Slumberland Reviews | Glassdoor

Slumberland Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Ken Larson
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company works hard to survey employees to work on creating a positive work environment(in 9 reviews)

  • "Leadership, has a market niche, great company culture(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, and you work every weekend(in 6 reviews)

  • "Retail hours are difficult to work with a family(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very human company where leaders understands what they are doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Oakdale, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slumberland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People stay at the company for decades; 40 years tenure is not unheard of. I know people who grew in the ranks from a salesperson all the way to VP or director. Senior leadership knows the business inside and out. President, for once, is a fantastic businessman. I think he knows all the thousand employees by name; certainly the 200 people at HQ. My boss is unbelievably good, both as a professional - knows the business...

    Show More

    Cons

    Has tiny IT department, not much space to grow as software developer. Moved headquarters to a property quarter the size of Monaco (which was a fantastic deal, and much needed move,) but commute is now beyond terrible (even telecommuting 3 days out of 5, not happy about driving to work the rest of the week) - but for someone living in those parts that would actually be an advantage. In less than essential areas, technology...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have got it. If I had anything to say, I would have already done so via channels available inside the company - as a matter of fact, I did.

    Slumberland2019-06-29
  2. "Retail = Layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Little Canada, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Slumberland full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very flexible with time off

    Cons

    Sales dependent and layoffs have become frequent. Not many advancement opportunities. Pay is low for the area.

    Slumberland2019-06-09
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slumberland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for with integrity and good values

    Cons

    The commission is great but sometimes the stores can be very slow

    Slumberland2019-05-22
  4. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Slumberland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people good money always busy

    Cons

    Benefits are expensive and hard to move up

    Slumberland2019-05-17
  5. "Challenged & Fulfilled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slumberland full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers and senior management. Culture and Core Values are amazing and real, not just words posted on the wall. Leaders have the entire company in mind when making decisions. Always trying to improve; for the business, the employee and the customer. Flexibility in work/life schedule. Like any other retail company, folks who may have had a bad experience were probably not fully prepared to work in the retail industry.

    Cons

    Ever changing retail environment...if you're not comfortable with change management, retail in general isn't for you. Which is okay!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in current technology. Continue to be transparent in company communications.

    Slumberland2019-02-04
  6. "Everything you need to know about the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Lo Roy Acres, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Slumberland part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly working environment and interesting jobs scope

    Cons

    Salary is not as high as expected

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work in maintaining employment credibility

    Slumberland2019-01-19
  7. "Retail Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Slumberland

    Pros

    Great People Managers are fair Pay is commission based so you can earn a lot on a good month

    Cons

    Long hours Lot of time sitting around waiting for something to do Some months there is not enough traffic to make much money

    Slumberland2018-12-08
  8. "Stock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Slumberland

      Pros

      Freedom, easy work, and friendly coworkers

      Cons

      Can be slow at times

      Slumberland2018-10-18
    • "Awesome Place to Work For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Slumberland full-time

      Pros

      Relaxed and chill. Feels like a family

      Cons

      Pay Scale is a little off

      Advice to Management

      Fix the Pay Scale for warehouse employees

      Slumberland2018-09-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Decatur, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Slumberland full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The company at a corporate level was very organized and took the time to make sure every employee was aware of company success and changes.

      Cons

      At a local level the store is entirely ran by the manager, if you have a terrible manager, corporate is not willing to step in, provide coaching, and help improve the situation.

      Advice to Management

      Provide more training to your retail managers so management strategies are as consistent as you expect your sales and marketing to be.

      Slumberland2018-08-17
    Found 78 reviews