Smashburger General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Smashburger General Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
20%
Recommend to a Friend
Smashburger President   Carl Bachmann
Carl Bachmann
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Company has huge growth, huge potential... And huge issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In its eight year existence, it's seen phenomenal growth and received kudos from big business metrics like Forbes Top Workplaces, etc. It's gone global, which is a remarkable feat, and the menu has impacted the fast food brand along the way. They pride themselves on having room for advancement, and their new TRiP training is designed just for developing ting mgrs into the next level.

    Cons

    The biggest issue is the caliber of employee it attracts: namely, fast-food workers, but for this fast-casual brand. Turnover and lack of buy-in have plagued the Dallas region, and the company as a whole. And this problem starts the downward spiral of desperation hiring and bad training, which leads to employees who bail out at the first bump in the road. Also, the pay is closer to fast-food wages, but the expectations for thre quality of food and service are MUCH higher, so there's a big disconnect. Manager recruitment has the same issues: the pay offered is way too low for the workload, so the candidates willing to earn that low wage ARE ALMOST ALWAYS NOT WORTH THE TIME TO TRAIN THEM. Good mgrs at the low wages are very hard to find! Which leads to a negative work/life balance for the GM, if they care enough to stay through those short-handed shifts and take on the work that the Asst Mgrs can't or won't do. Lots of high-stress demands on the GM, including from the company to "hit labor and ticket times" even when the staff is in shambles.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-08-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Smashburger for ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area General Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You can have a life. I came from fine dinning. Worked most weekends and Holidays. At Smashburger we can write our schedule so we can take weekends off when needed, Closed Christmas & Thanksgiving. When I started with Smashburger 8 years ago I forgot what it was like to have the major holiday off and spend quality time with my family. The growth potential is hug. I have one of my GMs how started as a GSE, moved to shift leader, then to assistant manger and is a GM for me.

    Cons

    I do not have any

    Smashburger2015-08-18

    Smashburger Response

    August 31, 2015

    This is wonderful to hear! Thank you for sharing your Bold, Remarkable and Memorable Experience.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "general manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Control of P&L, Able to run business as if it was your own. Easy to obtain bonus

    Cons

    Pay is horrible compared to other General Manager positions. Support staff at home office does not communicate with other departments causing frustration at unit level. General Manager's hours count against hours for store but GM is asked to get outside of store to promote sales. Last time I checked I was not in marketing. Company uses 3rd party for R&M, Service Channel, and they end up overpaying and using poor quality companies.

    Smashburger2015-08-30

    Smashburger Response

    August 31, 2015

    Smashburger conducts market analysis to ensure competitive compensation. Since we do encourage General Managers to run the business we ask them to play a large part in local marketing. It does mean they have to get out in the community and drive sales. Suggestions are always welcome to ensure managers have the tools to achieve sales goals. Thank you for your comments.

    Continue reading
  4. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun fast paced environment that rewards for positive results. The operations can be managed effectively by hiring and training the like minded Team. The quality of the food sells itself very well. The customer really enjoy our products over the "So Called Competitors"

    Cons

    Sales can fluctuate dramatically during the seasons. The fast paced environment is not for everyone. However, those who enjoy a challenge and a rewarding atmosphere do very well.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-08-11
  5. "Smashing oppurtunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - General Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger for more than a year

    Pros

    Advancement, Fast paced, flexible schedule, running your own restaurant, managing employees

    Cons

    Long work week, unrealistic expectations, high turnover, benefits, bonus structure

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-07-23
  6. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dynamic growing company that offers many opportunities for professional growth. Exciting to be part of building a brand, and expanding market share. No late nights adds to quality of life.

    Cons

    Must be flexible and adaptive to constant change that is always associated with a fast growing successful concept.

    Smashburger2015-07-07
  7. "Consistent company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I know what to expect everyday and there's always new ideas that are coming out. I have flexibility to run the restaurant like it was my own which makes it for more of an enjoyable time to work.

    Cons

    When it comes to labor, they micromanage you too much on it. They should let the GM who is at the restaurant for 50 hours out of the week have more of a say so on labor and forecasting.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-07-07
  8. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smashburger is a fun, fast paced environment. If you like working with people and serving amazing food that you can stand behind, then this is the place for you! This is also a great place to grow. In the few months I have been running this location we have promoted to 2 Guest Service Experts to Shift Lead with more promotions to come in the next few months.

    Cons

    There are not many cons. If you have food service experience, you understand the daily struggles a restaurant has, but with a positive team, we make it through all issues and continue to have fun.

    Smashburger2015-06-29
  9. "GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger

    Pros

    Company is growing fast and looking for alot of great new talent. Great 401k and opportunity to grow with a great company. Fun place to work.

    Cons

    Its alot work but its pays off.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-06-30
  10. "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Pelham Manor, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company keeps you on your toes, you take ownership of it.

    Cons

    long hours, you have to be

    Smashburger2015-06-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 68 reviews