Smashburger Guest Service Expert Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Guest Service Expert

Smashburger Guest Service Expert Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
1%
Recommend to a Friend
Smashburger President   Carl Bachmann
Carl Bachmann
0 Rating
  1. "Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Guest Service Expert in Denver, CO

    I worked at Smashburger for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, general manager, and regional district manager. Fun environment, and everyone was super nice.

    Cons

    You get some rude people once in awhile

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Smashburger2015-05-27
  2. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Expert in Buena Park, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    they have a very flexible schedule

    Cons

    not enough pay for work or pay with different positions

    Smashburger2019-07-26
  3. "Needs Restructuring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Expert in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive colleagues with great teamwork practices - Some managers at my location recognized hard-working employees through the provision of gold-star pins & badges, which I really appreciated - Having shift leads and assistant managers that were people of color! - Met some great people and customers, who I still keep in touch with - My workplace was within walking distance of my school

    Cons

    - GSEs, cooks and managers were not paid a liveable $15/hr wage (similar restaurants pay as high as $10-$12/hr) - Needs more diverse and proactive hiring practices: when I worked there, all hired GSEs at my location were female and I'm not sure why (I remember this because I looked at the entire public roster of hired employees at my location periodically & all the GSEs were female) - Lack of promotion from within the company: I was actively prevented from moving up the managerial ladder long before I left, despite all the hard work and effort I put into my role, without ever complaining. I was not even permitted to transfer to a Smashburger location closer to home after I completed school. - Provision of more scheduled hours appeared to fall more along lines of favoritism (in my opinion) - Lack of college scholarship opportunities for current employees at the time - No free meals during long shifts for GSEs (exceptions to this rule were only made by manager on duty) is inhumane, when many other companies do this bare minimum for their staff - Staff are not permitted to accept tips from customers, according to their contract - My complaints and evidenced concerns were met with some hostility by management at times

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This applies more to those at the corporate/executive level but treating your employees well = good business. Prioritize you employees, especially your managers and your GSEs. You have to, HAVE TO, pay your employees well at every location, otherwise you will lose staff to other companies. Smashburger is not the only fast food restaurant that has this problem, but compared to other restaurants, their hourly wages and employee benefits are among the lowest.

    Show More
    Smashburger2019-05-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good for a first job?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Expert in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Depending on the location, staff is really nice and sometimes your manager will give you free food.

    Cons

    Customers are really rude, don’t really understand that it isn’t fast food and can’t get your order out in time. Too many people scheduled for a slow day and under scheduled on days we need help the most. Girls (like me) are usually hired to work as GSE’s as the prettier and nicer you are the more you can sell, but it puts us in a weird position to get harassed by customers and can’t do anything about it.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to properly schedule. When it comes to getting harassed by older creepy men, give us the option of refusing service it puts us and younger gse’s at risk sometimes.

    Smashburger2019-02-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Dear Lord Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Expert in Medford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are literally none. I would say the 6 month raises but they don't actually do them. Or they do the first one and you'll never get another one again

    Cons

    Smashburger is the worst place I have ever worked at. In the Medford, MA location, employees would be hired and leave within at most 3 weeks. The turnover rate was over 9/10 employees. The only people who stay for more than a month are the managers. I worked here for 8 months because they tricked me into thinking they cared about me when they really didn't. I finally quit almost a year later and I will spend my talent elsewhere. Working at Smash was hell. Wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Smashburger needs a total management overhaul. Just start from 0

    Smashburger2019-02-20
  6. "pros/cons smashburger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Expert in Cypress, TX

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fairly easy job-straightforward to take orders/clean, smaller restaurant so less space to take care of

    Cons

    boss not super accommodating for hours, kind of slow sometimes, if kitchen is slow then cashier will be blamed

    Smashburger2018-12-26
  7. "OK first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Guest Service Expert 

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Variety of experiences, learn valuable skills in customer service, easy to get in touch with corporate

    Cons

    Incompetent/oft-shifting management that necessitated getting in touch with corporate in the first place

    Smashburger2018-10-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Expert in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great food, employees are nice people, managers are nice too

    Cons

    The management is terrible at staffing the restaurant. Employees are always understaffed, or are not briefed on new items.

    Advice to Management

    Allow budget to account for more employees to be on the floor at once.

    Smashburger2018-09-03
  9. Helpful (5)

    "GSE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Expert/Cook in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good community, and many possibilities for promotion if you can handle the hours. Work ethic tends to be high, and low performers got kicked out relatively quickly. Compared to McDonalds, plenty of time to rest.

    Cons

    If you intend to rise in the company ranks at any level, be prepared to work a terrifying amount of hours. If you are promoted to Assistant Manager, take hourly pay rather than salary - you will be working 50-60 hours a week. General Managers are salary only, and tend to work even more. The labor matrix is decided by people who only look at statistics - they have no idea what makes the store work, or how the store got those statistics in the first place. They just see the numbers and go "yeah whatever they can have 40 hours on a Friday because two years ago this Friday wasn't very hard". Due to the above problems, working the job can be very stressful for the amount of money paid. I was up there at $10.50 an hour, and even then it wasn't quite worth it to go in. It was easier than McDonalds, but far from simple. You're also expected to have a higher amount of personal responsibility. Thanks to the area I was in, we had a lot of very snobby suburban types coming into the store. Easy to handle so long as you know how, but if you don't expect a lot of trouble with them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop opening new stores all the time, for god's sake. I watched three solid General Managers get shuffled out the door just as they started to figure the store out, because you opened up a new one in the armpit of nowhere and they needed it opened by someone competent. It leads to an awkward atmosphere where the regular employees know more about what's going on than the guys running the store, and that is a terrible thing to have when your employees are kids. Basically you had high schoolers trying to boss around people who'd been in the business for ten years, and those ten year veterans couldn't even really talk back too hard. It completely disturbed the power dynamic within the store, and made everything downright stupid. It's not even as if the replacements were incompetent - they were just ignorant as to the intricacies of the store. And if you give high school kids a means to lord something over an actual adult, they'll take it in an instant. Also stop being stupid with your labor. You already make over a thousand dollars in profit most days, just add even five more hours and you'll have much happier employees.

    Show More
    Smashburger2016-09-15
  10. "FOH Guest Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Expert in Wheaton, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work is not too strenuous but keeps you active. Management works around your schedule not theirs. Employees are friendly and fun to work with.

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to stay past your scheduled shift if there's a rush. Sometimes customers get overly angry about something. You go home smelling like burgers :)

    Smashburger2015-08-31
Found 16 reviews