Smashburger Front of the House Reviews | Glassdoor

Smashburger Front of the House Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
Smashburger President   Carl Bachmann
Carl Bachmann
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company/Great Co-Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of the House in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone on the team pitches in to help out new hires and give them good advice, during training they give a lot of information but not in an overwhelming way - they let you learn at your own pace: ask you if you think you're ready to try out the job or keep watching. It's fast paced but a lot of fun and the customers are great and you get free food each shift which is amazing since the food is fantastic!

    Cons

    Not enough hours worked but this was mentioned in the interview. An online schedule would be a lot easier than just a paper one.

    Advice to Management

    Try out online scheduling : )

    Smashburger2016-06-29
  2. "MEHH."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front of the House in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger

    Pros

    Fun environment, flexible scheduling, good food

    Cons

    no free food only 70% off or up to 20$ off, short hours starting out

    Advice to Management

    Smash it up!!

    Smashburger2016-05-02
  3. "Interesting, Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of the House 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome food, fun atmosphere, great opporunities

    Cons

    There is nothing directly negative about smashburger. Any cons with working in food (i.e. tough customers) applies.

    Smashburger2016-04-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front of the House in Houston, TX

    I worked at Smashburger

    Pros

    -Excellent team environment -Decent job for decent pay -Opportunities to move up

    Cons

    -Secret shoppers every other week

    Smashburger2015-12-14
  5. Helpful (4)

    "i work for smash burger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of the House in North Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    not many i been there a year and still no raise. they lied on frobes magazine and said we make 9/Hr. i make 8.25

    Cons

    does not care for its employees hr does not help. i have contacted them many times. the district manager also did not want to give me the hr number instead gave me the email address and told me he was going to call them and let them know of the email.

    Advice to Management

    cant advise them they wont even try to relate

    Smashburger2014-02-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fun environment, management needs work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front of the House in Fairfax, VA

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was decent, the crew I worked with was a lot of fun to be a round, the job was self-explanatory.

    Cons

    My hours were always changing each week, one week I'd work 10 hours, another I'd work 20. The managers did a really bad job of making sure food got to customers by continuously bumping items that hadn't been delivered yet. When the items were bumped, they disappeared from screens in the kitchen, so the food was never made.

    Advice to Management

    Wait to bump food until after it's delivered so the customers aren't waiting an hour for their burgers that were never made so you don't have to keep handing out vouchers to upset customers.

    Smashburger2014-01-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Dissapointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of the House 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice, friendly, and clean environment with decent food

    Cons

    Minimum wage, long hours, menu changes constantly

    Advice to Management

    Give consistent hours

    Smashburger2013-08-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "My Experience at Smashburger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of the House 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent hours : 20-30 hours Good job if you're in high school Fun environment

    Cons

    No benefits Work on most holidays Pay is very low Constantly changing their menu We used to get tips, however, that was taken away Management is not very good. I have worked with 3 managers at Smashburger and unfortunately all of them did not meet up to their title.

    Advice to Management

    I suggest that you should hire managers that can actually live up to their title. You also need to care more about your employees, they should not be getting paid so low compared to the job they have to do.

    Smashburger2013-07-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of the House in Elmhurst, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met some nice people through working with them ONE manager out of 4 actually cared about the employees and put them first

    Cons

    Sloppy business. I worked there from January-May and in that short amount of time i had 4 different managers. Also, we went from 16 front of the house coworkers to 6. Everyone quit because they hated it so much. The shifts are very long. Most days I would work atleast 6 hours, often more with one 30-minute break. Many of my co-workers were not getting paid the full amount, i.e. the back kitchen staff was to be making $9.75/hour and most of them were only making $9.00. Also, they jipped you of hours all of the time. If you came in to cover someone elses shift, they very often didn't put that on your time sheet. I had to COUNT my hours every single week to make sure that I was getting paid the correct amount. When I noticed that I was not making the correct amount of money, (was supposed to be getting paid 8.50/hour. My check said 8.25), it took them THREE WEEKS to fix it. And no, I did not get any of the money i was owed from that mistake back. Also, we were often running behind on orders (20-30 min) every night because my managers refused to staff enough people, even though they knew that we would be busy. They told me repeatedly that this was because of upper-management. They did not want to put extra people on shift because it would cost them extra money. And there is absolutely no way you can get a raise, or get any benefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Loved it at first, but quickly realized that management does not care whatsoever about their employees. Ended up quitting.

    Smashburger2012-07-10
Found 9 reviews