seen nothing. Also we at the sales floor spend hours selling the bed but customer service and home delivery can screw up the order and the customer wind up canceling, and we as sales people lose the money.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2018-04-03
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Think very hard about joining this company ! Your money is determined by how much you kiss up to upper management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love love love the product , co workers can vary and you are dependent on these people to make your goal ,one slip up and you could lose hundreds of dollars. Benefits are great !

    Cons

    Work/life balance Very hard to make a living ! Goals are getting very unattainable unless you happen to be the “chosen few” who the DM likes and your budgets are easier you are stuck making 2.5% commission . Again if your the DMs favorites you may get lucky to work close to home if not your driving a distance. Too many factors can negatively affect your paycheck ! Delivery , customer service and not a lot of support from your DM to help save your $$$$ and help the customer get the sleep system they need.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2018-03-15

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    March 20, 2018Employer Brand

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time with us at Sleep Number. It was difficult to read your review because you were with us for 5 years improving lives and there were lots of things you shared in your review that you really enjoyed -- specifically your love for our product and our comprehensive benefits package. We definitely don’t want to create an environment where favoritism takes place. In fact, one of our 5 values is Teamwork and we hope that we’re building an environment where everyone is working together on behalf of our customers. As a Vice President of Sales I hope that if any team member witnesses favoritism they would feel comfortable reaching out to me (or the RVP for their area) directly or one of the many support partners that interact with our stores (i.e., National Trainers, Human Resources). In addition, team members can always use our employee engagement process to confidentially share concerns to be addressed with the market leader. We wish you well and thank you again for your 5 years of valuable service and your recent feedback. – Kate B.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (9)

    "RUN!!!! Not a good job for a real sales person."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Schedule is very flexible, That is it

    Cons

    Well where do I start, you get micro manage all day long, they want you to do cold calls, and I call them cold calls because customer in this list are customer that they are constenly calling them, customer get mad and tell you to stop calling them, they ask you to make care calls, calls that the purpose ofnthese calls are to make sure everything went well with the delivery, the problem what that is if anything went wrong there is nothing in your power to fix it, so than you have to tell your customer to call customer service, customer than get mad at you because first of why call them? and than they feel that you just wanted to sell them something and now that you got paid you want nothing to do with them, lets speak about customer service, they are unproffecionals, they answer back to the customers, and their answer to everything is telling the customer to cancle the order the worst I seen in my past 20 years of sales, commision is not at the mattress industry standards they pay very low, there is no team feel in this company, you are on your own, I worked for 1 full year and the only reason I stayed that long was because I had a great store manager, if not I would haved quit 3 months in, these beds are nothing but trouble, they always break down, their delivery service is the worst also, they use a third party company that dosen't know their left from their right, and they always blaim eachother when something goes wrong, if anything goes wrong for example they get a defected pump the customer than has to wait 2 weeks to get it fix, meaning they have no bed for two weeks and remember these are customers that just spent $8k on a bed that does not work, you feel really bad for them because there is nothing you can do for them. let me tell you how bad is this company you get a store email that is it, if a customer for reason needs to send you paper work, anything attached like a picture of a bed attachments get blocked, sqo than you have to give your customer you personal email in order to help them, on their computers everything is blocked, so if you need to look up any type of information that would be helpfull in closing a sale you are screw, I call this place prison....My advice is look elsewhere, RUN........

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2018-02-23
  10. Helpful (18)

    "Going downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - salary + commission, although the commission scale is the most complex scale I’ve ever seen - pretty decent product that seems to help a good amount of people - no sales stealing or split tickets - healthcare, benefits, 401k

    Cons

    - astonishingly terrible upper management - corporate, customer service, delivery department are beyond inept - quickly becoming more of a telemarketing job than a sales job - one of the worst retail systems I’ve ever seen - work/life balance isn’t great - nepotism beyond your wildest imagination - any meeting you go to, prepare to learn nothing - they pitch themselves as a tech company but can’t even get their tech updated - sales process changes on average every two weeks - delivery problems almost daily - warranty issues are out of control and customer service is zero help - sale literally changes so much it’s hard to remember what promotion you’re running - minimum 20 cold calls a day, or as they call it, “insider promotion lists” or “care calls” - the favoritism on store budgets is glaringly obvious - outdated and poorly constructed training modules

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2017-11-08

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    November 15, 2017Employer Brand

    Thank you for your feedback – glad you have a favorable reaction to our compensation and benefits; however, the rest of your feedback is clearly concerning. I want to assure you we have amazing people on our customer service, home delivery and corporate teams and they care deeply about delivering a great customer experience. In terms of the job changing to include more phone calls. Yes, it has. We pride ourselves on following up with customers after the sale to ensure they are having a great experience and feel like they have an ongoing relationship with us. So, making follow-up calls is definitely an expectation of our sales team. – Thanks, Julie G.

    Continue reading
Found 58 reviews