SmartBear Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
SmartBear CEO Frank Roe
Frank Roe
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/Life Balance is on par with industry/sales(in 10 reviews)

  • "SmartBear is a great place to have your voice be heard and make an impact(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Forget about the work/life balance and anything they try to portray in the scripted company meetings(in 7 reviews)

  • "Pay for parking *No gym in the office itself *Sales floor can get loud(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review
    COVID-19
    Helpful (3)

    "Strong Leadership During a Challenging Time"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Somerville, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartBear full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and culture! Our CEO and Executive Team have demonstrated steady leadership during the COVID 19 crisis and a great awareness of the challenges our employees are facing. Weekly all-hands meetings to give business updates, celebrate wins, and address questions as we adapt to the new normal. Leaders and managers encourage employees to find a work-life balance as we, like everyone else, have had to adjust to 100% work from home environment. Strong benefits package and a great location in Somerville.

    Cons

    Commute to Somerville is hit or miss depending on where you are commuting from. Lots of moving parts to contend with as we continue to grow and raise expectations

    Continue reading

    SmartBear Response

    April 21, 2020The People Team

    We are doing all we can to support employees during the COVID-19 outbreak and appreciate you taking the time to write this review! Should you want to provide additional feedback, you can reach out to us at: feedback@smartbear.com -The People Team

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Professional & Innovative"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Somerville, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartBear full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment with extremely supportive executive leadership team. It's clear that management "gets it" while having to navigate current global and economic issues. New CEO making smart, and sometimes tough decisions. More internal promotions than ever seen at any other company. Work hard, bring ideas, and you'll get promoted.

    Cons

    It's not a "coast" job.

    Continue reading

    SmartBear Response

    July 27, 2020The People Team

    We appreciate you for taking the time to write this review! We rely on SmartBear employees like you for feedback. Thank you!


  3. "This company has changed"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartBear full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The health care benefits are superior to most plans I've seen.

    Cons

    Profits over people mentality. No diversity in the workforce.

    SmartBear Response

    December 22, 2020The People Team

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review! Employee feedback is critical to the Company's growth and evolution, we would like to hear more about what you think has changed. Please reach out to us at: feedback@smartbear.com

  4. "Software Engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SmartBear full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good products and good engineering team

    Cons

    Weak management, very political environment

    SmartBear Response

    December 22, 2020The People Team

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Should you want to provide additional feedback, you can reach out to us at: feedback@smartbear.com

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn and grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Somerville, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartBear full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good Culture, benefits, great leadership, strong growth

    Cons

    Pay structure is pretty bad; really low base pay and the SDR’s have a capped commission which is odd for a company that’s 10+ years old

    Continue reading

    SmartBear Response

    December 22, 2020The People Team

    We appreciate you for taking the time to write this review! We rely on SmartBear employees like you for feedback. Thank you!

  6. COVID-19

    "Pay is well below market"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Somerville, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SmartBear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are nice and there were some good office perks. With COVID-19 most of us began working from home. High-growth company with lots going on and a lot of product potential but not a place you stay for more than a couple years. 401k match is decent and benefits are cheaper than my last company.

    Cons

    The leadership is very slow to communicate and they send mixed messages. Managers can’t make timely decisions (especially apparent during the pandemic). Salaries are not even close to industry standard for Boston.

    Continue reading

    SmartBear Response

    December 22, 2020The People Team

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts and feedback .We take employee feedback seriously and would love the opportunity to discuss this in further detail with you. Please connect with us at feedback@smartbear.com

  7. Helpful (10)

    "Avoid - CEO Is A Fragile Clown"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Somerville, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SmartBear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free snacks and MBTA accessible

    Cons

    I really enjoyed SmartBear when I started - there was direction, respect, and an overall great culture. Things immediately changed when Frank Roe started in 2018. If you don't suck up to him and feed his fragile ego, he will make your life harder. All the Managers and Directors are either scared of him or sucking up to him, that they abide by anything he tells them to do. He does not inspire creativity, forward thinking, or motivation - he does NOT lead by example, he leads by fear (like a dictator). He also fired a ton of teams and gave them basically no severance. Employees not only feel they can't take PTO, they are nervous to leave their desk at times. Forget about the work/life balance and anything they try to portray in the scripted company meetings. I really wanted to stay at SmartBear, but it just wasn't worth it. My colleagues were awesome, but if you value your sanity and having a life outside of work, I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

    Continue reading

    SmartBear Response

    September 10, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at SmartBear. I am sorry that you didn’t have a good experience on our sales team, but I do appreciate your feedback. I am working every day to become a better leader and motivator for our employees, and to continue pushing the company forward. I encourage employees to openly communicate and share their ideas with me. I also want to celebrate our employees. To that end, we have launched our new “Employee Recognition Program” after hearing that employees felt this was something SmartBear was lacking. I will continue to host CEO Round Tables with new hires, employees with SmartBear anniversaries, and with individual teams to keep in direct contact with our staff members. I will keep my eyes and ears open to lead not only the company, but our employees as individuals to success. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review and we wish you the best in your career. -Frank Roe

  8. "Have never felt freer to propose new ideas or voice concerns & disagreements"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartBear full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free to propose new ideas without fear of retribution, zero desire to maintain status quo, invitations to present accomplishments to the executive team, company-wide encouragement to take care of ourselves, and each other, through supportive groups or to take time off whenever a break is needed.

    Cons

    It's not a con, just honesty—there is a LOT of work to do, and given the number of products in our portfolio, there always will be. It's very easy to feel bogged down under an endless backlog. Requires a lot of time management skills and attending to numerous projects always going on at once.

    Continue reading

    SmartBear Response

    June 5, 2020The People Team

    Thank you for taking time to write this review! We hope that you continue to share your ideas and help SmartBear grow!

  9. "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Somerville, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartBear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great products, people and a winning culture!

    Cons

    Fast paced environment for those looking for career progression.

    Continue reading

    SmartBear Response

    July 27, 2020The People Team

    We appreciate you for taking the time to write this review! We rely on SmartBear employees like you for feedback. Thank you!

  10. "Great company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Somerville, MA

    I worked at SmartBear full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, quality people, great location

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    SmartBear Response

    June 5, 2020The People Team

    We appreciate you for taking the time to write this review! We rely on SmartBear employees like you for feedback. Thank you!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 151 English Reviews