KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SmartRecruiters

Engaged Employer

SmartRecruiters

Add a Review

SmartRecruiters Employee Reviews about "culture"

Updated Jun 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 133 reviews

4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
SmartRecruiters CEO Jerome Ternynck (no image)
Jerome Ternynck
109 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "culture"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company with a lot of potential

    Oct 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some interesting reviews on Glassdoor. I'm actually writing this b/c this site is restricting me from being able to view all of the content on the company, otherwise I would not leave a review b/c I'm not the type to leave reviews. As a current employee at the company, I would advise readers to take the negative reviews here with a grain of salt. This is a company that has transitioned very quickly in a single year to fight upstream in a market that has not seen technological disruption in many years. If you follow the news, you'll notice that startups tackling HR tech are just getting hot out there. There were growing pains and it is clear that those pains became too painful for some former employees. Luckily, I have not been around long enough to experience some of the friction that has been called out in these reviews. Instead, I've been welcomed from day one to a team that is warm-hearted, smart, hard-working, and most importantly willing to learn from each other. TL:DR - I've been given the opportunities to lead that I would not have had in my last company, but I have also been challenged as well. - The product is complex and simple in a way that is almost impossible to grasp if you have not worked in this industry for a long time. There's a great team behind it and the willpower to do good is infectious. - If you want to join a startup at the right time, now is the right time to join this one. You'll get the opportunity to help shape and make a real impact on the company. I hope they let me edit reviews, I'll probably have more to add when I have been with the company for longer.

    Cons

    - Culture is a work in progress. Recently created culture committee is a great step forward. Company needs to makes sure to engage employees in really thinking about the proposed values, so that all current employees will own them. - Hours can be long. So if looking for a stable 9-5, this may not be the place for you. - No fitness benefits. A lot of the current team are workout junkies, but company does not offer any gym membership credit.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    SmartRecruiters Response

    COO

    Thanks so much for the thoughtful review and recognition of how hard it is to be great and disrupt an entire industry. We have evolved very quickly in less than a year and it's hard to properly manage that transition with everyone. The advice to management is well directed and very helpful - in the end our talent is 98% of our IP and 110% of our value.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Culture. Visionary Leadership

    Dec 10, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture at SmartRecruiters is unparalleled. The leadership team is brilliant, the products are innovative and loved by our customers, and the people are by far the best and brightest in the industry. It's enjoyable to come to work every day and surround yourself with and learn from these people.

    Cons

    If you are someone who likes a fast-paced environment where you will have the opportunity to have true ownership at almost any level, then you will enjoy it here.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Toxic and Fake environment

    May 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product they produce and sell

    Cons

    The company culture is extremely terrible. I felt unhappy from day one until my last working day. The onboarding was really stressful, they force people to create all accounts even before the start day. The environment is extremely Fake and Toxic, people work overtime, get message in the evenings and during the weekend. All the company bonuses must be deserved. To get sport compensation, you need to apply once again every quarter. If you forgot, you will get no compensation for the next 3 months. The unlimited vacation days turned to be a disadvantage, this is just another company trick to push you to work harder. As soon as you resign, you must pay back if you used more then 25 days of vacation. Shares - literally not possible ( or extremely hard) to get them, as you somehow need to transfer money to the American legal entity. Referral program - they make the “lottery” for people who made reference, only winners get referral bonus. Company trips happen only for the American collegues on the top level positions. For the CEO, CFO or Chief People Offer. The other regular employees in Germany or Poland do not deserve such benefits. Employee development bonus exist, but just on the paper. You can submit the request but will not get a response. Career development is very hard. You must stay years on the same position to be promoted. Lots of people resign because of burnout during their first working year.

    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company Culture

    Feb 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing company culture and everyone is like family. Company plans fun happy hours and activities every month. They want to make sure you are happy working there. Catered meals, flexible work from home hours and unlimited PTO is a major plus to help with work life balance. Management is very nice and easy to talk to if you have a problem. They have the mindset of 'we succeed together and we fail together' so it is never one persons fault if something goes wrong or something goes exceedingly well.

    Cons

    There aren't very many negative things to say about SmartRecruiters.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Challenges in EMEA

    Oct 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Focus on innovation - Quarterly product releases Brilliant product management team Great implementation team Very reactive technical support team Very good FAQ/Well documented Help Center ... But only in English API integration helps 3rd party integration Overall good team spirit Remote work culture Customers in all industries and all company sizes ... but some too small to get real value from product Financial stability

    Cons

    California decision making center - hard to provide fast response when customer issues happen outside of US Shortage of resources in Europe - Recruitment plan is insufficient to support growth Misaligned success & sales team on customer strategy No feedback culture with teams. Hard to tell what to improve. Lack of transparency on strategy/key figures/finance Confusing communication/marketing on Marketplace Needs a brand new Reporting module All new modules seem to have been designed for US market only Lots of EMEA customers are lost with new features as product changes too quickly - Need a localized help center (in at least 3 european languages). Non US jobboards do not like principle of SR standard API so won't integrate GDPR compliance really needs improving

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Big ambitions

    Nov 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High growth with a lot of successes Strong company culture New Customer Success leader unifying the customer journey Outcome bases focused - wants to help customers drive value from partnership

    Cons

    Still some product gaps but they are a modern platform

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place To Work!

