Smart Circle Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Smart Circle Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Smart Circle CEO Michael Meryash
Michael Meryash
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Pretty cut and dry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smart Circle full-time

    Pros

    Great room for advancement. Positive atmosphere. Paid travel. Guaranteed six figure income in one to five years.

    Cons

    Extremely cultish. Misleading interview process. Deliberately withholding information. Generally lacking transparency. Low pay depending on your ability to perform under high pressure and stress inducing environments. High demands with nothing more than a promise of fast promotions in return. HIGH TURNOVER RATE. Very sketchy. ZERO WORK/LIFE BALANCE!!!

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so sketchy. You can be upfront with people. Tell them it's a hard job with low starting pay. But for the right person it can be a wonderful opportunity.

    Smart Circle2015-03-23
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Spare Yourself From Slavery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The business school aspect of the job is very helpful and can help your development as an individual.

    Cons

    -Hours -Waste of Time -Sacrifice any personal life -No divider between personal life without work life invading it -Unorganized -Basic -Low-pay -Overworked -Wear and Tear on your vehicle -Lies

    Advice to Management

    Fix the misleading job duties to those who interview and just be honest. Control the fluff and get straight to the point.

    Smart Circle2015-04-01
  3. Helpful (15)

    "You will be working for an MLM company selling their own products."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative/Event Coordinator in Sandy Springs, Fulton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Smart Circle

    Pros

    You will learn how to sell anything to anyone which is a fantastic skill to have.

    Cons

    I would like to point one lie that managers and the person doing the interview will not tell you... Almost ALL products that you advertise in stores are made by SMART CIRCLE. Ever wondered why all your product shipment boxes say Innovage? Because INNOVAGE is SMART CIRCLE! There are only a couple of actual companies like Direct TV outsource their direct sales through Smart Circle. So much for being a number one marketing...

    Show More
    Smart Circle2015-02-23
  4. Helpful (15)

    "A Corporate Horror Story"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed my one day off every week because it gave me a chance to recover from the Smart Circle daily grind which can be likened to trench warfare.

    Cons

    Smart Circle would have to be the most malign company I ever had the misfortune of working for. Without a doubt the most vicious, evil-minded and hostile work environment I have ever had to suffer. They offer slave hours for slave wages disguised as an opportunity for financial freedom and their owners are nothing more than professional dream sellers who will do anything to keep you around as long as possible. Drug...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop writing positive reviews about yourselves. Some people might believe them and end up wasting their time and energy. Eventually, everyone wakes up and quits so why guide them through your miserable detour on the road of life?

    Smart Circle2014-11-20
  5. Helpful (19)

    "Morally Bankrupt Legalized Exploitation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Orlando, FL

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of my co-workers were decent but good natured people usually don't last very long in this business. I now know what to avoid in the future.

    Cons

    One of my greatest regrets in life was not researching this company before accepting their offer. I worked for Smart Circle for many months and can assure you that I have yet to read a negative report that I thought was misleading or embellished. I also have a sneaking suspicion that the great majority of positive reports come from current owners or corporate office hoping to balance the scale in this age of Internet...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit, buy a one way ticket to the subcontinent and check into an ashram. Cleanse your souls. You are repugnant and what you are doing is unconscionable and indefensible.

    Smart Circle2014-10-31
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Worst company in America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DirecTv Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm almost ashamed that I can't think of one positive thing to say about this business. I say almost because it's a terrible company. Run for your life.

    Cons

    Hours - Very long, no time for friends and family, it really takes over your life. My family thought it was a cult and it felt like one. Pay - Didn't even make minimum wage. Even the people selling the most were broke. Management - Liars. He lied about everything and his secretary was always there to back him up. Company culture - Sadistic Benefits - None Transportation - Yes! Your own car and your own gas...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying. Treat your people with respect. Think about paying your employees a living wage.

    Smart Circle2014-11-03
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Horrible! Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Oak Brook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time

    Pros

    freedom to drive around people are fun to work with

    Cons

    pay sucks hours are terrible 12-14 hour days and maybe 1 day off driving for up to an hour with may 10 dollars reimbursed. harassing people in the store to buy stuff

    Advice to Management

    Tell people the truth when they are in the interview of what you will actually be doing and how much you actually get paid and the scheme you have to do to actually move up which is virtually impossible

    Smart Circle2014-10-02
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Horrific"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really can't think of anything positive to say about this business. I suppose that my experience with Smart Circle has slightly improved my written communication skills. Thanks guys.

    Cons

    Do you need a job? Are you a recent college graduate? Would you like to throw your degree in the toilet and pursue a career of financial ruin all in the name of quenching the greedy thirst of the Tanenbaum family? If so, Smart Circle might be for you. They have been abusing first time job seekers for decades. The company is set up in such a way that it squeezes every drop of blood from eager young talent without...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hard to say really. I think that they should pay back the money they stole but that would defeat the purpose of stealing in the first place.

    Smart Circle2014-09-11
  9. "The ability to generate commission was there, however, the selection process was extremely vague. Leadership was lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was direct sales They placed you where the clients were going to be There was no cold calling involved You were selling something desirable (DirecTV)

    Cons

    Lack of Leadership Employee morale was weak The organization structure seemed rushed The leadership structure seemed rushed

    Advice to Management

    A group structure Company values need to be vocalized more Time-off didn't seem like a problem, but proper education did

    Smart Circle2014-06-29
  10. "Not for everyone, but opportunity to earn a decent bit of money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You work with some good coworkers. During a good week, you can make a lot of money.

    Cons

    Where should I start?... NO Benefits at all. Cult-like meetings are useless. 60+ hours a week only one day off a week. Even the managers are broke.

    Advice to Management

    Offer some benefits. Quit being so greedy.

    Smart Circle2014-04-07
Found 36 reviews