Smashburger Grill Cook Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Grill Cook

Smashburger Grill Cook Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
78%
Recommend to a Friend
Smashburger President   Carl Bachmann
Carl Bachmann
0 Rating
  1. "Cook, Table waiter, Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member/Grill Cook in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    loves to work with costumer has great social ability's and loves over nights.

    Cons

    afternoon rushes can be really tough on the cooks, and closing is a lot of work and super messy.

    Advice to Management

    I am super eager to work here and will be really reliable considering i live right across the street, I promise to give my best efforts when working this job.

    Smashburger2017-10-18
  2. "Lead grill cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member/Grill Cook in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free meals, flexible schedule if in school or have a second job

    Cons

    Terrible management and upper management

    Smashburger2018-08-28
  3. "grill cook prep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grill Cook in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    enjoyed co-workers fast pace liked job

    Cons

    to many management changes in a year

    Advice to Management

    know the job

    Smashburger2017-06-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not so great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member/Grill Cook in Bossier City, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not a very strict work environment, mostly because it isn't a Corporate store. Great place to meet new people and make friends (Co-workers and customers.)

    Cons

    The store owner hardly comes in and is stingy with the money, not taking good care of the store.

    Advice to Management

    Watch what your employees do.

    Smashburger2016-06-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grill Cook in West Haven, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work in growth within the company

    Cons

    The pay is not great with the experience that I have need more money want you to bust your tail for minimum wage

    Advice to Management

    Give raises

    Smashburger2016-04-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "terrible policies. Impossible duties"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grill Cook in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    air conditioning, half-off decent burgers, its easy to quit

    Cons

    the back of house work is literally impossible to accomplish with how they make the schedule. here are the duties I am expected to complete from 10pm-10:30pm: Wash, stack, and dry 3 sinks complletely full of dishes. Clean, wash and dry 10 vents. Sweep the kitchen. restock the line, deck scrub and squeegee the floors. Cover the line with lids/cling-wrap. Refill the sauces and clean the lids. line all of the trays. make sure equipment is turned off and clean. Take out the laundry. take out the trash. Clean out the sinks, dry off the make table. Restock cups and lids. Wash all of the front of house dishes (like tea containers and icecream stuff). Meanwhile, the front of house people are talking on the phone wiping off tables getting paid the exact same wages as me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Adjust labor to schedule your workers more hours. McDonalds is a way easier job and they literally treat their employees better and keep their restaurants better staffed.

    Smashburger2015-07-03
  7. "One of the better casual dining places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grill Cook in Blue Ash, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a cook you are rewarded for your extra effort. I received a 10 cent bonus for every order that was ready in under three minutes. It is a well organized chain as well, so workdays are pretty steady and orderly.

    Cons

    It's food service so there are always problems with customer communication and other food service related difficulties.

    Smashburger2015-01-29
  8. Helpful (3)

    "High school student or looking for extra cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grill Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger part-time

    Pros

    Great to get exposed to kitchen enviorment friendly co-workers alot of funny moment pretty easy , alot of common sense thing

    Cons

    low pay (rasises and time and half seem nonexistent) managment always cutting hours down time may be fill with tedious work that may seem extreme/out of job description mamagment lack communitcation skill when dealing with employees it more like a one way street , how can you refuse right ? lacks internal structure , no one has a set job , you do everything , free for all when a rush hits if your a college student be prepared to be thrown in a very controling enviroment with a lack of training

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    the business seem great from behind the kitchen windown , give it to someone who care about employees and the customers and not just cutting cost , maybe try appleaing to college student whos want to work hard and make a good earning

    Smashburger2015-01-06
Found 8 reviews