Smashburger General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for General Manager

Create your profile to get personalized information

Smashburger General Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
20%
Recommend to a Friend
Smashburger President   Carl Bachmann
Carl Bachmann
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (4)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My regional manager had amazing insight and truly cared for his managers. Good benefits and salary for the GM and above. I loved my job and my staff for 90% of my time there.

    Cons

    No work life balance, not nearly enough money allotted for hourly salaries to keep good people employed, you are always losing them to the next chain that would pay more. Ridiculous expectations on staff maximums on shift, even on busy days. Horrible business model of order at the counter, deliver to table. With the Staffing levels allowed it should definitely be pick up at the counter.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2017-10-07
  2. Helpful (5)

    "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy concept to grasp Fast pace enviroment Opportunity to meet corporate Free food

    Cons

    Labor matrix is far from possible to work with. Constantly changing coupon policies which upsets guests and draws in more complaints. Food cost is constantly up and down due to getting shorted on a truck and trying to chase after the vendor for a credit or a system upgrade changing costs for weeks on end. Bonus structure - changes almost every quarter and you are not aware until a week before the end of the quarter. Working 60 to 70 hours a week due to either call outs, having to cover down time due to lack of matrix hours, plowing through sales forecast Employee pay is low so you'll get sloppy and unmotivated people.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2017-09-17
  3. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great new concept. Fresh product. Worked from 65 to 85 hours a week 1 and 1/2 hours from home. Promised close to home. Promised and told during the interview "we believe in work life balance". You will "always" have 2 days off and will "never" work more than 50 hours a week. Main reason for accepting the position.

    Cons

    Very tough to maintain staff. Especially in Colorado. Pay is not comparable to other, same concept, operations. High turnover. Super Strict labor guidelines.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2017-09-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment, good benefits, mostly good people

    Cons

    Labor is tight, Changes are frequent, pay could be better, training could use more structure

    Smashburger2017-06-28
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Restaurant General Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger

    Pros

    Food is good. Deliciousness. Good training program.

    Cons

    Tough job if you are lazy

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2017-05-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Great bonus plan in place, if you can achieve better results than previous quarters.

    Cons

    Very poor work/life balance. 50 hours required turns into 60 hours, sometimes more, if you're not one of the managers that just dips out during rushes (which I could never do to my team), Physically demanding, Lots of constant changes from higher departments, lack of consistency from District Managers, High turnover rate, Hard to meet labor matrix, Poor training in place for managers, Low pay rate for hourly employees.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2017-05-02
  7. Helpful (8)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Paterson, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent bonus program. Pay is competitive with similar concepts, but not for the amount of work

    Cons

    Horrible labor matrix. They just cut our labor hours more! Managers spend all there time in position; there is no time for any administrative duties. Upper management manages thru intimidation now. They have suspended matching funds to the 401 K. I think they are gutting the company to sell. They talk about great guest experience and serving quality products but it is just lip service. They have no concern about quality of life for any of there employees, only profit.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2017-05-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At beginning there were hopes to grow with company, but as the company grows they began to loose their visions.

    Cons

    Poor upper management decisions on finding ways to lead the company. Profit investing company looking to grow the company to sell the concept to make the money. Isn't jolee bee suppose to buy 100% of options once reaching 1000 stores?

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2017-03-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great product, aggressive expansion, good benefits

    Cons

    Micromanaged!!!!! Low employee retention, managers are glorified cooks

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2017-02-23
  10. Helpful (5)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    $80 monthly allowance to spend on friends and family

    Cons

    SO many.... poor pay, over worked, no support, incompetent people hired because the company barely pays their employees, dirty environment, no standards or accountability

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2017-01-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 68 reviews