KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Smart Energy Water

Engaged Employer

Smart Energy Water

Add a Review

Smart Energy Water Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 262 of over 278 reviews

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Smart Energy Water CEO Deepak Garg (no image)
Deepak Garg
159 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

434

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Nice work place

    Apr 12, 2022 - Senior Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    salary on time simple work

    Cons

    no any pross for this

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Hostile Work Environment

    Jun 25, 2022 - Manager Product Delivery in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    VP of Product Delivery is great

    Cons

    No work life balance, they will setup the calls even for 11:30 PM as well. Nightly calls through long weekends as well. Pathetic work culture with no processes in place False promises made to the Clients, and they never deliver on time - Always a moving target Person with no qualification/education, and with no experience made President, SMB in the company. She can't even write an email on her own, and hardly opens her mouth in Client meetings. Very pathetic culture. Arrogant offshore teams, and they don't understand with spoon feedings as well. You will end up spending numerous sleepless nights to explain the requirements to them. The deliverables comes with 100's and 1000's of defects into UAT. This company is going to be a nightmare for you, if you join. Please stay away from this company. No, No - Please RUN AWAY from this company to take care of your physical and mental health.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Challenging work environment

    Jul 29, 2022 - Director, Product Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work available Interesting industry

    Cons

    Fighting for resources Missed deadlines Fragile software

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Don't work here no matter how desperate you are.

    Jul 7, 2022 -  in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Absolutely no pros. Stay miles away from this company. Run, don't walk. All the positive reviews are rigged by employees who are told to provide positive reviews to increase the average score on Glassdoor.

    Cons

    Zero work life balance. I worked 90+ hours a week on average with no organization or reliability from the teams I was supposed to work with. Management monitors everyone's emails, and the CEO is the biggest snake of a person to ever exist.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrible Management

    Jul 1, 2022 - application support specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote Work. No work life balance

    Cons

    Horrible Management. Nothing great about the company other than Remote work. They rip of Utility customers and doesn't deliver projects on time. Their Software is extremely bad. I remember customers complain when they placed marketplace orders to purchase thermostat. Their order shows not processed and will still get charge on their CC. They need to hire better staff and really work on their software. Dev work is done in India and upper management have no clue on anything.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible company culture

    Jun 23, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting software and innovative product

    Cons

    It's a revolving door and people get hired/fired regularly. There is a culture of distrust from the top down and backbiting among employees to try and look good with management. Lack of transparency and strategies change almost every day.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good Place

    May 5, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work in !

    Cons

    Nothing negative to describe in

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Is NOT an American company, not American culture, Not America's values

    Nov 17, 2021 - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None, there is nothing positive to say about this company.

    Cons

    SEW pays on 26th and 10th, the very last day allowed by CALIFORNIA LAW. The paystubs or deposits are legit evidence, about this review. "Paydays, pay periods, and the final wages. Labor Code Section 207 Wages earned between the 1st and 15th days, inclusive, of any calendar month must be paid no later than the 26th day of the month during which the labor was performed, and wages earned between the 16th and last day of the month must be paid by the 10th day of the following month." 1. This is the only place where the CEO disrespects his own team. 2. This is NOT an American company. 4. Joining this company is the WORST decision ever, you'll regret the very first month. 5. Check out the HIGH personal rotation. 6. No process, no requirements, no work life balance.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Thankful

    Jul 2, 2021 - Vice President Sales in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I often tell job candidates during the interview process what a blessing SEW has been to my family and I. When I joined, I had no clue about the Utility Industry but thankfully, SEW invested in me, taught me about the industry, and provided the opportunity to succeed. I have worked for many startups over my 30+ year career and several have been high-growth, but nothing has compared to SEW. To have the successful products we have, delivering them to an industry that so badly needs them, serving a mission that is so admirable, working with people so dedicated, and customers so committed, it truly has been (and continues to be) a career opportunity of a lifetime. If you have the DNA to win and like to work hard at something that matters, come join the SEW team and be a part of our success!

    Cons

    Our rapid growth can be a challenge when resources are spread thin and you have deadlines to hit with clients. Company is recruiting and hiring as fast as possible but finding talented and committed people that want to do the work is always the key.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor team management

    Apr 12, 2022 - Technical Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get Chance to explore yourself

    Cons

    very difficult to handle personal and professional life

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 262 Reviews

Smart Energy Water Reviews FAQs

Smart Energy Water has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 278 reviews left anonymously by employees. 58% of employees would recommend working at Smart Energy Water to a friend and 57% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Smart Energy Water employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Smart Energy Water. This rating has decreased by -9% over the last 12 months.

58% of Smart Energy Water employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Smart Energy Water 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Smart Energy Water to be workplace, career development, coworkers and the cons to be benefits, management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Smart Energy Water Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Smart Energy Water? Share Your Experiences

or

Smart Energy Water Photos

+ Add Photo
Smart Energy Water photo of: Diwali Celebrations
Smart Energy Water photo of: IWD 2021
Smart Energy Water photo of: 2021 - Return to Office Party @ SEW HQ
Smart Energy Water photo of: Some of our incredible Women Leaders
Smart Energy Water photo of: Making time to relax and celebrate!
Smart Energy Water photo of: Enjoyin the summer sunshine!
Smart Energy Water photo of: Did someone say tacos?
See All Photos