Sleep Number Corporation "great product" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sleep Number Corporation Employee Reviews about "great product"

Updated Oct 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number Corporation CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
340 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great product"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Store Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay, great product, great coaching and training.

    Cons

    Retail sales, so working holidays and weekends with extending holiday hours.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-10-29

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    November 20, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback about the store manager role at Sleep Number -- and for the five stars! We appreciate all of the lives you improved while part of the team and are glad you had a good experience with us. Sleep well. -- Kellie

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I love the company in a whole, but was not happy with my district."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sleep Professional in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company has a great product. I am a life long customer. It gave me a chance to build relationships with people and help them improve their quality of life. The environment is very good in the stores. The way the opportunity system is set up is very clear which feels less cut throat. The benefits are very good. The opportunity to move up in the company comes rater fast, especially if you are willing to relocate.

    Cons

    The commission rates are complicated. Meaning that the way the percentages are paid out could be difficult to grasp in the beginning.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2019-10-09

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    November 21, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for stopping by to share your feedback about working for Sleep Number. Glad to hear you love the product (and will be a lifelong customer) and appreciate the retail opportunity (compensation and advancement). In terms of your advice to management, please know that we are absolutely committed diversity and inclusion. More specifically, we have publicly committed to achieving gender balance in our stores by the end of 2020. Kate, the regional vice president for your area, is one of the leaders advancing this work. Thanks for everything you did as part of the team and all of the lives you improved. And thanks again for sharing your feedback. – Kellie

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sleep Expert 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hourly plus commission. Great products to sell.

    Cons

    Delivery could be better. The atmosphere in the store is positive or negative depending on who you have as a manager. I have had both good and bad.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-06-07
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great product, good sales training

    Cons

    high goals, tons of phone calls required daily

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-05-19
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to make money sleep number has a great product with the Sleep Number bed. And you really do help change people’s lives because they really do sleep better.

    Cons

    No work life balance, no ability to provide good customer service. Sales professionals are penalized with losing commission when home delivery fails to set up bed properly, no recourse to save the sale, and you are at the mercy of customer service who is rigid and inflexible. You also get a fixed hourly raise with no ability to get a raise. And before you start making commission you need to sell 15k first.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2019-03-22
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great Job. Just wasn't for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Product. Love the customers. Easy work. Great company overall with opportunity for growth if you are willing to master corporate speak. The money is great if you can sell.

    Cons

    Way too many hours. Zero Work/Life Balance. You are supposed to get 2 days off but that does not happen if your store is behind, there is a meeting, you are on the event team, etc. I received my days off probably once a month. Be prepare to write up your team for having a bad month. They may be stellar employees but everyone is being written up. It's demoralizing.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2019-02-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Uncapped commissions, decent benefits, base pay no draw, Great Product

    Cons

    Work life balance, pay scale made to benefit larger stores, the base pay is capped so there's no financial benefit for tenured staff.

    Sleep Number Corporation2019-02-05
  8. Helpful (7)

    "POS system slow, slower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work overall, great product, can be very lucrative pay.

    Cons

    Computers very slow, with every update it gets slower. Customers are nice about it but complaining. Too many key strokes to complete the simplest of transactions. Marketing inconsistent, when marketing is stopped, no traffic in store and we were told to burn up the phones to customers we have already called too many times. This causes loss of sales and pay.

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2018-08-10

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    September 7, 2018Senior Program Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Sounds like there are a lot of things that you really like about working for Sleep Number -- like the product and improving lives -- which is always great to hear. Certainly the customer experience via fast check out is one of the main objectives in our long-term project to make the POS system faster. We recently completed a simplification phase to streamline the process; unfortunately, we did not get the speed gains we had hoped for. Hang in there with us as we continue working through the complexities and completing monthly releases to improve the system. Whenever you have challenges like the ones you describe, please forward to your District Manager so he or she can work directly with Sales Operations and IT to review and find a resolution. Thank you. -- Kellie

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great mission, tough work in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great product that you believe in Some work from home flexibility, depending on your manager Beautiful new corporate headquarters Very competitive pay with the market IT budget is large for a company of their size

    Cons

    Work life balance in IT support positions is brutal. You will work nights and weekends frequently Personal development in IT is essentially non-existent No real empowerment of any kind. Very common to have a VP involved in minor things Most really good people have left the company or the department over the last few years and most of the remaining ones are trying to leave

    Continue reading
    Sleep Number Corporation2018-08-15

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    September 7, 2018Senior Program Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Thanks for leaving a review. All of the pros you list are things we feel good about, too. It’s hard to address all of your cons in this forum, but here are a few things we want you to know. In terms of hours and work/life balance, flexibility is a hallmark to the way IT is run. Due to the nature of the work, weekend and night hours are definitely a reality. We make up for these hours by offering flexibility to our team members. As for VP involvement, we understand the desire for more empowerment. That’s why recently, VPs intentionally removed themselves from a process in order to allow others to lean in. Our leadership team in IT is lean, so there is an innate need to empower and lead through others. Finally, when it comes to development, that happens in IT primarily through on the job experiences and stretch opportunities. We do not offer formal training programs, and ask that team members bring their requests for external development opportunities to their leader. Again, thanks for sharing your feedback. Take care and sleep well. – Kellie

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Great Company Great Product Great People Great Leadership

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Sleep Number Corporation2018-07-30

    Sleep Number Corporation Response

    August 1, 2018Senior Program Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Wow -- five stars AND you used the word great four times! Glad you're having such a positive Sleep Number experience. All the best -- Kellie

    Continue reading
Found 74 reviews