Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews | Glassdoor

Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews

Updated September 17, 2017
84 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number by Select Comfort President & CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
60 Ratings

84 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • This is a great product, innovative company (in 61 reviews)

  • Thanks to the support of several leaders, I made my way back to Sleep Number in a different role (in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • There is little work life balance (in 34 reviews)

  • Ever changing priorities of upper management (in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Growing innovative company that tries hard to it right for the customers

    Cons

    Sometimes can he over demanding and the strategy can be hard to interpret

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for the five stars! Glad to hear you're having a great experience with Sleep Number. And thanks for your commitment to improving our customers' lives. -- Arik


  2. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The money is good , District Manager is fair and honest, benefits/401k Positive vibes.

    Cons

    Goals, working weekends, extra responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair, handle customer service issues so we can sell.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for the five-star rating! And, glad to hear you're feeling rewarded for your work, and feeling positive about your Sleep Number experience! - Arik

  3. "Great place to thrive!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Mobile, AL
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Love the focus on customer and employees. Plenty of room for advancement and amazing opportunities with competitive pay structure.

    Cons

    Balance with home life can be hard.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes there can be too much information coming out and it can be hard to follow and/or prioritize during busy times.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Aug 30, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Appreciate the five stars! And so glad you can truly feel that the customer is our focus. As for information, we know we send a lot to our retail teams -- please know that the sales communication... More


  4. "Great company to work for and grow with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Layton, UT
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Layton, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work/life balance
    Earning potential
    Career advancement

    Cons

    Sometimes slow, but the company is committed to its product, customers and employees.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find new ways to promote the Sleep Number brand!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Aug 30, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Hey, thanks for the five stars! So glad to hear you're having a great experience with Sleep Number. Thanks for your commitment to improving our customers' lives. -- Kellie


  5. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Layton, UT
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Layton, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great earning potential, good work/life balance, Career opportunities

    Cons

    Sometimes slow, but overall the company is committed to it's products, customers and employees

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find new ways to promote the sleep number brand


  6. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Huntington Beach, CA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Huntington Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great product and great pay with an innovative company and great people.

    Cons

    Sometimes having to work weekends and holidays can be tough. It is all how you balance your family time though and I have learned to work around.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Appreciate the 5-star review! Always good to hear that our team members are having a good experience and would recommend us as a great place to work. Also glad to hear you're figuring out work/life... More


  7. "Improve lives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Get compensation plan. Make tons of money for an easy job

    Cons

    Benefits and work life balance

    Advice to Management

    None. Great company to work for!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for the five-star review! Delighted to hear you're having a great experience at Sleep Number. And we definitely appreciate all of the lives you've improved during your time with us (your... More

  8. "Phenomenal Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Grand Forks, ND
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Grand Forks, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    District Manager is very engaging and cultivates a positive learning environment for the manager on store level to in turn engage their team members.
    Excellent training and timeline of growth rate.
    Wonderful atmosphere and genuine compassion to help people sleep better.
    Team orientated across the district.
    Communication is thorough and readily accessible at any given moment.

    Cons

    Processing orders involves meticulous attention

    Advice to Management

    Make customer order processes simpler to avoid mistakes on customers orders to add to effortless experience

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for sharing your Sleep Number experience and for giving us 5 stars -- that always feels great! You hit on several elements of the culture here that our team members appreciate -- like... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Feeling proud"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I'm a returning team member, or what you call a “boomerang.” I left the company for less than six months and had a grass is not greener experience. Thanks to the support of several leaders, I made my way back to Sleep Number in a different role – one that better fits my experience and skills.

    There are a few reasons why I’d recommend Sleep Number as a great place to work:

    1. The work and projects I lead are pretty cool. I communicate about topics that span the entire organization, so I get to touch a little bit of everything. It means I build lots of relationships with talented people (cash in those favors later) and get brought into interesting projects from the start.

    2. My role is part of a larger connected strategy with innovation at the core, and that makes me feel like I do meaningful work. I had a moment today when meeting with a co-worker from a previous job where I truly felt like I’ve made an impact in the time I’ve been back. Sharing how much progress my team has made in just eight months made me proud.

    3. Our beds. Are. Amazing. The i8 changed my life. I daydream about sleeping, and it’s a known fact that my friends and family don’t bug me after bedtime. I experience firsthand how good sleep affects my overall well-being.

    Cons

    Part of why I like retail is the pace. I’m never sitting at my desk wondering what to do next. BUT sometimes it can be overwhelming with new projects, while nothing seems to come off the list.

    Advice to Management

    How can we as a company – and within smaller teams – go after what matters most? How can we push back and feel confident providing a thoughtful recommendation without fear that the advice won’t be well-received? How can we share information better to make everyone’s job easier? To shift this culture, we need everyone to link arms, be open to new perspectives, and change behaviors and mindsets. I’m confident we will.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    May 19, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Incredibly glad you came back to Sleep Number and are feeling proud of your contributions. You should be!

    You’re right – the pace of retail certainly has its challenges and isn’t for everyone... More


  10. "Incredible Product, Opportunity, and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital
    Current Employee - Digital
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time

    Pros

    1: Product. Sleep Number has an amazing product. Yes, it's expensive, but I've owned the bed for years before even starting to work here, and it's honestly changed my life. I believe in the value of sleep, the superior product, and what it does for millions of people. You're part of something that really helps people.

    2: Opportunity. Sleep Number as a company still has so much growth ahead. Take the amazing product advancements and combine with the outlook in the wellness/health/sleep industry, and size of the market and you truly have a tremendous opportunity here. Best of all: you will really move the needle yourself. Which leads me to my third point:

    3: Culture. Everyone here gets to do their best. Everyone counts. You will personally have an impact on the product, the consumer, and the bottom-line with your work. Best of all, you get to do this in a mostly politics-free way. Very scrappy, very hungry, supportive and inclusive environment. Also - Sleep Number is very progressive when it comes to improving the way we work with one another. The company will work to identify the best solution for your individual work/life balance!

    Cons

    We're scrappy! If you're looking for big company plush, this is not the company for you. You won't see lavish parties or gourmet-catered meals, but you will see money being spent wisely and given back to employees with bonus and incentive pay!

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing the boundaries of the brand, product, and culture!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    May 19, 2017 – Employer Brand

    WOW – love the five stars! But, more importantly, love that you absolutely nailed what’s special about Sleep Number. Your review lines up so well with what we heard in our recent culture/values... More


Showing 84 of 472 reviews
Reset Filters