SmarterTravel Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
SmarterTravel General Manager Sarah Hodkinson
Sarah Hodkinson
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Additionally I really appreciate how work life balance is emphasized(in 14 reviews)

  • "not to mention you get the benefit of a smaller company but the perks of a large company with the parent being Tripadvisor)(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management makes decisions behind closed doors without consulting stakeholders(in 7 reviews)

  • "After the departure of DK (former president), there was constant structural change and people getting swept up by TripAdvisor constantly(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Great Perks, Great Work-Life Balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Part of the TripAdvisor family -Amazing and reputable brands: Airfarewatchdog, Oyster, SmarterTravel.com, Family Vacation Critic, Jetsetter, and What To Pack -Teams take accountability and are passionate about their work -Free lunches are served 2x a week -Sweetgreen delivery outpost on other days of week -Great office location next to TD Garden -Consistently have All Hands with transparency into how business is going -Amazing upper management team with easy access (no closed-door policy) -Dog friendly office -Unlimited snacks -Good work environment -Stand-up desks and Balance Board rentals (to work on that core!) - Summer Fridays -Happy Hour 4pm Every Friday -Flexible work from home policy -Travel stipend that increases for each year you work -Potential for Restricted Stock Units -401k Matching Policy -Partnerships with many gyms around the city

    Cons

    -There was a morale issue when I first started, due to many employees moving over to the TripAdvisor side, which can be seen as a con. However, management took issues extremely seriously and have implemented ways to improve morale. -Lunch options aren't always the healthiest, but I can't really complain about a free lunch

    Continue reading
    SmarterTravel2019-07-01

    SmarterTravel Response

    July 16, 2019Recruiting Operations Coordinator

    Thank you for your positive remarks. We’re constantly striving to maintain a transparent, collaborative environment, so we’re glad that you've found that to be the case. We're also happy to hear that you enjoy the office perks! Our goal is to create a space that employees enjoy working each day as well as feel comfortable. We appreciate hearing that we’re succeeding on that mission.

  2. "Great company - truly focuses on professional development of their employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Focus on the professional development of their employees -If you prove yourself, there are opportunities to move to different roles within the department -innovative and always trying to do things better and more efficiently -always something new to learn -great people to work with, company provides many opportunities to develop relationships with coworkers

    Cons

    I had no negative experiences. My only reason for leaving was a career switch to a career that could not be accommodated within the company.

    SmarterTravel2019-03-01

    SmarterTravel Response

    July 16, 2019Recruiting Operations Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. Our goal is to create a place where our employees feel free to share their opinions and ask questions to further their career development, so we're happy to hear that you found that to be the case.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Started great, went downhill"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good benefits and work perks

    Cons

    After the departure of DK (former president), there was constant structural change and people getting swept up by TripAdvisor constantly. The culture was adversely impacted as a result and led to even more people leaving.

    SmarterTravel2018-12-21
  4. "Senior Inside Sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time

    Pros

    Fun laid back environment with smart people.

    Cons

    Things are constantly changing.

    SmarterTravel2018-08-20
  5. "A great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clear ability to make meaningful contributions in lots of areas. Minimal red tape. Talented friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    Minimal red tape. Lots of different strategies in motion.

    Continue reading
    SmarterTravel2017-08-02
  6. "Great benefits, smart people, overall positive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Linux Systems Administrator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented, fun, accommodating and understanding people for the most part. Great benefits.

    Cons

    The days can be long and nights short.

    SmarterTravel2017-03-09

    SmarterTravel Response

    March 24, 2017VP of Technology

    Thanks for your review. We agree that the people are one of the best parts of SmarterTravel! And, while we do work hard here, we encourage a balance between work life and personal life. I’d be interested in hearing more about your experience with us. Please don’t hesitate to reach out

  7. "Best Company to Work at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Co-Op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Feel of startup but under a big TripAdvisor Umbrella

    Cons

    Lot of conventional devs sticking to what they know, not much innovation.

    SmarterTravel2017-01-26
  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer Co-Op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel

    Pros

    If you are lucky you find great mentors

    Cons

    Some teams do not have good mentorship programs.

    SmarterTravel2016-11-05
  9. "Great Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer II in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel

    Pros

    -Great team culture -Nice office -Good Tech managers

    Cons

    -Problems can get repetitive -Senior management can be cryptic

    SmarterTravel2016-11-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "The People Make It Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will work with really smart, driven people. It's a complicated, ever changing-industry, but you get to own it. The perks are great (4 summer Fridays that you can take off and they DON'T count toward vacation + a personal travel stipend.) Work life balance is AMAZING. There's a reason people start their families here. They want to make it as easy as possible to be a mom or dad and make a big impact at work - if that requires an unconventional schedule, they are ok with that. Bottomline: Even when frustrating things happen and we are short handed, I always stop and think that I really love this job and everything we're doing.

    Cons

    This company is evolving in how it make big decisions and keeps everyone in the loop. It's not great, but I still think its better than a lot of companies. Promotion raises are low. There are a lot of politics about promotions and when you finally get one, it's kind of underwhelming.

    Continue reading
    SmarterTravel2016-10-21
Found 52 reviews