Smart Circle "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Smart Circle Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Smart Circle CEO Michael Meryash
Michael Meryash
39 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Get Away Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to this company unless you want to work your way up to the top of a company quickly and don't have any morals

    Cons

    There is not one thing honest about this company. They start lying to you the second you come in for the interview. This is nothing but a pyramid scheme in disguise. I felt like a horrible person after working for this company. There are only a couple products that I'd actually use that we sold. I would tell people that these products were the best out there and when I'd go home and try them out myself they were horrible....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I hope the company folds. A lot of what is going on is straight up illegal.

    Smart Circle2014-12-10
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Girl was fired for "Networking Across""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Marketing in Van Nuys, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people. I loved the people I worked with. They were encouraging and wonderful to work with. They wanted you to do well, and were willing to teach you a lot. With this kind of sales you do lean how to sell, and sell well. Sales isn't for everyone, true, but that isn't the main source of the turn over. Its just the "other" issues that drive people away.

    Cons

    Company structure is a MLM. You don't get to own your own part like a traditional MLM until you prove yourself to your uppers. Long hours (8:30am meeting- drive to store. Start Selling and then take down and leave at 8pm), commission only (if you don't make minimum wage, they pay you that for the day but you have to pay it back to the company when you do get commission) and no reimbursement for gas for traveling. They...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't make fun of other companies and people who work for other organizations. The idea that you are "better" than others because you work in this organization is straight up hubris. You are driving people away with that attitude, the long hours, and the encouragement to only talk to the manager about anything with the job. MLM's are good for the first people in them, not the last.

    Smart Circle2014-11-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "This job can make you or break you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Team Leader in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can learn some great sales training/fundamentals that you can take with you if Smart Circle doesn't work out for you Good leadership and training, no seniority, all promotions are within If you get to a high enough point in management you can be your own boss

    Cons

    There is a high failure rate Long hours for little pay unless you hit senior management. There is barely any opportunity for work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    waiting rooms of offices should look more professional as it can be very unattractive for people coming in for interviews higher salary is necessary

    Smart Circle2014-09-19
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Pyramid Scheme/ Cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - "Brand Ambassador" in Hollywood, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you have no morals, then congrats! You have a 5% chance of succeeding here. You're the only type of person who would have a chance.

    Cons

    Where do I even begin??? -Misleading interview process -Brainwashed sales reps -Extremely long hours, very little pay...if any pay at all (commission based) -Manipulative sales practices. For example, even though you are technically trying to sell something, I was told BY A TRAINER if someone tells you no soliciting say "well actually I was here to give you something for free, but since you're not interested...oh...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a long walk off a short pier..to put it the old fashioned way. Seriously, you people are downright evil.

    Smart Circle2014-06-16
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Smart Circle

    Pros

    None. Maybe you gain communication skills but that's it.

    Cons

    Horrible. Long hours no pay commission only . Your having an "employee mindset" if you ask about hours or money. Managers talk a huge game but are broke themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Quit. Do something better. Quit praying on weak people who will worship the ground u walk on

    Smart Circle2014-05-23
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Sucked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were no Pros. This place Sucked!

    Cons

    Long Hours Little Pay Brainwashing Waste of time Kills your brain cells

    Advice to Management

    Burn down

    Smart Circle2014-04-07
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Lies, Lies, and D@mn Statistics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to learn about yourself and get sales experience. The job improved my communication skills and it's something semi-professional looking to put on a resume.

    Cons

    I'll start out by saying that I don't think what Smart Circle is doing is a scam, because everything they do is legal. They're just a very shady and deceitful company and a borderline pyramid scheme. I worked for the company for about a year and got to see most of the ins and outs of the business. In my time with the company I was lied to and encouraged to lie all in the name of an "opportunity" that is really just a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not sure where to start here. Definitely stop lying to your employees with promises that you're going to make them all business owners. But then again lying is the foundation of the Smart Circle's structure, so I don't know.

    Smart Circle2014-02-02
  8. Helpful (7)

    "This is a total scam!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Tyngsboro, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of many, it will teach you very quickly what not to look for in a job right out of college

    Cons

    Long hours, no compensation for travel. Difficult sales minimums that if you miss you make less than mininmum wage for the hours worked. Very hard to turn a profit in an older market

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with your employees, ,let them know there is money to be made if you have the 'knack' for selling. but don't pretend it's more than just a quick sales pitch repeated ad nauseaum day in day out

    Smart Circle2014-01-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not a bad job if you want to work yourself to the bone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Westminster, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The information and mentoring that was provided was really great. Leaders look out for you. Managers a really motivating.

    Cons

    Super long hours! 60-70 a week Unless you are a closer you will not be able to pay the bills. They dangle the illusion of becoming a manager in your face from day one, but in reality it is exactly that, an illusion

    Smart Circle2013-12-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Worked for a local office/branch, was a horrible experience! Joke company. (Boston area)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - "Promotional Manager" Not Just Entry Level in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Circle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees were nice. and you do gain some sales experience.

    Cons

    Long hours, way too much driving, lousy pay, takes forever to get paid, can not survive here!

    Advice to Management

    Should be more honest when hiring new employees. STOP misleading them, its not right. This is not a very good opportunity for most people. They do not make any money and work their butts off for nothing!! Took me two months to get paid. Ridiculous!

    Smart Circle2014-01-04
Found 302 reviews