Sleep Number Corporation Employee Reviews about "great product"

Updated Oct 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number Corporation President and CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
428 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great product lineup, excellent quality(in 84 reviews)

  • "Wonderful culture and people at Sleep Number(in 66 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Retail hours, work life balance(in 64 reviews)

  • "Upper Management doesnt care about you(in 56 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great product"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Jan 6, 2020 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very lucrative pay, when business is good. Excellent ongoing training and refocus on company priorities. My supervisor was great always allowed me to run my own business within company struture allowing me to be successful. Great product lineup, excellent quality.

      Cons

      Computer system is slow and selling process takes a long time to complete, then asking customer to stay additional time to set up Sleep IQ and Innercircle is frustrating for customer that just wants to get out of the store.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Sleep Number Corporation Response

      Talent Community Manager

      Thanks for sharing your feedback and for giving us five stars! We're really glad you had an overall positive experience as part of the team and deeply appreciate all of the lives you improved during your time with us. Also want you to know that we hear your feedback about our systems and we are continuing to make enhancements that improve the experience for our team...and our customers. Thanks again and sleep well. -- Kellie

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Don’t value retail hourly employees

      Mar 20, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product, good pay and I love the company.

      Cons

      This virus is showing this company’s true colors. They don’t care about retail employees at all. They care about profit over employees. The measures in place to make sure employees get paid only benefit higher ups, those that can work from home and stores that got closed by their mall or the government. They don’t care about our well-being at all. There are very few stores left open and have to risk their family’s well-being while the majority of the nation are at home helping flex the curve to protect the rest of the population. Also, stores that are still open are getting paid at a way lesser rate than store employees whose store closed. It makes zero sense to pay employees who are risking it all still working for you less than those who are now sitting at home on their bums. Not fair practices at all.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      Sleep Number Corporation Response

      Talent Community Manager

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts about our current operations. During this extraordinary time, we are taking significant precautions and adhering to the advice given by expert agencies, including the Centers for Disease Control and World Health Organization, to ensure the well-being of our team members and customers. Except where otherwise directed by state and local authorities, Sleep Number is fully operational. With expert guidance, we are taking extra precautions in our stores that remain open using the utmost care and safety, including: distancing in all locations, managing the number of customers in stores, offering private appointments, and focusing on online and phone sales and service. We are also supporting those who are impacted by COVID-19 with options for paid time off, including team members whose work location is closed due to government, state or local mandate, team members placed under mandatory quarantine for COVID-19, or team members who have contracted COVID-19. We are vigilantly and continuously assessing all aspects of our business to ensure a healthy and safe environment and will pivot, as needed, as the dynamic COVID-19 situation evolves. If you have additional concerns, we strongly encourage you to talk with your district manager.

    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Sleep Number Employees are Numbers, Not People

      Sep 17, 2020 - Retail Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Product, Pleasant Work Environment in Store

      Cons

      Company is taking advantage of COVID19 to reduce the compensation plan for sales professionals. At a time when other retailers are increasing pay as an incentive for working during a pandemic, Sleep Number cut the Sales Compensation plan so it is not a job you can earn a decent living on. They did not reduce the sales goals to reflect the change in business, and if those goals aren't met, sales associates are terminated. The computer system is ridiculously slow and difficult to maneuver. Customer Service is very difficult to reach and customers call and come into store very angry. They are actually CLOSED on Sundays. Delivery is always backed up and customers cancel orders out of frustration. They don't delivery on Sundays.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Sleep Number Corporation Response

      Human Resources Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing you feedback with us. We continue to monitor the evolving situation with COVID-19, to ensure our preparedness and keeping the well-being of you at the center of our care and​ concern. Doing the right thing has always been important to us and it matters more than ever in this time of ambiguity. ​​​​​​We have adjusted our policies for all team members to ensure everyone is putting their health and well-being first, thank you again for your commitment to improving lives.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      It's a job.

      Oct 4, 2020 - Unemployed in West Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product. It's why I went to work for them in the first place.

