KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SmartRecruiters

Engaged Employer

SmartRecruiters

Add a Review

SmartRecruiters Employee Reviews about "leadership"

Updated Jun 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 133 reviews

4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
SmartRecruiters CEO Jerome Ternynck (no image)
Jerome Ternynck
109 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "leadership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    SmartRecruiters is on a great trajectory!

    Feb 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Best product on the market. It's exciting to be leading the ATS replacement cycle. - A very experienced leadership team that clearly has a long-term plan for the company. - Smart and hardworking co-workers that make a difference every day. - Catered lunch 3 days per week - Free snacks/drinks/etc. - Really convenient office located right next to BART in the FiDi

    Cons

    - Things can change quickly, but that's the nature of the startup life. - Long-term career paths are still being defined

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Right vision, right mgmt team, and right product.

    Apr 18, 2015 - Enterprise Account Executive in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is the first company that listens upward. Never have I seen a leadership team that takes feedback from the lower ranks and challenges existing thoughts/strategies to see if the feedback is valid.

    Cons

    No cons to note to date. The market on the whole is slow to adopt anything, even if what you are selling has positive ROI. HR is simply scared of its own shadow.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Market leading brand and culture

    May 11, 2022 - Talent Acquisition Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great culture - strong inclusive leadership - diverse teams - competitive comp & bens - market leading solution. SmartRecruiters is a company like no other. From the top down, people are supportive and empowering. The products are market leading but it’s the people and the leadership that make this place a great place to work.

    Cons

    COVID has restricted travel between offices and countries

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    RevOps

    Jan 24, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work, grow your career, and develop. If you are interested in Tech and HR solutions this is the company. I can affirm that there is a work/life balance here, the office culture is authentic, the products are state-of-the-art and leadership is genuine. SR has remained agile and innovative and the organization has continued to grow, develop and gain momentum in the recruitment software space. I also think the new hire orientation and onboarding curriculum were very effective in the first weeks of employment. My manager has been a great resource when it comes to providing me with the necessary tools, training and guidance that is essential for my continued learning, success and career development.

    Cons

    As a new joiner in a rapidly evolving startup; sometimes it can be confusing as to which other designated reps or teams (besides my manager or fellow team members), would be equipped to address other miscellaneous/specialized types of questions that are on my mind.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    SmartRecruiters Review

    Dec 1, 2015 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Out of every environment I’ve ever worked in – no leadership team has ever pushed me to achieve and then overachieve quite like SmartRecruiters. The organization is lead by enterprise software titans, that are young enough to know how to support the younger part of the workforce, but seasoned enough to navigate the choppy waters of the start-up sea. This is a company that is on the verge of disrupting a market that has been searching for hope for nearly 20 years. Regarding how sticky the product offer is - if you like how iTunes and other apps work together to support your music, you’ll certainly appreciate the SmartRecruiters approach to talent acquisition. My favorite part of about working in a high-octane fast pace environment like SmartRecruiters is that management continues to work on themselves. Most bosses I’ve had at other companies reach a certain level of proficiency, and stop there. This is a dynamic team that is receptive to change, and works with their direct reports to make things better. Chief Officers took the time to work with me to better understand how I wanted to grow my career, what projects I wanted to drive and own, and how I envisioned the future of our brand.

    Cons

    It’s important to be able to have a tough and candid discussion with team members. The best coaches / bosses I’ve ever had weren’t my friends. This place is no different and it’s important to be a tough minded, resilient type of worker in order to be successful here. Simply put, if you like to work hard and work smart - you'll thrive here.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Business with a solid mission behind it

    Jan 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company wants to make money but there is a larger cause behind it (at least for the CEO which trickles down some what to everybody). Great collaborative leadership team with high energy and potential. Amazing product. Truly disruptive compared to age old ATS (Taleo, iCIMS) for anyone who has suffered through those before. Good teams, fun place with lunches, and other team activities.

    Cons

    None that come to mind as such. High growth means a fast moving company, aggressive culture and a lot of work.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great start-up primed to take a jump to the next level

    Jan 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Amazing product. It feels good to be on a team selling the best product in the industry - Growing Industry to be in. Big companies are moving to better more all-inclusive ATS software - Great Team who is very engaged in the company and believes in where it's headed - Great Leadership who empowers their team to be successful

    Cons

    - Lunch is 3/5 days a week. - It's a fast growing company so there is a ton of work. It makes the job more exciting.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Keep up with the current momentum!!!

    May 3, 2016 - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SmartRecruiters is a great place. The product has come so far and the business is following right along. They have worked out all of the kinks you may have read here and leadership as his listened and changed. They have great people, building a great culture, and have an amazing product which is really penetrating the market. Keep riding the wave.

    Cons

    Recognize the talent you have within and move them up the ladder, some of your best people can take on more than whats on their current plate! There is not a total sense of transparency between departments and makes some feel out of the loop on how things are going/whats working/whats not working. Just be prepared to work hard!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Poised for Greatness

    Jan 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Strong and experienced leadership that has done it before. - Industry leading product that has serious traction in the enterprise. - It's fun replacing old and outdated systems that make people's lives hard (ATS). - Engaged and intelligent co-workers. - There's always something to look forward to (SmartRecruiters Olympics, happy hours, new office!, cool deals closing).

    Cons

    - Growth can be bewildering. If you're used to working at a glacial pace, this place probably isn't for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Truly Horrifying

    Dec 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A very mature benefits package, seemingly fair pay, and the ability to work remotely.

    Cons

    Where to begin... - Zero transparency on decision making. Everything is top-down but you won't see any dissent publicly. What does that tell you? In response to asking a question about how some decisions were arrived at internally, I was told that at my level that's none of my concern, and the leadership team is handling it. - Zero camaraderie. Expect your 'team members' to constantly put you down, withhold information from you to their benefit, ostracise, and throw you under the bus at any given opportunity. It's every man for himself here and the people who want power/to climb the ladder are ruthless about it. Honestly, I feel like I've just been bullied since day 1. - No clear progression frameworks or opportunities for career development. I've seen nothing and had zero conversations with my manager about how to advance here since joining. (But that's fine I guess since I don't want to now.) - Poor or absent employee feedback approach. I don't feel safe to give honest feedback on my experience or raise issues internally because the people I'd have to raise them to ARE a part of the problems. I've received only 1 internal survey asking me for this kind of input and from what I can tell, it entered an abyss somewhere and was never acted upon. I never hear of changes being based on employee feedback or any mention of employee feedback being heard. - Management/leadership actively treat you like you are nothing (if you aren't among them). The attitude towards employees is that they aren't important and their time isn't valuable. We're just workhorses. Managers appear to be inexperienced and do not coach you - just 'watch' you and ask about what you're working on. They micromanage and don't know how to lead meetings. - Culture of fear and aggression. Every day is full of negative interactions, snobbery, and people trying to protect themselves at anyone else's expense.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Popular Careers with SmartRecruiters Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SmartRecruiters? Share Your Experiences

or

SmartRecruiters Photos

+ Add Photo
SmartRecruiters photo of: Lounge
SmartRecruiters photo of: Kitchen
SmartRecruiters photo of: Kitchen
SmartRecruiters photo of: Office
SmartRecruiters photo of: Office Dog Love
SmartRecruiters photo of: Leadership Team
SmartRecruiters photo of: Happy Holidays from Poland!
See All Photos