Cover image for Smartsheet
Logo
See All Photos

Smartsheet

Engaged Employer

Smartsheet

Add a Review

Smartsheet Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Sep 17, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 679 of over 680 reviews
4.1
84% Recommend to a Friend
Smartsheet CEO Mark Mader
88% Approve of CEO

Found 7 of over 680 reviews

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Smartsheet CEO Mark Mader
Mark Mader
490 Ratings

What people are saying about Smartsheet

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Smartsheet? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Smartsheet employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "When I joined Smartsheet I felt SO much pride and appreciation to be a part of such a great company and culture.(in 61 reviews)
  • "Benefits are good(in 60 reviews)
  • "The people are great and I love that we are a fast moving organization.(in 54 reviews)
  • "learned about good discovery from great leadership in one of my first few jobs in sales.(in 51 reviews)
  • "Great work/life balance(in 31 reviews)
Cons
  • "Pay could be better across all roles(in 16 reviews)
  • "No diversity in many different aspects includinig personality.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Smartsheet isn't starting their 401k matching program until April 2020.(in 6 reviews)
  • "No 401k match at the moment is a disadvantage compared to other software companies around the area.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Toxic work culture(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Smartsheet and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Smartsheet puts our people first!

    Mar 28, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smartsheet cares about our people, first - that has been apparent to me since the start. This sentiment and environment is driven from the top down. As someone who is highly motivated to work harder when surrounded by a team of supportive and innovative teammates, this is what drew me to Smartsheet 1.5+ years ago, and what has kept me here. I had the unique opportunity to help build our first regional office in Boston; our leadership team here worked hard to ensure that culture of putting our people first spread as we expanded East. Our customers are delightful and that makes our jobs easier to delight them. When you have a strong and flexible product, it makes the job of the Customer Success team that much easier to champion. When we find opportunities to evolve our product, our Product and Engineering teams value the Voice of the Customer and work hard to find ways to grow the product with our customers' growing business needs. Our employees also have an allowance towards Professional Development, which enables us as leaders to attract and retain top talent.

    Cons

    Rapid growth has meant that we have to continue to iterate on processes to provide the framework to support our growing customer base and product. The opportunity to support this maturity is exciting and can be rewarding, and it can also present growing pains. On most days, it's one of the greatest things about Smartsheet, as it inspires us to continue to learn and grow alongside our organization.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I wouldn't leave even for double the pay... I love this place

    Jul 21, 2021 - Client Development Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great learning and development, customers love the product, my leadership gives me tons of support to try new things and be independent but are immediately accessible if I need help. There are tons of growth opportunities in several departments. In my current role, I frequently have recruiters reach out on linked in and occasionally will do the interview just to stay fresh on what's out there. 9/10 times the total comp is 70% tops of what my current earnings are. The salary is good, commissions are generous, lots of stock at year-end, ESPP, 401k match, L&D budgets, insurance provided, and more vacation than I have ever even wanted to use. Hindsight being 20/20 I can't believe I even bothered applying for other companies years ago.

    Cons

    When a team grows so fast like Smartsheeet it's like a toddler learning to walk with some of the internal processes which are just natural growing pains. The hardest part of my job is that customers love Smartsheeet and want to connect to talk about it as often as possible which means I have to be intentional with my time and making sure I have time to do my actual sales job not just experimenting and collaborating with customers.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Smartsheet team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    6 month recap

    Dec 7, 2018 - Sales Development Representative in Bellevue, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The energy here is incredible. Everyone has so much passion for the product and for each other's success. Help is always around the corner and easy to find, new ideas are always welcome, your voice feels heard, and you're encouraged to be the best version of yourself both inside and outside of work.

    Cons

    As with any scaling business, there are growing pains, but leadership makes an effort to get feedback from all departments and employees on how to maintain culture and values.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company and Product!

    Aug 10, 2021 - Commercial Sales Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The product is great and continues to improve over time. We invest heavily into making a product our customers love. Because the software is so flexible, there's a lot of opportunity to have different and interesting conversations with multiple departments for multiple use cases, which will be great experience for future opportunities and growth. Above all, the people here are great!

    Cons

    The company has been growing rapidly and, with that, comes some growing pains when building more mature processes and adding new application in our internal environments. The learning curve and impediments along that journey can be an added challenges to the daily routine.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work!

    Jul 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong leadership, talented co-workers, great product, collaborative environment.

    Cons

    Usual growing pains as a company tips a certain revenue/employee threshold.

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun company, but not diverse

    Jun 23, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, fast paced-environment, fun environment

    Cons

    Not a very diverse environment, growing pains from being a start up, cliquey

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall love working at Smartsheet

    Jul 21, 2021 - New Business Representative in Bellevue, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home, flexible, good product, good compensation

    Cons

    management, sales training, growing pains

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Smartsheet Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Smartsheet? Share Your Experiences

Smartsheet logo
or

Smartsheet Careers

Cover image for Smartsheet

We empower everyone, everywhere to change the way the world works. Our Story At Smartsheet, our mission is to empower anyone to drive...More

  • Careers At Smartsheet
  • Our Values
  • Perks & Benefits
  • Our Culture
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Smartsheet

11 days ago

Employee Story
A staple of the Smartsheet community, each summer we welcome aboard an intern class that brings new perspectives and ideas to our company and provides employees with leadership and mentoring opportunities. Learn more about the Smartsheet internship program!
Shared image - An inside look at what it's like to be a Smartsheet intern
An inside look at what it's like to be a Smartsheet intern
www.smartsheet.com
See all

Smartsheet Photos

+ Add Photo
Smartsheet photo of: Smartsheet Office Space
Smartsheet photo of: Smartsheet Office Space
Smartsheet photo of: Smartsheet Office Space
Smartsheet photo of: Smartsheet employees volunteering at Special Olympics Washington 2022 Spring Games
Smartsheet photo of: Employees in Costa Rica representing Smartsheet at a 2022 Pride Parade
Smartsheet photo of: Chalkboard in kitchen area.
Smartsheet photo of: Smartsheet Office Space
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Smartsheet Job Seekers Also Viewed

Zillow Logo
Zillow

3.9

1,756 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 680 Smartsheet reviews submitted anonymously by Smartsheet employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Smartsheet is right for you.