Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews | Glassdoor

Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews

Updated February 10, 2017
68 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number by Select Comfort President & CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
44 Ratings

68 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great product although bedding has gone way down hill in recent years (in 53 reviews)

  • Sleep Number is a company that truly cares about improving lives through an amazing line of products (in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • Had a difficult time maintaining a work/life balance (in 26 reviews)

  • Upper management doesn't care that certain employees abuse discounts reserved for specific circumstances (in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Sales Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Leesburg, VA
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Leesburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The most rewarding retail company I've ever worked for. The company genuinely cares about their associates. You can write your own salary based on your passion and drive. We own our business and are able to think outside the box to bring more traffic to our stores. There's a lot of tenure in our company and turnover is minimal.

    Cons

    This is a career, if you're looking for a job that doesn't hold you accountable, doesn't challenge you and a company who is constantly evolving, this is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be AWESOME!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Employer Brand

    You think we should continue to be awesome? We actually think that YOU should continue to be AWESOME! Appreciate the review, but, more importantly, appreciate your positive attitude and the ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Career!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Mobile, AL
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great pay, focused on customer experience AND employees. Innovative, vertically-integrated and always at the cutting edge of sleep and Products. Sleep Number encourages career development and highlights employees with an interactive recognition program.

    Cons

    Working for Sleep Number does take a lot of commitment. There are so many details, new innovations & technologies that it is not for everyone. I happen to love it! You have real purpose with this company and literally change lives daily.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is probably the only advise I could offer. There are so many emails, updates, flash and news messages that some things get lost in the mix during a busy work day. It's a lot to keep up with sometimes. I wish there was a way to better streamline messages and information.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 6, 2017 – Employer Brand

    WOW -- five stars always feels GREAT! We're so pleased that you're having a great experience with Sleep Number for all the reasons you called out. In particular, we're glad you love the pace of ... More


  3. "Good company, great atmosphere"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Flexibility, the culture, communication and freedom. They work real hard at making work as comfortable as can be. Everyone is understanding

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say at all. Everyone was kind, understanding and wiling to help if there were any issues that needed to be looked in to

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for letting us know about your Sleep Number experience. We appreciate your contributions during your time with us and wish you well in your next chapter. Sleep well. -- Kellie


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Retail Leadership"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Vice President in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Regional Vice President in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Company has a great vision and mission grounded in improving lives through innovative sleep technology.Great culture that encourages collaboration between business partners.

    Cons

    We are moving fast especially as it relates to how we use innovation to improve sleep. Some teams are slower to adopt and change and we need to help them understand the why's quicker.

    Advice to Management

    Keep leading with passion and integrity as we change the game in sleep innovation.
    Customer is at the enter of everything we do so continue to invest in our infrastructure to support that.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for the review – you made Andy’s day (our Chief Sales and Services Officer)! Andy agrees, we’re lucky to have a meaningful vision and mission that the entire team can get behind. He ... More


  6. "You're in control of your own destiny"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Sleep Number provides ample opportunity for those who are driven and self motivated to elevate their career. The training and resources provided truly set one up for success, if you choose to utilize them. Upper management is top-notch, with many passionate, inspirational individuals who have made Sleep Number what it is today. The CEO is a hyper-aware, fully dedicated, and sharply intelligent woman. Many talented, compassionate MSL's out there, really leading their teams to victory. Great bonus structure, better health insurance than most, solid PTO, quick turnaround for benefits to kick in. Lest we forget, improving lives for a living makes this a pretty incredible field to work in.

    Cons

    Management dedication ranges within the districts. Promotion from within really is dependent on their direct supervisors level of interest in coaching and development. The Boston DMA is fortunate in this regard.
    Taking time for your personal self and for recruiting can be challenging due to the combination of staffing matrix, required all-staff days and the frequency of promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Revise the matrix for all stores- a minimum of four people per location, regardless of volume. Restructure the pipelining process by allowing SM's a portal with which to access all applicants stemming from open position ads. When grooming your Hi Po's, be mindful that stretching them too thin can have a hazardous impact on their store's environment and productivity. Strong candidates can become disengaged after long periods of time in limbo while working toward a promotion.
    Keep up the great work with the recognition and reward of your amazing employees! Engagement is high and it's because this company truly cares for and stays close to their people. Sleep Number truly is a great place to call home.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 25, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Wow, thanks for the feedback. Always nice to hear from people who are fired up about our mission of improving lives...and see the opportunity here to create their own future. We agree! I shared your ... More


  7. "Store Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits. Great training. Awesome clients. Cool products.

    Cons

    Retail hours can both be nice as they are versatile but also hard to work during Holidays

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 30, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Appreciate the review and feedback! We think our customers are awesome, too! -- Kellie


  8. "Great Company and team leaders"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great training and fairly easy sales process

    Cons

    Store can be slow but busy days time flys

    Advice to Management

    Keep your number up and product knowledge plus help management out

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 17, 2017 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for stopping by to leave your feedback. Glad you had a positive experience working for Sleep Number. -- Kellie


  9. "Fast Paced Growth Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    We are serious about becoming an international beloved brand with innovation and financial discipline

    Cons

    Hard for some to go from traditional business culture to CEO inspired simplicity and rapid change culture

    Advice to Management

    As a member of management we need to listen even better and help simplify work priorities

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Dec 1, 2016 – Employer Brand

    Thanks for your 10 years of service and for stopping by to share your experience! We're definitely in growth mode and you're right -- the pace of change isn't for everyone. So, thanks for being ... More


  10. "Good Place to Contract"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor in Plymouth, MN
    Current Employee - Contractor in Plymouth, MN
    Recommends

    Pros

    I have contracted at Select a number of times. And have always come back to work there when they ask. The culture there is quiet accommodating and their expectations are straight forward. Is my favorite place to contract.

    Cons

    Lot of moving parts supported by IT. That coupled with the large number of code change freezes due to sales events, can make for a bit of a rush on certain enhancements.

    Advice to Management

    Not Much advise for management. I don't envy their workload and scheduling concerns and complexity of operations.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Nov 10, 2016 – Employer Brand

    Hey -- thanks for stopping by to leave this review. Great to hear you enjoy being part of the Sleep Number team. Thanks for your ongoing contributions! -- Kellie


  11. "Supportive Learning Environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Intern - Intern
    Former Intern - Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Individuals worked hard to find me jobs that I would like and could grow from. They were open to my questions and very willing to help me. A few individuals would check in with me multiple times a day.

    Cons

    When it gets super busy in the office, the intern world can get a little slower just because everyone has their heads down. If you plan ahead and ask for job the week before it all works out though

    Advice to Management

    Keep providing support to individuals and be certain to create a task list for interns

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Sep 30, 2016 – Sr. Mgr - Talent Acquisition

    So glad you enjoyed your experience interning at Sleep Number. We had a great group of students this year and you definitely left your mark on the organization. It sounds like you were surrounded by ... More



Showing 68 of 412 reviews
Reset Filters