SmartStyle "stylist" Reviews | Glassdoor

SmartStyle Employee Reviews about "stylist"

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
50%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
SmartStyle CEO Hugh Sawyer
Hugh Sawyer
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "A great company to learn from and grow as a stylist(in 32 reviews)

  • "Nice environment with a steady flow of walk ins(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Promising stylists full time then not giving them full time(in 55 reviews)

  • "you start at minimum wage and they dont give you enough hours to make commission(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "stylist"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "lot of changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Leader in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with the company 2 years, Been a stylist for 10. they have made a lot of changes, but the best he's been their president of the company and changes in corporate structure. they focus hard on education for guests, and stylists as well as higher ups. they have started focusing on hiring less, but higher quality people so 1 the turnover is less , and 2 it gives you a higher chance at building a better clientele. i came into this company from both rent thinking it would last 6 months, and 2 years later im a manager with no plan to leave. also the couponing and discounting has decreased so much, and is discouraged unless promotions are being ran which is awesome

    Show More

    Cons

    it is what you make of it. if you want to sit around and wait for people to walk through the door, you'll always make minimum wage. if you take it upon yourself to decide you're going to treat yourself like a professional and respect yourself and your profession, your ability to make 50% is easy even in a lower volume salon like ours. people will tell you the biggest con in smartstyle is minimum wage pay. truth is, like in any salon if you do qualify consultations, charge what you're worth, and treat yourself like you own your own business, the money will roll on a lot faster, and a lot easier

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    keep working on the path your on. i have truly been amazed at the effort you have taken to show your staff how valued you think they are

    SmartStyle2018-08-15
  2. "works for some, try it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Abilene, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great place to start out as a fresh stylist. lucky to have worked with a good crew.

    Cons

    not being allowed to refuse certain clients. they could refuse you but you could not refuse them.

    Advice to Management

    don't play favorites. Everyone is supposed to be trained to do everything that needs to be done in that store. The ability for promotion in the chain is one of the key reasons to apply to SmartStyle, but the other members of your downline need to be properly trained. know your stylists weaknesses and train them to do better so they can be more confident and better stylists for you. Your salon is only as good as your weakest stylist .

    Show More
    SmartStyle2019-06-21
  3. "Its a handy place to go to after beauty school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Plainfield, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can learn advanced techniques and learn off of other stylists

    Cons

    The pay sucks!! And no one wants to do their job fully unless manager is there

    Advice to Management

    Pay more. Get better staff.

    SmartStyle2019-05-22
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked with my location almost 4 YEARS.. great way to build your business and grow as a stylist .. I have worked in the industry for almost 7 YEARS now and I have made more money here at smartstyle then ANY other salon.

    Cons

    No down sides.. when you work with the public you have to be prepared for any and all situations and handle it with a smile ..😁😁

    Advice to Management

    As the manager .. I will continue to grow with the company but also helping my team grow as well .. always pushing my team to strive for success..

    SmartStyle2018-04-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "A great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SmartStyle part-time

    Pros

    A great company to learn from and grow as a stylist. A great company that works around most things a person needs them to.

    Cons

    Promising stylists full time then not giving them full time.

    SmartStyle2018-02-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "overview experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time

    Pros

    really good pricing for customers products are include for stylist to used

    Cons

    prentage may vary depending on customers

    SmartStyle2018-02-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Ehhhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time

    Pros

    It's a pretty laid back environment, and it would be great for new stylists just trying to get some extra experience.

    Cons

    You're told that you'll make comission on what you do and that the least you'll earn is a base pay of $7.25, but you have to jump through a million hoops and have an insane clientele if you even want to hope to make commission. People very rairly tip more than $5, even for a full head of color and highlights. And it's a hassle to get any of your online logins once you just start the job.

    Advice to Management

    Be more upfront about the pay, and don't flat out lie to newbies.

    SmartStyle2017-09-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Love the company not the management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It pushes you to be a better stylist! I love the girls I work with.. I am the salon leader and the job itself is great! I love my guest and my store is doing great. You can build your paycheck by having a good clientele

    Cons

    The district leader is a bully. She runs everyone off. She makes the job miserable

    Advice to Management

    Stand up for yourself and your team!

    SmartStyle2017-10-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Employed for 5 months, NEVER made commission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hair Stylist in Morris, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle for less than a year

    Pros

    Good for beginner stylists to get an idea of salon enviornment

    Cons

    Expected to put salon before family emergencies, or family in general. Poor pay. Customers aren’t always nice or understanding. Huge expectations for poor compensation. Expected to make commission, EXTREMELY difficult to do so.

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge family emergencies, help stylists make commission and not feel overwhelmed.

    SmartStyle2017-09-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great stylists; I had a great Team!! They were all experienced stylists and didn't need me breathing down their backs telling them how to do things. Everyone co-operated and there was no Drama...until...

    Cons

    We got a new District Manager without being told that our former DM was no longer with the company. Regis owns SS, and they wanted us to do things that would have worked great for a new RETAIL store, or FACTORY, but not for a salon. Too much Micro-management. Unbelievable.

    Advice to Management

    As long as the shop is steadily increasing in sales (we were) and keeping employees w/out a huge turn-around (we did) and PLEASING THE CLIENT (we REALLY did), then we really shouldn't have to play stooooopid games like we were high schoolers, or straight outta beauty school!!

    SmartStyle2017-06-30
Found 32 reviews