Smart Circle Reviews | Glassdoor

Smart Circle Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 317 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Smart Circle CEO Michael Meryash
Michael Meryash
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "An unfortunate MLM model"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and sales techniques as well as management training were great tools to learn.

    Cons

    The pay was not enough to live off of and you were basically selling the products to make those above you the bulk of the money from those sales. The office environment and everyday rituals were unorthodox and unhelpful.

    Smart Circle2017-08-22
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Capitalist Cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got to learn what a scam looks like.

    Cons

    It is a cult based on worship of the management as well as of exploitation. They make you perform rituals to brainwash you into staying with a company that will make you no money and give you no path forward, though they will promise this to you.

    Advice to Management

    Zig Ziglar is not a prophet.

    Smart Circle2017-08-10
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Only for those dedicated to success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity. Most who complain or don't succeed, do so because they are looking fir easy money. This is not that. You must work hard to makr things happen. However you will be rewarded on the back end of the work! Great environment and huge personal and sales growth. It is a self driven environment. If you don't succeed, you can only blame yourself.

    Cons

    A little disorganized with schedules.

    Advice to Management

    Better scheduling. A little more straight foward with interviews.

    Smart Circle2017-06-24
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Event Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some parts of the atmosphere were uplifting and motivating - I liked the people I worked with.

    Cons

    Long hours, pyramid scheme, overworked ... I was supposed to be an intern and was working over 60 hours a week... I ended up giving two weeks and the manager was trying to emotionally manipulate me to stay - do not recommend working for this business. Also, they don't even tell you that they are owned by Smart Circle so it's impossible to know until you're too far into the business.

    Smart Circle2017-08-07
  5. Helpful (4)

    "I learned a lot, but was very unhappy working for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot and was forced out of my comfort zone on a daily basis.

    Cons

    I was unhappy. I made crap pay and worked long hours.

    Smart Circle2017-07-06
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time

    Pros

    Work from home and training combination

    Cons

    No communication about standards, expectations, goals etc. I guess that's to be expected as there was really NO training on the position either. There was no performance review or support network, no warnings of results orientation/expectations. They expect you to give everything you have, travel where they say, when they say and do as they say, and even when you bring in results, it's never enough for them or fast enough...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a heart! There is no compassion in this company. I understand business, but as a people-oriented business, there has got to be some give and take and understanding. Train your employees before expecting them to create something from nothing, with nothing. And provide the support they need to get results.

    Smart Circle2017-07-27
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Don't walk, RUN from this "Opportunity""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a good learning experience with high income potential for uneducated kids!

    Cons

    -Low income potential without essentially working 80+ hrs/week for years and getting lucky both in markets and recruiting. - Cult like culture/atmosphere -Constant supervision and expectations to put in work outside of working hours -Can be cut for any reason at any time, benefits witheld, etc

    Advice to Management

    Change the business model of Smart Circle's independent contract offices. Costco is going to dump you soon, ATT/DTV will be going to internal solutions. Inside direct sales are great, the lack of accountability at nearly every level is not.

    Smart Circle2017-06-19
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time

    Pros

    Made friends with co-workers, some of the things we sold were good deals.

    Cons

    This company is the definition of a pyramid scheme. You will work 6 days a week, 9am - 8pm Monday through Friday and 10am-5pm on Saturdays. You will use your own vehicle driving co-workers around to desginated neighborhoods to sell certificates door to door. This job is pure commission, if you do not sell anything, you will not get paid. Turnover is extremely high and going door to door, some people get really angry...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Something should be offered to employees who continually use their own vehicles for company purposes.

    Smart Circle2017-06-15
  9. Helpful (12)

    "They're only interested in recruiting..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The first week of training isn't terrible.

    Cons

    Cult-like chants, disorganized, they send their top recruiters around the country isolating them to form their "own" businesses that are dissolved within months.

    Advice to Management

    Get out before you get shorted. Stop preying on the inexperienced, the downtrodden and immigrants looking for "the dream"

    Smart Circle2017-06-09
  10. "Pyramid Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Smart Circle

    Pros

    Team ethic strong Encouragement from supervisors and trainers to push sales

    Cons

    Everyone is money hungry Long distance to travel to locations Direct marketing- sales, must be completed to advance to other positions

    Smart Circle2017-05-15
Found 317 reviews