    May 4, 2016 - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Great culture - helpful, friendly, caring co-workers. 2. Appreciative - nothing goes unnoticed. If you work hard, you will be rewarded! 3. Smarts - Have NOT met one person thats not good at their job. Every employee at SmartRecruiters inspires me to work harder and perform to the best of my ability.

    Cons

    Probably just that we need to find more space for meetings.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good people, good product but areas for improvements

    Apr 14, 2020 - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong product and good momentum in the market. Strong teams and great collaboration across functions. Fast to improve technology, make decisions quickly and not afraid to test and learn. Flexible hours and benefits are decent for a small company.

    Cons

    For a hiring tech company, we should be setting the example of the concepts we preach, but the company is too busy selling the product to stop and take some time to appreciate and focus on its own employees. Most of the employees are remote so there is a less of tangible culture in the offices.

    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Quit Your Crying

    May 2, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exceptional product that is and will continue to make a massive impact on revenue for companies and quality of life for the workforce. I take pride in the fact that I can enable companies to eliminate the barriers to hiring so that great people can find the perfect job. If you love what you do it makes every part of your life better. Now that’s social impact. Enabling progressive companies to grow by hiring the best…that’s real economic impact. Couple all that with smart, fun, creative and hard-working colleagues this is a great place to be. Newsflash, SmartRecruiters is a STARTUP. This means that we are all working very hard to build something great for everyone. Please note, making a difference takes time patience and energy otherwise know, as work. The Management and Executives, in my experience, work harder than they would EVER expect of anyone else. The expectations at SmartRecruiters are far from unrealistic. A true work hard/play hard culture. Benefits are absolutely awesome for a startup. CEO is a true visionary who is accessible down to earth and wicked smart. Executives and management all have deep expertise, are accessible and will jump in whenever necessary to help you out. Again, what more can you ask for? If you have realistic expectations of a great place to work, want to take your skills and career to the next level, make great money and like being around people smarter than you that are driven to make the world better….get in and let's do this.

    Cons

    With that, I’d like to address some of the negative reviews. SmartRecruiters is filled with brilliant, hard working folks that are passionate about our mission. We are also a very lean, open and agile team, this doesn’t work for everybody. Folks that lack passion, energy and the drive to make a tangible difference likely won’t do well here. Everyone has different personalities, skills, wants and desires. For those who want to kick back and wait for things to happen, SmartRecruiters probably isn’t for you. For those looking for absolute perfection…good luck to you. SmartRecruiters for me is the closest to perfection that I have experienced in my career thus far.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Truly Horrifying

    Dec 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A very mature benefits package, seemingly fair pay, and the ability to work remotely.

    Cons

    Where to begin... - Zero transparency on decision making. Everything is top-down but you won't see any dissent publicly. What does that tell you? In response to asking a question about how some decisions were arrived at internally, I was told that at my level that's none of my concern, and the leadership team is handling it. - Zero camaraderie. Expect your 'team members' to constantly put you down, withhold information from you to their benefit, ostracise, and throw you under the bus at any given opportunity. It's every man for himself here and the people who want power/to climb the ladder are ruthless about it. Honestly, I feel like I've just been bullied since day 1. - No clear progression frameworks or opportunities for career development. I've seen nothing and had zero conversations with my manager about how to advance here since joining. (But that's fine I guess since I don't want to now.) - Poor or absent employee feedback approach. I don't feel safe to give honest feedback on my experience or raise issues internally because the people I'd have to raise them to ARE a part of the problems. I've received only 1 internal survey asking me for this kind of input and from what I can tell, it entered an abyss somewhere and was never acted upon. I never hear of changes being based on employee feedback or any mention of employee feedback being heard. - Management/leadership actively treat you like you are nothing (if you aren't among them). The attitude towards employees is that they aren't important and their time isn't valuable. We're just workhorses. Managers appear to be inexperienced and do not coach you - just 'watch' you and ask about what you're working on. They micromanage and don't know how to lead meetings. - Culture of fear and aggression. Every day is full of negative interactions, snobbery, and people trying to protect themselves at anyone else's expense.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Popular Careers with SmartRecruiters Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SmartRecruiters? Share Your Experiences

or

SmartRecruiters Photos

+ Add Photo
SmartRecruiters photo of: Lounge
SmartRecruiters photo of: Kitchen
SmartRecruiters photo of: Kitchen
SmartRecruiters photo of: Office
SmartRecruiters photo of: Office Dog Love
SmartRecruiters photo of: Leadership Team
SmartRecruiters photo of: Happy Holidays from Poland!
See All Photos