SmartStyle "walk ins" Reviews | Glassdoor

SmartStyle Employee Reviews about "walk ins"

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
47%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
SmartStyle CEO Hugh Sawyer
Hugh Sawyer
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "A great company to learn from and grow as a stylist(in 32 reviews)

  • "Nice environment with a steady flow of walk ins(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Promising stylists full time then not giving them full time(in 55 reviews)

  • "Lowest hourly pay and under minimum wage (7(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "walk ins"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salon Manager in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great place to work. Great benefits and great walk in clientele to build from.

    Cons

    The ones that turned into tgf not so great.

    SmartStyle2016-05-25
  2. "Improvements needed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff at my store is lovely. A lot of walk in clientele, some benefits available. Base pay is above minimum wage.

    Cons

    Hours are not set. Prebooking is difficult when you dont know when youll be there which makes it difficult to build your clientele. I applied to work in one city and they constantly want to send to cover in a different city I cant build a clientele in my home store if I am not there.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a set schedule of some sort. Sort out your managers at poor performing stores. They're the reason you can't hold enough staff. Stop sending employees from stores with better performance and a higher staff to other stores, we want to a clientele as well as much as were all part of the same group they are still competition.

    SmartStyle2019-11-22
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Just find something else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hairstylist in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time

    Pros

    You’re inside Walmart and can buy anything you need there Some walk ins

    Cons

    Lowest hourly pay and under minimum wage (7$ an hour) No discounts at Walmart Tons of drama Unprofessional salon Rude clients If you’ve worked in any professional salons before this you’ll immediately view this place as ridiculous

    Advice to Management

    Hire experienced managers not someone right out of beauty school Don’t make people work when they aren’t scheduled and on the clock Don’t tell every client there about the drama with other stylists Learn professionalism or don’t be a leader

    SmartStyle2019-10-13
  5. "Good location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hairdresser in Navarre, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The location brings in a lot of walk-ins if you do not already have a clientele Management also works with your schedule.

    Cons

    Corporate bases hours given to employees on last years sales, which means that even if it is busy, the store may still be understaffed and hours will be reduced.

    Advice to Management

    Base hours that are given on how busy the store is currently, not on how busy the store was the year before.

    SmartStyle2019-02-18
  6. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always new walk ins, free stuff occasionally

    Cons

    Low hourly wages, commission goals difficult to reach

    Advice to Management

    Raise the hourly wage

    SmartStyle2019-02-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Stylists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of walk ins at busier locations, everything is provided for you, flexible enough for you to bring your own clientele and provide any services you do

    Cons

    Management and pay is awful at corporate locations!! No stylist should make minimum wage. Lots of confusion on pricing especially for higher cost services, sometimes there are issues with product quality or even getting products (color-old toners/colors or missing crucial products out of shipments like perms etc.), tools that are provided are really crappy

    Advice to Management

    Hire better salon managers, pay your stylists better and maybe turnover won't be so high. Also if your commission rate is going to be as low as it is pricing should be HIGHER. Stores are in walmart but you can only give so much of a bargain and expect quality. Our stylists are considered by many clients to no be worth the money because we're positioned in walmart as another bargain

    SmartStyle2018-11-14
  8. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Evans, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SmartStyle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment with a steady flow of walk ins. Convenient for people on the go.

    Cons

    Not the best at gaining loyal return clients, because of its location. People tend to look down on Smart Styles seeing as inferior because its located in Wal-Mart.

    Advice to Management

    Really there isn't any. My Manager is excellent at her job. She's always there when you need her and tries her best to please her customers and employees.

    SmartStyle2018-04-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Salon manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time

    Pros

    Product provided, lots of walk in clients

    Cons

    Unprofessional upper management, salary is barely enough to make it.

    SmartStyle2018-03-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Stressful a Majority of the Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good coworkers, walk-ins, free product, get self services done free

    Cons

    Upper management, rules constantly changing, no education, minimum wage, prices constantly changing

    Advice to Management

    Get SDLs who aren't two-faced and who are more approachable. When you close salons offer jobs to those who have been with you for years before new hires. Offer a better pay scale to keep the turnover rate from being so crazy and so your employees can have a living wage since you don't want us to have separate jobs to keep our schedule open and to get insurance. Money was a major stress issue while working for this company.

    Show More
    SmartStyle2018-01-30
  11. Helpful (3)

    "was great the first few years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Grand Junction, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmartStyle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great walk in clientele, comfortable work environment, wonderful options for continued education.

    Cons

    unfortunately management changes alot and lack of consistency with polices and favoritism is shown far to often

    Advice to Management

    consistency is key and making sure all stylist are on the same page with polices and changes.

    SmartStyle2017-12-04
Found 24 reviews