Slingshot (Utah) Reviews | Glassdoor

Slingshot (Utah) Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Slingshot (Utah) CEO Taylor Olson
Taylor Olson
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "Slingshot appreciates there employee's and doesn't treat them as just a number but as a person(in 42 reviews)

  • "Work from home or from office (your choice)(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "no cons i love slingshot as a whole(in 19 reviews)

  • "Yes, you’d expect that at a call center but the turnover was on the management side(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slingshot (Utah) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, work from home, great benefits

    Cons

    Busy days are stressful and common

    Advice to Management

    Have consistent answers between all employees!

    Slingshot (Utah)2019-08-23
  2. "Make sure your beliefs match up here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premier Sales Representative in Orem, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Slingshot (Utah) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company lets you work from home.

    Cons

    Workers here for over a year, it started out as a great job, from that point they changed pay over and over again but instead of making more money I made a few hundred less a week. This company has no actual managers who will help cretic your sales pitch or help you in any way, not only that but the managers that were hired have been the laziest managers in the world. I had felt with three deaths in my family and on... the third death I was fired (I had been dealing with depression and thoughts of suicide) then the next day after getting fired they sent out a awareness for suicide. This company will not care for you, if you want to be lost in the crowd this may be a good company but I would not recommend this job to anyone! One last thing is 3/4 paychecks I get have been skimped on my hourly pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When you take all the credit for reps words remember you stole from them, you did not help me ever!!!

    Slingshot (Utah)2019-09-09
  3. "Relax flexible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cls in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slingshot (Utah) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall the atmosphere is good. The people are great and everyone is helpful.

    Cons

    I only wish that we were able to work 40 hours a week. A normal day you work 6.30 hours. So in order to get 40 you have to cover someone's schedule and work at least 6 days a week. Other than that it is a good place to work at.

    Advice to Management

    Provide better hours for employees as we all want to spend time with our families and also provide for our bills and their happiness.

    Slingshot (Utah)2019-07-25
  4. "Bugs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales in Orem, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Slingshot (Utah) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was great atmosphere was great too

    Cons

    Management was terrible very unorganized

    Slingshot (Utah)2019-08-21
  5. "The best job ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aptive Receivables Team in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slingshot (Utah) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office is great! The people are incredibly friendly. It’s pretty simple stuff. Great benefits.

    Cons

    You miss the office after you go home from training. When I was a CSR the forms loaded ridiculously slow and made it hard to hit my QA.

    Advice to Management

    Please find a way to make forms load faster.

    Slingshot (Utah)2019-07-09
  6. "Great experience with good culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Slingshot (Utah) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small company that is growing and is successful, you can work from home

    Cons

    Job security is a concern. You never know where you stand with management.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to push your employees to be contracted.

    Slingshot (Utah)2019-06-21

    Slingshot (Utah) Response

    July 1, 2019Recruiter

    Your feedback is much appreciated! If you'd like to share more detail, you're always welcome to reach out to us at hi@getslingshot.com. Thank you for your tenure and best wishes to you.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Dont recommend, empty promise, worst!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale in Orem, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Slingshot (Utah) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home is about it

    Cons

    They make it look like you will receive big commissions and its so awesome in busy season for pest control but its nothing like that. During the winter time, there are no sales calls and so you are just a customer service rep which is fine but in summer time their commission structure is so pathetic that you have to have 400+ Revenue per hour and they will give you 0.60% and that of if you are in premier level for... sales then its possible otherwise its not possible to reach 400+Revenue per hour. You will signup for sales but you will do customer service until you hit their metrics and you qualify for their sales calls and fresh leads. For metrics you will have to have 4.9 friendliness score on surveys and have 90% QA, Quality Assurance means your phone call quality that they listen to calls and score you. they do stuff without announcing. you cant have sick days or emergency on weekends and Mondays. you will be selling for free until you hit their numbers which changes high and high unexpectedly ANYTIME! they knowingly have these numbers to get sales so that they don't have to pay you and you keep selling for free but not hit the number because each time you have no sale on potential call your Revenue per hour goes down. Its been 4 months i have been working here and i have sold so many accounts but have no received a dime for my commission. just hourly, but when i asked them they said base pay is pretty good. and if they scored you wrong on a call, they hardly resolve tickets. Its a stressful work even if its a work from home especially because they expect so much from you(Good call, Sales, Friendliness score for surveys, call quality score, your availability for the job and your call conversion and your scripting). If you go over your shift your adherence score will affect and you will not be in sales premier team. They dont correct your tickets when they make mistake. You submit no sale and it affects your numbers but no sale could be anything like...you collected information from customers and then call got disconnected. Majority of people are only asking for price yet it's our fault. Majority forms dont have paper billing or non auto pay options..hence why you lose sale because customer wants paper bill and dont want to give our credit card even though customer wants to get the service but you can give it because they dont want to give their credit card. And if you do anything to save the sale and Quality Assurance doesnt like that method..you will get bad score. You cant show your full sales potential. Their commsjon structure is horrible and they make it sound so amazing. You will sell for free for sure unless you hit their unachievable stupid tier.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The reason call centers are always hiring and understaffed..its because greedy companies like you make it hard for a human employee to be human. Dont expect someone to be so perfect. And QA peopl is the worst. They will find something pr the other to mark red. Let us employees work according to our capacity. Not every human is same and you cant extract perfection by putting numbers and scores on them and making... them feel like they are better or worst than the other employee. You stress people which us why people leave and that's not how it's supposed to be. People should stick to jobs but your stupid numbers, micro management about calle and unexpected changes make it worst. Employee exist hence why you exist..dojt forget that! Dont pressure people with dumb numbers and unachievable numbers. Stop asking for perfection. There is no such thing. Let people work according to their capacity.

