Smart Circle "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Smart Circle Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Smart Circle CEO Michael Meryash
Michael Meryash
39 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Get out as soon as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn how to sell to different demographics. Pay can be good if you put in the effort. Get to train and teach

    Cons

    This job is nothing like its made out to be. Long hours with a lot of driving. Once you work in the field and produce you get a new position without compensation. Everything is misleading. You are supposed to swindle customers exactly how you are swindled into the job. There is a big emphasis on dirty sales tactics. If you are good at deceiving people and your morals are unsound, this job is great for you. Even if you get to management, the business knowledge you gain will only apply to sales businesses. The biggest thing you are taught is that employees are replaceable and in real businesses good employees are hard to come by. This one doesnt care who you are as long as you can make them some money for a couple weeks.

    Continue reading
    Smart Circle2016-09-07
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid Smaller Branches that all have their own names"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Smart Circle

    Pros

    more than minimum wage, and with very high sales you can get more

    Cons

    long hours, poor pay, difficult customers, deceitful hiring practices, high pressure and low reward. The worst work/life balance I've ever had.

    Continue reading
    Smart Circle2016-08-28
  3. Helpful (11)

    "SmartCircle is the WORST company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Abington, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything they tell you during the interview is basically a well developed lie. They hide a lot of the cons behind the promise of "management" and six figures in 6 months to a year. They make it seem so easy that's how they draw in young hopefuls who honestly don't know any better. Management is nice at first until they slowly break down the fake facade. They do door to door or little kiosk in SAMS Club or Costco. Everything is commission based so paydays are very unstable. Workdays are Monday through Saturday 10 to 12 hour days. Management complains about people not working on Sundays. Management will make fun of you if you actually want a personal life. You will drive your own car to different locations with no gas compensation. SmartCircle is new aged slavery. SmartCircle disguises itself as Marketing and PR Firms with made up names. If you Google one of these companies and a poorly developed website pops up with outdated google graphics then cancel your interview.

    Cons

    Long hours, low pay, false promises, unprofessionalism, you'll lose more money than you'll make.

    Continue reading
    Smart Circle2016-02-28
  4. "Sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I worked at Smart Circle

    Pros

    Met a lot of motivated and highly driven people. Very positive atmosphere and positive attitudes

    Cons

    Long hours terrible pay. Very shady management. They'll pretend to be open and friendly but no one actually knows what's going on behind the doors. Don't know schedule until the day before and it constantly changes

    Continue reading
    Smart Circle2015-07-04
  5. "Campaign Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment if you are comfortable talking to random people in retail environments. High energy and performance based work. Younger co-workers with a lot of ambition.

    Cons

    Long hours, usually 1-2 in the morning then travel 10-60 mins to retail store, then 8hrs on your feet. Work every weekend, usually get an off day or two twice a week. Weekly work schedule was usually unknown until the Sunday prior.

    Continue reading
    Smart Circle2015-06-06
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Don't believe the lies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have to write 5 words...there are no pros.

    Cons

    If it sounds to good to be true, it probably is. This sums up this company perfectly. Insanely long hours and they will not pay you overtime.

    Continue reading
    Smart Circle2015-06-11
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in Independence, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros. Run if your office is affiliated with them.

    Cons

    Any office affiliated with Smart Circle, my advice is run and don't look back. They are there to line their pockets not yours. Long hours, low pay. A lot of money out of your pocket. Good luck getting the right amount on your paycheck that you deserve.

    Continue reading
    Smart Circle2015-04-23
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good learning experience, time consuming, obsessive atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager/"Leader" 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle

    Pros

    I worked for Smart Circle's Road Show division for around 7-8 months. I moved fairly far up, had a crew of people built including multiple "leaders," and ended up leaving shortly before my promotion into management. The people are great to be around because positivity is the number one requirement for employment. Most offices supply one on one training in the field, and a network of people to talk to who are good at the business. You will also develop an extremely marketable skill set as a Smart Circle employee, learning how to sell products, and once out of the entry level, the basics of recruiting and then how to develop and manage people. These are skills that look amazing on a resume.

    Cons

    Now the bad side. Yes, they will teach you all these things, but getting to the point where you're doing more than selling something inside Sam's Club requires extremely long hours, variable pay, and sacrificing your work-life balance. ,Once you are a "leader" you will constantly be training people as well as conducting interviews all while keeping your sales numbers up. Pay is commission, and it is split between everyone at the event on a given day. So if you have yourself who knows how to sell, along with 2 newbies who have no clue what they're doing, you need to sell more to make up for their slack while training them effectively. It's challenging for sure, and your paychecks will suffer. Additionally, once you recruit some people and develop a team, you are also coaching them over the phone daily. I got to the point where I was working from 7:00 am to 11pm. Some time was in the office, some was in the field, and then at least 2-3 hours were spent returning calls and breaking down people's days. I worked from the moment I woke up to the moment I went to bed, and eventually I broke. They say anyone can become an owner and that's true, but they drastically downplay the sacrifices you have to make to get to that point. Ultimately I do not regret working for Smart Circle. My resume is better now. Quitting was stressful, and my owner tried desperately to manipulate me into staying, but I am out now with a solid skill set and looking forward to the next chapter. If you're willing to temporarily sacrifice good pay, benefits, work/life balance, etc. for a positive atmosphere, personalized training, and a new experience, you may have something to gain from Smart Circle. Will you be an owner? Probably not. But you may end up with a way better resume from it.

    Continue reading
    Smart Circle2014-12-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    informative meetings, good training, occasionally decent commission checks

    Cons

    long hours, no real growth opportunity, shady business practices

    Continue reading
    Smart Circle2015-01-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Sales and Leadership training that you will take with you where ever you go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great to build sales, hr, operations, and training experience. If you work hard and are eager to learn everyday, you will not regret it.

    Cons

    Pay isn't the best starting off. Extremely long hours Work Life Balance Very easy to burn yourself out.

    Continue reading
    Smart Circle2014-11-18
Found 302 reviews