      Cons

      Inconsistent Management. Poor work/life balance.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Disappointed

      Mar 22, 2019 - Sales Professional 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to make money sleep number has a great product with the Sleep Number bed. And you really do help change people’s lives because they really do sleep better.

      Cons

      No work life balance, no ability to provide good customer service. Sales professionals are penalized with losing commission when home delivery fails to set up bed properly, no recourse to save the sale, and you are at the mercy of customer service who is rigid and inflexible. You also get a fixed hourly raise with no ability to get a raise. And before you start making commission you need to sell 15k first.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Time Wasted

      Jun 27, 2020 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Their Product is great .

      Cons

      Everything about company except their product.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I love the company in a whole, but was not happy with my district.

      Oct 9, 2019 - Sleep Professional in Mobile, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has a great product. I am a life long customer. It gave me a chance to build relationships with people and help them improve their quality of life. The environment is very good in the stores. The way the opportunity system is set up is very clear which feels less cut throat. The benefits are very good. The opportunity to move up in the company comes rater fast, especially if you are willing to relocate.

      Cons

      The commission rates are complicated. Meaning that the way the percentages are paid out could be difficult to grasp in the beginning.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Sleep Number Corporation Response

      Talent Community Manager

      Thanks for stopping by to share your feedback about working for Sleep Number. Glad to hear you love the product (and will be a lifelong customer) and appreciate the retail opportunity (compensation and advancement). In terms of your advice to management, please know that we are absolutely committed diversity and inclusion. More specifically, we have publicly committed to achieving gender balance in our stores by the end of 2020. Kate, the regional vice president for your area, is one of the leaders advancing this work. Thanks for everything you did as part of the team and all of the lives you improved. And thanks again for sharing your feedback. – Kellie

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Was a store Manager.-Northeast.

      Dec 25, 2019 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good money if your store hits bonus. Product is great and helps improve lives

      Cons

      Consistency and communication. People who work hard will be taken advantage of and made to do the DMs work with broken promises and when the work is done they will be tossed aside. Nothing is ever good enough. The DM manages with intimidation and bullying. The favoritism is crazy and if your not one of the cool kids your out. When you ask for help you are made to feel incompetent. Everybody is scared for there job in the district. There is no integrity. When I started Sleep Number, I was so excited to be part of Sleep Number family but it is so sad that it is so dysfunctional in this district.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Sleep Number Corporation Response

      Talent Community Manager

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. You raise some issues that are hard to address in this forum...but we want to hear more from you. If you'd be willing, you have the option to report any behavior that does not align with the company's values by calling (888)-662-5025. We care about our team and want you to feel supported and heard.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Not what it once was

      Sep 30, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The money is awesome for the amount of work you do. The product is great and the customers are fun most of the time.

      Cons

      This is one of the most stressful jobs I have ever had. I have been a top performer for years. Now that I am having a rough year the heat is on. I love my job and this company. However I don’t need to have anxiety daily because district managers rule with fear and punishment. I don’t work for a leader - I work for a boss. And everyone feels it.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Sleep Number Corporation Response

      Talent Community Manager

      Thanks for sharing your experience. Yours is the hardest kind of review to read, because it's challenging to address your feedback in this forum. I strongly encourage you to reach out to your region director or region vice president to share your feedback about your district manager. They would definitely want to know. -- Kellie

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Job. Just wasn't for me.

      Feb 11, 2019 - Store Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Product. Love the customers. Easy work. Great company overall with opportunity for growth if you are willing to master corporate speak. The money is great if you can sell.

      Cons

      Way too many hours. Zero Work/Life Balance. You are supposed to get 2 days off but that does not happen if your store is behind, there is a meeting, you are on the event team, etc. I received my days off probably once a month. Be prepare to write up your team for having a bad month. They may be stellar employees but everyone is being written up. It's demoralizing.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 84 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sleep Number Corporation Job Seekers

    Retail Sales Professional
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sleep Number Corporation? Share Your Experiences

    Sleep Number Corporation logo
    or