Smashburger General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Smashburger General Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
20%
Recommend to a Friend
Smashburger President   Carl Bachmann
Carl Bachmann
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Unrealistic expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger

    Pros

    Great food with liberal culture. Very liberal

    Cons

    47.5 hour work week with 80 hours of work to be done. Upper management piles on work load

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2016-06-15
  2. Helpful (4)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They have great benifits and it is usually a fun place to work.The Regional managers put a lot of faith in the GMs if you are doing a good job but if you are struggling expect to be micro managed

    Cons

    Salary is a bit lower then other similar concepts but the bonus structure can make up for it although it can be challenging to hit a lot of the goal they have set for you.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2016-02-23
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger

    Pros

    There were a lot of promises that sound like pros, but it's hard to come up with something positive from my experience.

    Cons

    Poor planning from the top down in the organization.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2016-04-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Manager in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Product, A fast paced fun place to work.

    Cons

    The Food industry can be hard to have a regular schedule in.

    Smashburger2016-01-24
  6. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Manager in Collingdale, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Locations and customer base

    Cons

    I like the franchise group/owners

    Smashburger2016-01-13
  7. "Really a bad place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Lakewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, salary, and that's about it unfortunately. Wish this company didn't turn into a complete disaster to work for.

    Cons

    Upper management, corporate office, practices, standards, favoritism, lying and cheating gets you everywhere. Being honest and running your business professionally gets you nothing.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2016-01-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Work like a dog"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Restaurant General Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger for more than a year

    Pros

    Great food you will be proud to serve. Great benefits package.

    Cons

    Long hours, extremely demanding, no support in certain markets.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-11-18
  9. Helpful (5)

    "A stepping stone. Get the experience and get out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good quality product that you can be proud to serve. People I work with are great and work hard despite low pay and amount of work we ask for. Such a fast growing company there is opportunity to advance. Pretty good and attainable bonus.

    Cons

    Labor matrix is impossible, especially in lower volume stores. Managers always in position. Low pay and too much expected of associates makes finding and keeping good people difficult No time allowed to schedule administrative duties or non service activities like opening and closing the restaurant. Not very good base pay, for the amount of work and hours

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-10-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "It has been a good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training General Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Better quality of life compared to Full Service. Very easy operationally.

    Cons

    Lower pay than Full Service across the board. High turnover as a result

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-10-18
  11. Helpful (2)

    "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great bonus,attainable have made bonus every quarter

    Cons

    No bench need more manger in the system for new store opening

    Smashburger2015-09-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 68 reviews