SmartRecruiters Employee Reviews about "smartrecruiters"

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 125 reviews

4.4
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
SmartRecruiters CEO Jerome Ternynck (no image)
Jerome Ternynck
104 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

383

57 Comments

Tech

207.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=SmartRecruiters~373233
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "smartrecruiters"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company Culture

    Feb 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing company culture and everyone is like family. Company plans fun happy hours and activities every month. They want to make sure you are happy working there. Catered meals, flexible work from home hours and unlimited PTO is a major plus to help with work life balance. Management is very nice and easy to talk to if you have a problem. They have the mindset of "we succeed together and we fail together" so it is never one persons fault if something goes wrong or something goes exceedingly well.

    Cons

    There aren't very many negative things to say about SmartRecruiters.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Not as it seems - Be Careful

    Jan 11, 2021 - Account Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hardworking co-workers that are skilled and top in the industry.

    Cons

    Toxic environment. The message from the CEO that is shared publicly is not how the CEO leads behind closed doors. SmartRecruiters needs to practice what it preaches as an HR Technology Company that is trying to set the example globally. Leadership is not aligned with strategy locally or globally. If you challenge, you are conveniently replaced. Contributions made are quickly forgotten as strategy is constantly changing. Global is not supported the same way that San Francisco is. SmartRecruiters has created an amazing image of company culture and support. It is sad that this is not the internal experience and management can’t be trusted. Each team is out to protect their own people at the cost of other teams and customer impact.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Being Part of the Movement

    Dec 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ever changing! The one constant at SR today is change. Change can be a bad thing, but in the case of SR...it's great! We aren't afraid to change course and adapt to our customers needs, industry needs and more creative ways to change the world of TA. We are in it together! It's a group of people that are all on the same mission. Everyday we come to work with the same mission and the same purpose. Nobody is inaccessible, leadership, product ,sales everyone comes calling. One team, one purpose. World class leadership team comprised of many top tech companies across the globe.

    Cons

    Product is still evolving. I list this as a con, because we have been on the losing end of some deals because of missing features. But the positive is the product team is really working to close those gaps. Marketing is playing catch up. SmartRecruiters is still not a well recognized brand in the ATS space yet. It's surprising with how many conversations start out with, "why have I never heard of you before?" All signs point to this being a primary focus moving forward which is encouraging. With some of the ups and downs, personally I wish the pay was a little bit more to compensate.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    The Best Only

    Feb 25, 2016 - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The working philosophy at SmartRecruiters is fairly simple: you do well at what your job (and exceed expectations) then it's all good. If you expect a micromanagement breathing down your neck 24/7, this place is not for you. If you have the discipline to work diligently and constantly strive for excellence, you'll fit in very well. My favorite part about SR is its company culture. It's very professional, but laid back. The kitchen is stocked with unlimited coffee, tea, variety of snacks. Catered lunches are delivered by Zesty on MWF. Also, team collaborations are a huge key of success here. Ask questions, be respectful, be a team-player: be successful.

    Cons

    Being a Series B Start-Up processes can be slower to be implemented, not for customers but the employees. Definitely something for the management to keep in mind.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great people, amazing opportunities

    Jan 22, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SmartRecruiters is a growing startup that is filled with fun, talented people working to solve a very personal, important, and difficult problem: making software that connects people and jobs. The company is growing quickly, so there are opportunities for career growth within each role and freedom to move around the company if you want to try something new after a while.

    Cons

    Communication from leadership could be clearer. The company would benefit from a stronger leader in the young People/HR org. Most people at the company work very hard and make sacrifices for the company. If you're not the type of person who identifies with that, you might not be a good cultural fit.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company, Great People, Great Opportunity

    Apr 13, 2018 - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SmartRecruiters, more than any other company I've worked for truly cares about their employees well being. They're incredibly supportive of personal growth, enable their members to be successful in their role and allow everyone to be themselves. SmartRecruiters believes that everyone is the CEO of their work and promotes autonomy within their role.

    Cons

    I wouldn't call this a con, but more so a word to those that aren't familiar with start-up environments: The pace and rate of change and growth at SmartRecruiters has been astonishing and with that comes a lot of change in process and procedures. It can be difficult to keep up at times as things can change any given day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Exciting, mature company

    Jan 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SmartRecruiters is at what I think of as the perfect intersection between startup and big company. It is stable, with experienced leadership, but not so large and political that work feels stale. Most importantly, we're doing something big. Changing the way some of the world's biggest, most successful, and most exciting organizations hire. We're also helping hundreds of thousands of people get jobs. It's a big, fun mission!

