Smart Circle "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Smart Circle Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 300 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Smart Circle CEO Michael Meryash
Michael Meryash
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will learn a lot about the business world and develop professional habits(in 10 reviews)

  • "I worked in the Directv division and met so many great people(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours business needs more structure and organization(in 45 reviews)

  • "This company is the definition of a pyramid scheme(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Rewarding Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Smart Circle

    Pros

    The corporate office is amazing! I've been learning a ton and had the opportunity to get involved in so much more than just my job title. The office is great, and we do a ton for our independent offices, and its awesome to see how interactive corporate is. It's been a great learning and career experience, and I've been able to push my self, and meet some great people.

    Cons

    It's not an easy position, and working at the corporate office takes time and dedication. There are plenty of people here who put in the extra time and energy to make themselves successful in their own positions. This is not a "just get by" type of company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. You're wanting to grow from our feedback, which is great! And the employee functions are always fun.

    Smart Circle2015-12-14
  2. Helpful (33)

    "RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some great people. Realized that there are scams to look out for in the job market.

    Cons

    Where to start... I was with this company for almost a year. During that time I was one of the most seniored people in my office. I was told during the interview process, and was taught to lie to other potential candidates during their interview process, that within 6 months you would be in a management position making six figures plus a year. I was a national trainer, mentor, and considered one of the top "Account Managers"...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow a heart. How can you do this to innocent kids fresh out of college? How can you break up family and personal relationships in hopes to get yourself a little more out of debt? How can you sleep at night?! Advice to management.... Pack warm clothes while you burn in hell.

    Smart Circle2015-12-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Enaging experience, not for everybody!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chance to push yourself and find out your limits! Ability to promote fast and travel. Great people!

    Cons

    Pay is not great, especially when you train others (split commission). Unstable scheduling and lots of driving.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with the people you work with and do your best to help them get into management and have a sustainable business once they open!

    Smart Circle2015-09-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "The people are great; the system is corrupt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This jobs helps your personal skills and how to sell, but you do meet a lot of great people who are struggling just like you. I love everyone I worked with, but it's a corrupt system.

    Cons

    They start off by saying that they don't monitor your hours--that's their way of saying you don't get an hourly wage even if you work 10 hours that day. If you're incredibly good at sales then you can make it at this company, but it's essentially Mary Kay. It is a straight pyramid scheme. The job ad I responded to was for a marketing position... Technically it is, but it was not what they made it out to be.

    Advice to Management

    When you're describing the business model on the white board, try not to make it look like exactly like a pyramid... And stop with the false hope. People really think that they're getting a marketing job, but then you send them out and basically expect 80% of them to fail.

    Smart Circle2015-10-03
  5. Helpful (11)

    "False Hopes & Pipe Dreams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle

    Pros

    Learning marketing systems, and you do gain better public speaking skills. I met some great people who work within the company & travel opportunities.

    Cons

    Where do I begins? This is a brainwashing cult! Not only do they make you work 12-14 hour days M-S on your feet in cities and suburbs just walking around with little direction. They give you this "great brand of make-up" that no one in the company knows any true facts about. The company designed the make-up line that is absolutely HORRIFIC marked up the price on the website to name-brand prices and then you go out everyday...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    stop lying to your employees and if you want to end turnover so quickly actually pay people, maybe you'll then get loyal employes. Stop filling heads of innocent kids about how corporate life is so horrible and they only pay you 40k and you have to settle for that it isn't true. Reimburse for gas, and tolls, be a legitimate company. All the owners should feel ashamed of themselves for running such a sweat shop and get...

    Show More
    Smart Circle2015-09-19
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Really change my attitude towards everything including life! Loved it!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They change your mentality. ..make you see the positive in everything, there's room to grow they actually encourage it...I worked in the Directv division and met so many great people. I would say it has been the best work experience of my life!

    Cons

    It is a way of life....not like a regular 9-5. Very life consuming you're either 100% about the business or not.

    Smart Circle2014-11-03
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Pyramid scheme! Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time

    Pros

    You learn a tremendous amount during your time there in terms of sales and marketing systems and techniques that significantly help your pitches when you're out in the field. Generally, you work with a lot of great people who are always interested in helping you grow within the business. No seniority is also a plus.

    Cons

    Smart Circle is extremely misleading to perspective employees, especially those perspective employees who are right out of school. First of all, they say they are hiring for positions such as "Market Researcher" and "Event Coordinator" which do not even exist. Everyone starts off at the same entry-level position as a "Brand Ambassador" which is just a salesperson making minimum wage with commission. While you are given...

    Show More
    Smart Circle2014-08-26
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Learned the art of selling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in South Florida, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned sales techniques still used today, terrific "entry-level" sales experience. Conditioned mindset to hunt for sales and hump it to earn money. Makes other sales opportunities appear easy. Would recommend it to anyone starting out to gain valuable experience. Great energy amongst team and management. Met many great people I still keep in touch with today. Leadership was invested in my success and I was promoted...

    Show More

    Cons

    Company values sales, at almost all costs-depending on your belief, this could be viewed as a strength or weakness. Compensation can be challenging at times as it's commission only, which although it forces you to work harder, can be very stressful, especially with greater obligations. Work-life balance is difficult as hours can be long and/or grueling.

    Smart Circle2014-08-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Loved it, but lots of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you work hard, it's easy to have the freedom to do what you want when you want. I was an owner with 4 other offices besides my own. I saved a lot of money. Meet lots of great people. Skies the limit. Traveling available if you want. Learn life skills. Able to challenge yourself.

    Cons

    If you aren't willing to work then not for you. If you aren't scared of a challenge you will do great and make a lot of money. Only reason I decided for a change, was because I burnt myself out and needed a break.

    Advice to Management

    I was management....beauty of it.

    Smart Circle2014-01-11
  10. "I loved it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in
    Recommends

    I have been working at Smart Circle

    Pros

    Great people. Fun Job. Lots of flexability

    Cons

    Its not good when you have to rely on so many other people for your commissions.

    Smart Circle2011-11-30
Found 300 reviews