KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SmartRecruiters

Engaged Employer

SmartRecruiters

Add a Review

SmartRecruiters Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Jun 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 133 reviews

4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
SmartRecruiters CEO Jerome Ternynck (no image)
Jerome Ternynck
109 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Now's the Time

    Feb 29, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company is on it's way up. They are growing with a lot of name brand clients and are a force to be reckoned with. Their product and philosophy is change Hiring for all companies that are open to being ahead of the curve. The people are passionate and believe in the product and it's future. If you want to be a part of something special and make a difference early and often, now's the time.

    Cons

    It is a start up, so you are responsible for a lot. It requires you to take initiative and drive items from start to finish, this is not for everyone. Leadership is swamped so if you are looking for mentorship, look to peers or second level management.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    First class company

    Dec 14, 2018 - Head of Marketplace in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Exceptional management team: they blend empathy and fearless execution - Excellent product market fit: It's amazing to be part of a success story - Best in breed product - Convivial atmosphere where people genuinely appreciate each others' company - Innovative: HR tech may not sound sexy because it's not, until you realize that innovation is celebrated at SmartRecruiters. - Great opportunities for internal mobility, - Loyalty: Though the company is only 8 years old, ~ 25% of employees have been there for at least 4 years

    Cons

    Fiscally conservative, and that's often wise, but the product doesn't rely on VC money as much as others in our space do, we grow with the growth of our revenue, which has been fairly good.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Exciting times

    Oct 16, 2018 - Sales in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SmartRecruiters is really beginning to accelerate away from the competition and continues to set the bar in terms of being an open, modern solutions that people love to use. The market is competitive but we continue to grow the team in both in Europe, US and now APAC and its an exciting time to join as we are winning more and more flagship brands who align to our mantra of Hiring Success. We have a real sense of team culture, a great employee brand and a strong sense of purpose. Our recent HiringSuccess EU event in Berlin was amazing and is reflective of the energy and passion across our customers, partners and employees. We are on a journey, the learning curve is still steep but we have many successes behind us and more to come! The product team have launched GDPR, AI and soon CRM and are full throttle with ensuring the solution in 'enterprise grade' yet still requires little or no training. Everyone who sees the solution is impressed. Internal meetings and communication is strong across the business now having settled into a good rhythm and this company still amazes me how people rally around you when you need something or are struggling with solve something. Senior management are approachable and open and there are regular events that brings the teams together. We have also built out a strong core of disciplined people in Europe who work together and help ensure we don't have any blind spots.

    Cons

    We continue to mature as a business, we innovate and take risks and change is a constant. Internally we are evolving quickly having internationalised, scaled our solution and also expanded our team over the last 2 years. It can be tiring but there is never a dull moment!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not a place for everybody

    Oct 12, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many of the people there are very talented in their individual areas of expertise. Office is at a great downtown San Francisco location.

    Cons

    The environment in the office can sometimes be toxic and there is very high employee turnover. For a company of it's size there should be more top down transparency.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Technical Implementation Manager

    Nov 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great people to work with! Everyone is intelligent and collaborative. - Easy internal mobility - Great dog friendly environment!

    Cons

    - Start-up so if you're not used to that lifestyle it may be difficult to adjust

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company, Great People, Exciting Future

    Jan 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great CEO and vision. He's a long time industry insider but has an innovative, disruptive vision. - strong leadership team. A number of recent leadership hires have rounded out the exec team. - great culture - fun, lots of transparency, commitment to customers, passionate about the mission, collaborative - product - very good, not perfect (what is), well designed, elegant, easy to use and configure. Customers loves it. - people - v. smart and motivated team. Good mix of more and less experienced people from inside and outside HR tech. - momentum - acquiring more and more F500 - F1000 customers, growth in EMEA

    Cons

    Many of the usual start-up things. - Less mature processes and procedures, who does what, when and how, can create inefficiencies. - Team is growing quickly, so lots of new people to onboard and ramp, process for onboarding at the department level could be better. - Fast pace of change, which is to be expected. - Office is cold sometimes :)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great coworkers, questionnable management

    Feb 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Incredibly smart and caring people. Employees are very devoted to the success of the company. You will find inspiration in others. - Salaries a bit above market for the company size. - Exciting time for the company - Great product

    Cons

    - A great amount of politics and leaders backstabbing each other. - Employees are simply resources that are being pushed for more and more for output. No work-life balance, no care about mental health. - Lots of great people in Marketing, Product and Dev left in 2020 (including 4 at VP level). That was a sign that there was something inherently wrong but nothing was done to course correct.

    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Not for everyone, but it's hard work changing an industry

    Aug 13, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team of people who are really passionate about changing recruiting. Management team with proven record building great software companies and are obsessed, in a good way, with scaling and process. Well funded from top tier VC firms. Amazing product that the clients love and is incredibly well supported. Cool office in SOMA, great location. People work ridiculously hard. Awesome customers.

    Cons

    Not a lot of cons. It's a typical venture backed software start up in a lot of ways. Working long hours, failing fast, changing a lot and on a dime. It's not for everyone but if you like that adventure and journey you'll love it here. It's not for the faint of heart or for people that can't take a lickin' and keep on tickin'.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great People, Great Product, Great Customers

    Jan 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Company mission is meaningful - People are smart and fun - Food, benefits and overall culture are great

    Cons

    None, I love it here.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Truly Horrifying

    Dec 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A very mature benefits package, seemingly fair pay, and the ability to work remotely.

    Cons

    Where to begin... - Zero transparency on decision making. Everything is top-down but you won't see any dissent publicly. What does that tell you? In response to asking a question about how some decisions were arrived at internally, I was told that at my level that's none of my concern, and the leadership team is handling it. - Zero camaraderie. Expect your 'team members' to constantly put you down, withhold information from you to their benefit, ostracise, and throw you under the bus at any given opportunity. It's every man for himself here and the people who want power/to climb the ladder are ruthless about it. Honestly, I feel like I've just been bullied since day 1. - No clear progression frameworks or opportunities for career development. I've seen nothing and had zero conversations with my manager about how to advance here since joining. (But that's fine I guess since I don't want to now.) - Poor or absent employee feedback approach. I don't feel safe to give honest feedback on my experience or raise issues internally because the people I'd have to raise them to ARE a part of the problems. I've received only 1 internal survey asking me for this kind of input and from what I can tell, it entered an abyss somewhere and was never acted upon. I never hear of changes being based on employee feedback or any mention of employee feedback being heard. - Management/leadership actively treat you like you are nothing (if you aren't among them). The attitude towards employees is that they aren't important and their time isn't valuable. We're just workhorses. Managers appear to be inexperienced and do not coach you - just 'watch' you and ask about what you're working on. They micromanage and don't know how to lead meetings. - Culture of fear and aggression. Every day is full of negative interactions, snobbery, and people trying to protect themselves at anyone else's expense.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

Popular Careers with SmartRecruiters Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SmartRecruiters? Share Your Experiences

or

SmartRecruiters Photos

+ Add Photo
SmartRecruiters photo of: Lounge
SmartRecruiters photo of: Kitchen
SmartRecruiters photo of: Kitchen
SmartRecruiters photo of: Office
SmartRecruiters photo of: Office Dog Love
SmartRecruiters photo of: Leadership Team
SmartRecruiters photo of: Happy Holidays from Poland!
See All Photos