SmartStyle "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

SmartStyle Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Jan 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
50%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
SmartStyle CEO Hugh Sawyer
Hugh Sawyer
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "A great company to learn from and grow as a stylist(in 32 reviews)

  • "Nice environment with a steady flow of walk ins(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Promising stylists full time then not giving them full time(in 55 reviews)

  • "you start at minimum wage and they dont give you enough hours to make commission(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "lot of changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Leader in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with the company 2 years, Been a stylist for 10. they have made a lot of changes, but the best he's been their president of the company and changes in corporate structure. they focus hard on education for guests, and stylists as well as higher ups. they have started focusing on hiring less, but higher quality people so 1 the turnover is less , and 2 it gives you a higher chance at building a better clientele. i came into this company from both rent thinking it would last 6 months, and 2 years later im a manager with no plan to leave. also the couponing and discounting has decreased so much, and is discouraged unless promotions are being ran which is awesome

    Show More

    Cons

    it is what you make of it. if you want to sit around and wait for people to walk through the door, you'll always make minimum wage. if you take it upon yourself to decide you're going to treat yourself like a professional and respect yourself and your profession, your ability to make 50% is easy even in a lower volume salon like ours. people will tell you the biggest con in smartstyle is minimum wage pay. truth is, like in any salon if you do qualify consultations, charge what you're worth, and treat yourself like you own your own business, the money will roll on a lot faster, and a lot easier

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    keep working on the path your on. i have truly been amazed at the effort you have taken to show your staff how valued you think they are

    SmartStyle2018-08-15
  2. "Horribly frustrating company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Glendale, AZ
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Anything considered a “pro” left with the old CEO

    Cons

    Just over a year ago Regis switch to a franchise model. This came as a shock and with no warning. Our benefits were stripped and most of us lost any vacation or sick time we had been saving. Regis Corp still has their hands in the company, much to its detriment. Haircut prices have actually gone down since I started 5 years ago, while sales goals continue to rise. The entire education department was let go and replaced with 2 whole people that take months to get out. I manage two of these salons and am still paid minimum wage. With the lack of benefits, lack of staffing and lack of overall care by the higher ups (company took out $260 mil in loans last year, but the CEO collected a bonus near 8 mil?) you’re better off finding a booth to rent somewhere.

    Show More
    SmartStyle2020-01-19
  3. "Improvements needed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff at my store is lovely. A lot of walk in clientele, some benefits available. Base pay is above minimum wage.

    Cons

    Hours are not set. Prebooking is difficult when you dont know when youll be there which makes it difficult to build your clientele. I applied to work in one city and they constantly want to send to cover in a different city I cant build a clientele in my home store if I am not there.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a set schedule of some sort. Sort out your managers at poor performing stores. They're the reason you can't hold enough staff. Stop sending employees from stores with better performance and a higher staff to other stores, we want to a clientele as well as much as were all part of the same group they are still competition.

    SmartStyle2019-11-22
  4. "Just find something else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hairstylist in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time

    Pros

    You’re inside Walmart and can buy anything you need there Some walk ins

    Cons

    Lowest hourly pay and under minimum wage (7$ an hour) No discounts at Walmart Tons of drama Unprofessional salon Rude clients If you’ve worked in any professional salons before this you’ll immediately view this place as ridiculous

    Advice to Management

    Hire experienced managers not someone right out of beauty school Don’t make people work when they aren’t scheduled and on the clock Don’t tell every client there about the drama with other stylists Learn professionalism or don’t be a leader

    SmartStyle2019-10-13
  5. "not paid enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Carson City, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    they have somewhat flexible scheduling

    Cons

    you start at minimum wage and they dont give you enough hours to make commission

    Advice to Management

    if you want to keep your employees you need to pay them more

    SmartStyle2019-03-01
  6. "Just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clientele, you can gain experience if starting out, tips

    Cons

    Minimum wage, Understaffed, won’t give you time off, and obsessed with selling retail more than service (combos)

    Advice to Management

    Worry about stylist more than making money..and recognize hard workers

    SmartStyle2018-12-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Stylists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of walk ins at busier locations, everything is provided for you, flexible enough for you to bring your own clientele and provide any services you do

    Cons

    Management and pay is awful at corporate locations!! No stylist should make minimum wage. Lots of confusion on pricing especially for higher cost services, sometimes there are issues with product quality or even getting products (color-old toners/colors or missing crucial products out of shipments like perms etc.), tools that are provided are really crappy

    Advice to Management

    Hire better salon managers, pay your stylists better and maybe turnover won't be so high. Also if your commission rate is going to be as low as it is pricing should be HIGHER. Stores are in walmart but you can only give so much of a bargain and expect quality. Our stylists are considered by many clients to no be worth the money because we're positioned in walmart as another bargain

    SmartStyle2018-11-14
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Salon Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salon Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great continuing education videos available on new trends

    Cons

    District leaders are lazy and will tear apart the business you spend years building, 3 different bosses in three years, manage for minimum wage, the more time you spend you spend building business and developing staff the less you make, kind of a catch 22 especially if you ask for a raise and are told to be more productive.

    Advice to Management

    30 years in the industry and I walked out after 3 years and 13 days of killing myself to build my team and promote our salon in the community because of horrible treatment by upper management and no raises but continually increasing job requirements. This company is nothing more than a training ground, if you're lucky enough to get an experienced manager, for better things. Regis doesn't care about their stylists or managers know matter how much they say they do, it's just lip service. Regis cares about money and shareholders and not much else. I don't just hate and despise Regis, I pity anyone who is still stuck there. Go to Ulta, go to a private salon, go anywhere but the minimum wage hell, even on holidays, that Regis is. It's not i st the pay, it's the company, the culture, the upper management that will continue to make this company nothing but a revolving door. They are a disgrace.

    Show More
    SmartStyle2018-07-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Very low pay, zero traffic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to do nothing all day

    Cons

    Minimum wage, no raises, poor management, you're just there to make money for the company not yourself

    Advice to Management

    Don't pay people who went to school for their trade minimum wage no raises

    SmartStyle2018-05-23
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Was a fantastic company to work for until franchised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Get paid hourly even if commissions not met

    Cons

    The atmosphere here is competitive, stressful and not teamwork oriented. Paid minimum wage and very difficult to actually make commission which is 38%. Salon usually has favorites and if favorites do something wrong they will not get in trouble. Stylists don't always do completely professional work also they need to be retrained how to properly use chemicals on guests. Management knows things are done wrong and they are waiting for stylist to learn what not to do after stylist makes mistakes on guests.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Retrain stylist on proper protocols, revise strategy to address acts of harassment and vandalism

    SmartStyle2018-05-03
Found 34 reviews