SmartDrive Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

SmartDrive Systems Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Steve Mitgang
29 Ratings
  1. "Huge fun technology transformation underway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartDrive Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -In the year I've been here, we've augmented and enhanced the engineering and product teams considerably, and are working on the all right things. -we have a modern stack in public cloud that is being built as rapidly as possible to stay ahead of our scale growth curve - Our hardware is impressive and opens so many possibilities with 100k+ of them in connected vehicles around the country and globe - The team is cohesive...

    Show More

    Cons

    - A big hardware refresh and total overhaul of backend systems is hard work! lots to do and some stress because we all want to move faster and ensure the company succeeds long into the future

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring and investing in top people!

    SmartDrive Systems2018-07-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Boys club!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SmartDrive Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people in India are hard working and amazing. Some people in the company are nice..Starbucks nearby!

    Cons

    It's a cliche company, and if your female it's worse! In management they don't listen to ideas unless your male, even seen them insult women...if your looking here..go elsewhere! If you want to increase salary or work into another job..be prepared to work way beyond expectation, again, especially if your female...

    SmartDrive Systems2019-06-15
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Not a Place to Do Your Best Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartDrive Systems full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people Admirable mission Nice office environment Sales team

    Cons

    Poor, stagnant executive leadership Wrong priorities No cohesive product vision Focused on tasks rather than big goals and results Lack of open discussion on company’s failures Slow pace of execution Outdated tech stack

    Advice to Management

    Read the books “Zero to One” and “Great by Choice”. Stop trying to grow market category leadership with zero differentiation: find your identity.

    SmartDrive Systems2018-12-29
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Outdated Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SmartDrive Systems full-time

    Pros

    Some cool people to work with.

    Cons

    It's a big mess, I would not advise anyone to work here. Everyone is overworked and they are understaffed. The company does not have their priorities straight.

    Advice to Management

    Meh...

    SmartDrive Systems2018-12-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Field service Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmartDrive Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good Company, small but inovative

    Cons

    poor management at the top will be the downfall.

    Advice to Management

    stop promising your going public when the company is leaking money

    SmartDrive Systems2018-11-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartDrive Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a fast paced evolving company.

    Cons

    Management can be very dull at times.

    SmartDrive Systems2018-08-05
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Company with no Drive or Smartness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SmartDrive Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing great. Dogs are treated better than employees.

    Cons

    If you are smart, achiever and truthful, avoid SmartDrive. They like only mediocre performer who does not outsmart long timers who thinks that they are the company.

    SmartDrive Systems2018-03-20
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Fun atmosphere, plenty of potential, fast-growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartDrive Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    First the fun stuff: Unlimited PTO, dogs at the work place, subsidized vending machine, free beverages, company events (holiday party and summer picnic), beer fridge, fun folks, etc. The company has a lot of potential in the space and is slowly steering from start-up mentality to established organization within the industry. Product is stable with regular enhancements or updates and support is improving. Workforce...

    Show More

    Cons

    Mixed messages to the workforce between operating as a start-up versus established organization. Product releases are fast and furious sometimes leaving very little time for QA.

    Advice to Management

    As employees age within the organization, offer a clear path for advancement.

    SmartDrive Systems2018-01-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Tech and Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartDrive Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We have recently hired some amazing people here in Engineering. Bleeding edge stack, new development, fun stuff. Thanks to Ali in recruiting for hiring me and all the other talented people we have brought aboard recently. We have a good group of people here at SmartDrive, with a future that depends on the technology we develop.

    Cons

    So much work to do, but that is a good problem. The challenge is balancing all that work while meeting deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on tech, product and modernization of data and analytics. Also, we need to create a better partnership with Product and Engineering.

    SmartDrive Systems2017-10-31
  10. "Very Exciting Space and Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartDrive Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart passionate people, great product/services, open communication/culture, adorable dogs reducing stress, exciting future. Our product saves lives which is very fulfilling.

    Cons

    We move at a very fast pace which can be challenging as there are often changing priorities. Not all departments are aligned.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain priorities and if/when change, communicate promptly with employees so we understand the whys. Looking forward to the new building, bringing all the employees together again!

    SmartDrive Systems2017-11-03
Found 38 reviews