Smashburger General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Smashburger General Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
20%
Recommend to a Friend
Smashburger President   Carl Bachmann
Carl Bachmann
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    exciting and delightful! the guest love the food! great systems with plenty of direction..

    Cons

    it's not for shy people. we are literally on stage, putting on a show, every day!

    Advice to Management

    keep going! You're doing great!

    Smashburger2017-11-09
  2. "Introduction to Restaurant Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was a great job to gain knowledge of industry: if you want to see what actually goes into making a successful food business, this job will give the skills necessary

    Cons

    Long hours; and once you're on salary, no one cares how much you work.

    Smashburger2019-09-07
  3. "Not my cup of tea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Flower Mound, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great food and Independence to make it your own

    Cons

    Low, low expectations from staff that created low morale for those that worked hard

    Advice to Management

    Visit stores

    Smashburger2019-07-21
  4. "One of the worst place to work ever!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Do not apply nor work for Smashburger!!!

    Cons

    - Higher management only care about themselves and not rest of employees. - Corporate doesn't know what's going on all over those stores outside of Denver, CO. - Smashburger retain lazy, backstabbing, dishonest and disgraced managers, let go ALL the good ones who actually care about this company. - This company is cheap, not willing to hire replacement, pay very low but expect/force you to work 12 to 18 hours overtime. - All managers, especially salary managers are force to work 60 to 75 hours a week because no replacement hire, forcing salary managers work during off day or substitute "not fill" positions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of moles and retain good employees, staffs and managers. Smashburger was great place to work for but since "big changes" 5 or 6 years ago this company became a slavery camp or a collection of dishonest, lazy, disgraced, backstabbing individuals!!!

    Smashburger2019-06-17
  5. "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    General managers Are very well paid

    Cons

    Company runs a tight labor matrix that maximizes management workload.

    Smashburger2018-12-24
  6. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive wages. Attainable bonus structure.

    Cons

    High upper management turnover. Not easy to communicate with corporate office.

    Advice to Management

    Need to start training from the bottom line up.

    Smashburger2018-05-20
  7. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Saint Anthony, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team members. Attainable bonus structure. Competitive wages.

    Cons

    Too many hours. High GM turnover. Moved to multiple stores within several months. Rude upper management. Short staffing due to poor crew wages.

    Advice to Management

    Empower your General Managers to make decisions! Stop upper management micro managing.

    Smashburger2018-06-01
  8. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities are great and pay

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else is a con

    Advice to Management

    Very likely because of high turnover rate

    Smashburger2018-01-30
  9. "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time

    Pros

    Good food, employees discount , training for four weeks not much to mention . There is plenty of Training . The good thing the restaurant has everything you need to help you do your job.?

    Cons

    Hard working environment .GM and AM excepted to cover the hours in order to meet company quota, it means that you need to open and close serval days to meet the quota. Good Luck.

    Advice to Management

    Need to be ready for hard working environment, there is a lot of food prep no specific person assigned for the prep everyone help however it is all day work

    Smashburger2018-01-18
  10. Helpful (4)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My regional manager had amazing insight and truly cared for his managers. Good benefits and salary for the GM and above. I loved my job and my staff for 90% of my time there.

    Cons

    No work life balance, not nearly enough money allotted for hourly salaries to keep good people employed, you are always losing them to the next chain that would pay more. Ridiculous expectations on staff maximums on shift, even on busy days. Horrible business model of order at the counter, deliver to table. With the Staffing levels allowed it should definitely be pick up at the counter.

    Advice to Management

    Raise prices if that's what it takes to maintain a high quality product and pay your staff with they're worth. I was with the company for 4 years, and had no intention of leaving but I was so beat down by all of the hours and stress I had to leave for my own health. My regional manager left shortly thereafter as well and I've seen a huge decline in the company overall. Get back to your roots, keep providing a quality product, but you're going to have to catch up with the pay scales. Use a recyclable, tossable product to package dine-in food and you can save a lot of time and labor.

    Show More
    Smashburger2017-10-07
Found 67 reviews