SmarterTravel Reviews | Glassdoor

SmarterTravel Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
SmarterTravel CEO Sarah Hodkinson
Sarah Hodkinson
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "great people to work with, company provides many opportunities to develop relationships with coworkers(in 7 reviews)

  • "Not to get lost in the perks is the work, which if you like to solve complex problems with smart people is not much like work while you're doing it(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Senior Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time

    Pros

    Fun laid back environment with smart people.

    Cons

    Things are constantly changing.

    SmarterTravel2018-08-20
  2. "Great company - truly focuses on professional development of their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    -Focus on the professional development of their employees -If you prove yourself, there are opportunities to move to different roles within the department -innovative and always trying to do things better and more efficiently -always something new to learn -great people to work with, company provides many opportunities to develop relationships with coworkers

    Cons

    I had no negative experiences. My only reason for leaving was a career switch to a career that could not be accommodated within the company.

    SmarterTravel2019-03-01
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Started great, went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great people, good benefits and work perks

    Cons

    After the departure of DK (former president), there was constant structural change and people getting swept up by TripAdvisor constantly. The culture was adversely impacted as a result and led to even more people leaving.

    SmarterTravel2018-12-21
  4. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Clear ability to make meaningful contributions in lots of areas. Minimal red tape. Talented friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    Minimal red tape. Lots of different strategies in motion.

    Advice to Management

    Continue empowering the team to deliver results.

    SmarterTravel2017-08-02
  5. "Great benefits, smart people, overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Linux Systems Administrator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Talented, fun, accommodating and understanding people for the most part. Great benefits.

    Cons

    The days can be long and nights short.

    SmarterTravel2017-03-09

    SmarterTravel Response

    March 24, 2017VP of Technology

    Thanks for your review. We agree that the people are one of the best parts of SmarterTravel! And, while we do work hard here, we encourage a balance between work life and personal life. I’d be interested in hearing more about your experience with us. Please don’t hesitate to reach ...

    Show More
  6. "Best Company to Work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Co-Op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Feel of startup but under a big TripAdvisor Umbrella

    Cons

    Lot of conventional devs sticking to what they know, not much innovation.

    SmarterTravel2017-01-26
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Co-Op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel

    Pros

    If you are lucky you find great mentors

    Cons

    Some teams do not have good mentorship programs.

    SmarterTravel2016-11-05
  8. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer II in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel

    Pros

    -Great team culture -Nice office -Good Tech managers

    Cons

    -Problems can get repetitive -Senior management can be cryptic

    SmarterTravel2016-11-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "The People Make It Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You will work with really smart, driven people. It's a complicated, ever changing-industry, but you get to own it. The perks are great (4 summer Fridays that you can take off and they DON'T count toward vacation + a personal travel stipend.) Work life balance is AMAZING. There's a reason people start their families here. They want to make it as easy as possible to be a mom or dad and make a big impact at work - if that...

    Show More

    Cons

    This company is evolving in how it make big decisions and keeps everyone in the loop. It's not great, but I still think its better than a lot of companies. Promotion raises are low. There are a lot of politics about promotions and when you finally get one, it's kind of underwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    More group motivation. Rally people around a single specific initiative

    SmarterTravel2016-10-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great new place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Ewing, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers who really care about their employees happiness

    Cons

    Slight commute, but the people and enviroment make it worthwhile

    SmarterTravel2016-09-08
Found 50 reviews