    Cons

    We're small, growing fast, and things change quickly. It can be tough to keep up at times. We had some heavy turnover a year or so ago, some of the sales team is new. However, the new management feels more experienced.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Quit Your Crying

    May 2, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exceptional product that is and will continue to make a massive impact on revenue for companies and quality of life for the workforce. I take pride in the fact that I can enable companies to eliminate the barriers to hiring so that great people can find the perfect job. If you love what you do it makes every part of your life better. Now that’s social impact. Enabling progressive companies to grow by hiring the best…that’s real economic impact. Couple all that with smart, fun, creative and hard-working colleagues this is a great place to be. Newsflash, SmartRecruiters is a STARTUP. This means that we are all working very hard to build something great for everyone. Please note, making a difference takes time patience and energy otherwise know, as work. The Management and Executives, in my experience, work harder than they would EVER expect of anyone else. The expectations at SmartRecruiters are far from unrealistic. A true work hard/play hard culture. Benefits are absolutely awesome for a startup. CEO is a true visionary who is accessible down to earth and wicked smart. Executives and management all have deep expertise, are accessible and will jump in whenever necessary to help you out. Again, what more can you ask for? If you have realistic expectations of a great place to work, want to take your skills and career to the next level, make great money and like being around people smarter than you that are driven to make the world better….get in and let's do this.

    Cons

    With that, I’d like to address some of the negative reviews. SmartRecruiters is filled with brilliant, hard working folks that are passionate about our mission. We are also a very lean, open and agile team, this doesn’t work for everybody. Folks that lack passion, energy and the drive to make a tangible difference likely won’t do well here. Everyone has different personalities, skills, wants and desires. For those who want to kick back and wait for things to happen, SmartRecruiters probably isn’t for you. For those looking for absolute perfection…good luck to you. SmartRecruiters for me is the closest to perfection that I have experienced in my career thus far.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    First class company

    Dec 14, 2018 - Head of Marketplace in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Exceptional management team: they blend empathy and fearless execution - Excellent product market fit: It's amazing to be part of a success story - Best in breed product - Convivial atmosphere where people genuinely appreciate each others' company - Innovative: HR tech may not sound sexy because it's not, until you realize that innovation is celebrated at SmartRecruiters. - Great opportunities for internal mobility, - Loyalty: Though the company is only 8 years old, ~ 25% of employees have been there for at least 4 years

    Cons

    Fiscally conservative, and that's often wise, but the product doesn't rely on VC money as much as others in our space do, we grow with the growth of our revenue, which has been fairly good.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Get on it!

    Oct 28, 2015 -  in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SmartRecruiters is a PaaS company that is changing the face of the hiring industry. One of the biggest benefits of working here is that you can get in on the ground floor and be a part of explosive growth. It's got a cool tech vibe with a gorgeous warehouse style office, great snacks, catered lunches 3 days a week, solid benefits and a clear vision of where they're going. They take a lot of effort to foster an environment where employees are accessible to each other. For example, the lunches are served in a huge kitchen with one big long family style table, which allows you to interact with other departments and learn more about what's going on in the company. This may seem like a small unsung hero, but I love how there's a cleaning crew and office manager to handle daily housekeeping. From stocking pantries to cleaning dishes and even desks, it's one of those things that goes unnoticed, but you have no idea how nice it is to not work in a cluttered dirty environment, like most start ups who choose to have the employees do it and then you wind up with dishes in the sink for days. Anyone's who's had roommates can appreciate that. The other positive is the accessibility of management. Yes they are insanely busy, but the structure is made up so that you can reach out to anyone and share your ideas and feedback, which is always welcome. It's important to note that this is an excellent career choice for those that are smart, inventive and humble. You cannot be afraid of feedback. If you're looking for someone to hold your hand through every task and blindly accept your ideas, you're doing yourself a disservice. Management is there to direct you based on their overwhelming experience that has led them to be so successful. Feedback is a good thing and it's important to remember that they want you to succeed, so they will challenge you to do your best and help you where you need it.

    Cons

    It's not for everybody. As a small, but fast growing company, you really need to take ownership of your role and bring the inspiring ideas that can change a company. While I've come into this role at a turning point in the company, it seems that the biggest challenge in the past has been hiring junior people who did good work, but didn't have the experience to be able to take the company to the next level. I echo the thoughts of recent reviewers that the reviews of the past should be taken with a grain of salt. Management has made an effort to change and it's important to recognize that things have changed and will continue to do so as the company grows. Yes you will work long hours, but you will never be bored.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

Popular Careers with SmartRecruiters Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SmartRecruiters? Share Your Experiences

or