SmartRecruiters Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
SmartRecruiters CEO Jerome Ternynck (no image)
Jerome Ternynck
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "A very experienced leadership team that clearly has a long-term plan for the company(in 9 reviews)

  • "And catered lunches 3x per week(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management is openly hostile and display their inexperience at every challenge(in 4 reviews)

  • "It's a fast growing company so there is a ton of work(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmartRecruiters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company culture and everyone is like family. Company plans fun happy hours and activities every month. They want to make sure you are happy working there. Catered meals, flexible work from home hours and unlimited PTO is a major plus to help with work life balance. Management is very nice and easy to talk to if you have a problem. They have the mindset of "we succeed together and we fail together" so it is never one persons fault if something goes wrong or something goes exceedingly well.

    Cons

    There aren't very many negative things to say about SmartRecruiters.

    SmartRecruiters2019-02-21
  2. "Good people, good product but areas for improvements"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SmartRecruiters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong product and good momentum in the market. Strong teams and great collaboration across functions. Fast to improve technology, make decisions quickly and not afraid to test and learn. Flexible hours and benefits are decent for a small company.

    Cons

    For a hiring tech company, we should be setting the example of the concepts we preach, but the company is too busy selling the product to stop and take some time to appreciate and focus on its own employees. Most of the employees are remote so there is a less of tangible culture in the offices.

    SmartRecruiters2020-04-15
  3. "Company growing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consolidated Theaters in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartRecruiters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can work from home if you want

    Cons

    Company growing so quick hard to keep up with all the clients

    SmartRecruiters2020-01-17
  4. "Good Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartRecruiters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, healthy work life balance

    Cons

    constant change, need to be flexible

    SmartRecruiters2019-07-09
  5. "How Refreshing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartRecruiters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Real people. Honest. Fun. Growing and truly appreciate the candidate experience.

    Cons

    I don't have any as of yet

    SmartRecruiters2019-02-21
  6. "A Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Business Representative in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartRecruiters full-time

    Pros

    A great environment with with opportunity to advance. The office is dog friendly and there is always plenty of snacks in the kitchen.

    Cons

    I really don't have any. The company is great and definitely accomplishing incredible things.

    SmartRecruiters2018-12-14
  7. "First class company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Marketplace in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartRecruiters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Exceptional management team: they blend empathy and fearless execution - Excellent product market fit: It's amazing to be part of a success story - Best in breed product - Convivial atmosphere where people genuinely appreciate each others' company - Innovative: HR tech may not sound sexy because it's not, until you realize that innovation is celebrated at SmartRecruiters. - Great opportunities for internal mobility, - Loyalty: Though the company is only 8 years old, ~ 25% of employees have been there for at least 4 years

    Cons

    Fiscally conservative, and that's often wise, but the product doesn't rely on VC money as much as others in our space do, we grow with the growth of our revenue, which has been fairly good.

    Continue reading
    SmartRecruiters2018-12-14
  8. "Great People | Great Brand | Great Future"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive in Peoria, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartRecruiters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have loved this job from jump street. I love to build, create, and innovate. I get to do all of that here. At SmartRecruiters you are part of a family that is really building an exciting future for candidates, hiring managers, and recruiters. Smartrecruiters has a great brand that is well respected in the market. Since joining the company, we have released new 2 modules and we have built over 50 different HR partnerships. We also have some of the best sales and marketing alignment that I have ever experienced. This provides more at bats and more opportunities to $ucceed. Looking for a SOLID brand with a great market presence? Do you want to be part of a team that is changing the market? Look no further than SmartRecruiters.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Continue reading
    SmartRecruiters2018-08-23
  9. "Sales"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmartRecruiters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits for a start-up

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    SmartRecruiters2018-08-20
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Good product, bad executives"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SmartRecruiters full-time

    Pros

    Onboarding has gotten better and better for new hires, fun team events and the product is very promising

    Cons

    The CEO has created a toxic culture where if you speak up, be prepared to get canned out of nowhere. He may let it go the first time if you're a top performer, but he'll keep an eye on you. Don't rely on People Ops to have your back either - they are powerless. Employee turnover is above average.

    Continue reading
    SmartRecruiters2018-06-08
Found 86 reviews