    Show More
    Slingshot (Utah)2019-07-25
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Empty Promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Orem, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Slingshot (Utah) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are (were) amazing. Many of the core Slingshot people have left and took the culture with them.

    Cons

    Empty promises. Easy to lose commission. Little to no Communication. Subpar benefits. Very political despite advertising being a meritocracy. Taylor (CEO) hires his pals, and even they don't stay.

    Advice to Management

    You need new management. Mostly a new CEO. Sell the company and let them clean house.

    Slingshot (Utah)2019-06-24

    Slingshot (Utah) Response

    July 1, 2019Recruiter

    Thank you for your review submission - all feedback is welcome and appreciated. Communication is always an area that can be improved upon and we'll continue to do so. Best wishes to you! - Recruiting

  9. Helpful (7)

    "Decent company, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Slingshot (Utah) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is competitive and they have been trying to expand benefits as much as possible. I worked here for over a year and they made some pretty big strides. The people(outside of C-Suite) are honestly what kept me at Slingshot as long as I stayed. There are(or were) some truly amazing people that helped foster an amazing culture for awhile.

    Cons

    The CEO is probably the biggest hindrance to the company. He has hired his close friends in the past and not even they could stick around. Every experienced manager leaves because of him and his actions. He consistently asks for advice or input then does the exact opposite because he doesn’t want to listen to people unless they are agreeing with him. He does not accept accountability for his actions. He drives good... employees away. He spent countless hours preaching about merit based advancement then hired his friends and promoted people based on who his favorites were despite them being the worst candidates.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest. There has been so much dishonesty and deceit since you started to grow. Also, someone needs to stand up to Taylor. He is(and always has been) destroying Slingshot’s culture and morale. Honestly the most petty and divisive leader I have ever worked under.

    Slingshot (Utah)2019-06-02

    Slingshot (Utah) Response

    June 10, 2019Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate the opportunity to continually improve the work environment here at Slingshot. Based on your comments regarding the CEO, it seems you've had a different experience than most here and for that, I apologize. If there is anything you'd like ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Decent Job, not a great career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slingshot (Utah) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    •They offer a good base salary for what the job is, most call centers aren’t going to pay you $16 an hour plus commissions •The people here are genuinely nice and pretty easy to get along with •Working from home is definitely better than working in the office, although it might not be as flexible as you’d expect at first (see below)

    Cons

    I’m not intending any of these to come off as I hate working here or that anyone shouldn’t work here. But there are some things that I think it’s important for everyone to consider before working here because it might not work for everyone. •Full time is only 32.5 hours. They still offer benefits which is awesome, but don’t expect to work 40 hours every week. They’ll let you pick up extra shifts to get to 40, but... where everyone else is only working 32.5 sometimes it’s hard to make that work. Also, they schedule you for 7.5 hour shifts with an hour lunch, which means that you’ll work 5 days a week. One of those days has to be either a Saturday or Sunday. •Commissions aren’t exactly guaranteed. Basically, you have to hit a certain revenue per hour before you “unlock” the commissions that you’ve earned on sales. Depending on call volume, it can be hard to hit that revenue per hour. I’d say that most reps hit enough to at least get some commission (average is probably $200-$300 a paycheck), but there will be sometimes that you don’t hit it and don’t get your commission even though you made some good sales and it can be frustrating. Again, they are still paying you a solid base rate. •Flexibility can be limited. Even though it’s work from home, they limit you to one IP address meaning that you can’t work from multiple computers or homes. Not a huge deal, but don’t expect to be able to work on vacations or at a friends house or anything like that. Imagine it as if you were going to a regular brick and mortar job with a set shift where you go to the office and can’t do anything else while you are there, the only difference is that the office is at your home. •Metrics are tricky sometimes. They base pretty much everything they do off of your numbers, which they are very clear about from the get go. Some of the numbers, though, are a little out of your control. You get evaluated based on your close rate, when you could get nothing but calls from people who are wanting to get prices and will never sign up for service no matter how good you are (these get submitted as a no sale). For the most part, everything evens out but at times it can feel like getting good numbers is just based off of luck which can make it difficult to succeed. thats the nature of metrics though, and I think that they do a good job of evaluating them consistently and keeping it fair between everyone. Again, I think most of these are pretty small issues and am not trying to take away from the good people and overall solid company that slingshot is. Overall I think it’s a good place to be, but there are definitely some things that one should really consider before starting here because it’s definitely not a good fit for everyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make it clear in the interview that full time does not mean 40 hours guaranteed. My whole training group was shocked on our third day when we found that out, and while I was cool with it there were others in there with families to provide for who had just left a 40 hour job assuming that this one would give them the same. Otherwise, I think you’re doing a good job.

    Slingshot (Utah)2019-05-22

    Slingshot (Utah) Response

    July 1, 2019Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review. You make some great points and as the current recruiter, since reading this, I've made every effort to communicate to new hires clearly that Full Time hours are 32+. If there is anything we can do to help in the future, ...

    Show More
Found 106 reviews