Smashburger Restaurant General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Smashburger Restaurant General Manager Reviews

Updated May 29, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
27%
Recommend to a Friend
Smashburger President   Carl Bachmann
Carl Bachmann
0 Rating
  1. "Impressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time

    Pros

    Very professional. An actual team of people all on the same page. Glad to be a part of this growing company.

    Cons

    I am not dissatisfied in any way.

    Smashburger2016-09-16
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Restaurant General Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger

    Pros

    Food is good. Deliciousness. Good training program.

    Cons

    Tough job if you are lazy

    Advice to Management

    More hours

    Smashburger2017-05-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good food, growing company with opportunity for advancement. Food cooked to order, everything is fresh never frozen. Free Manager meal.

    Cons

    Pay is NOT competitive, too many checklists, no paid holidays off, no holiday pay if you work holidays, don't accrue vacation until you hit 6 months of employment, labor matrix is a joke, 47.5 hour work week, restaurants are falling apart. Operations procedures set by people who sit behind a desk.

    Advice to Management

    Fix labor model, we are killing ourselves to cook great food, have great ticket times, have 2 registers open, run food, table touch, buss tables, keep a really clean restaurant. It's very, very hard to keep team morale up and create a positive culture when we don't get enough labor hours.

    Smashburger2016-08-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Work like a dog"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Restaurant General Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger for more than a year

    Pros

    Great food you will be proud to serve. Great benefits package.

    Cons

    Long hours, extremely demanding, no support in certain markets.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more to employees in the Bay Area so you can reduce turn over which leads to better food and service and will lead to more sales.

    Smashburger2015-11-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "general manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Control of P&L, Able to run business as if it was your own. Easy to obtain bonus

    Cons

    Pay is horrible compared to other General Manager positions. Support staff at home office does not communicate with other departments causing frustration at unit level. General Manager's hours count against hours for store but GM is asked to get outside of store to promote sales. Last time I checked I was not in marketing. Company uses 3rd party for R&M, Service Channel, and they end up overpaying and using poor quality companies.

    Show More
    Smashburger2015-08-30
  6. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time

    Pros

    Some of the great things are being apart of a hip fast casual company that is growing. Unlike other companies they listen to your feedback and try to improve. I've seen constant attention to promoting from within and this has given myself and my hard working team many opportunities. Best part is that you can stand by the food. Angus beef without any additives and fresh ingredients. Makes you feel good that you can give guests the best of the best.

    Show More

    Cons

    Service standards are highly important to Smashburger though hard to always deliver given the industry. They have a very "give them the pickle" attitude but the service part is hard to accomplish with a minimal crew. Challenging and fast paced, need to be able to multi task.

    Smashburger2015-06-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Restaurant General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot of room for growth. There is a good focus on culture in the company and a constant focus on positive feedback and solutions. Most of the people I have crossed paths with are solid restaurant managers and good people. The food is great and sells itself and is a brand I am proud to say I work for. My boss cares about me and tries to minimize any outliers that affect my ability to run my restaurant. I personally have adjusted to the way that Smashburger runs the business but for someone new aboard, even with restaurant experience, it really takes getting used to. The salary level and bonus potential are much better than average, especially for a fast casual bordering on fast food concept.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is run by a privately held company and the bottom line is the primary focus and hinders the focus on the developing of culture. It is a relatively young company and really switches directions very quickly and some of the decisions do not seem to be very well though out or organized. It is not a very operations focused company as the corporate side seems to be more important and really pulls operations in many different directions which ultimately take away from the employee and guest satisfaction. The two biggest areas of opportunity are minimizing the focus on labor and some of the IT issues. The labor is the tightest I have seen in the restaurant business and really affects hourly turnover as everyone seems to work too hard. Also, the IT issues are really overwhelming and happen way too often and with a lack of support and immediacy on resolution.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lose the focus on bottom line as the labor focus is a real inhibitor to job satisfaction and stabilize the IT department. These are the two areas that drive managers and team members away as key areas of frustration, even with the good pay scale. Also, make sure the focus on quality of life is there. It is one thing to talk about it but another thing to make it a part of the culture. The salary is solid but not enough to off set some of these issues on a daily basis. I do appreciate that it seems that everyone on the operations side looks to be a solution and would like to see the corporate side do the same. This is good brand to be a part of for sure and the misses are not many but they are overwhelming when they do happen and tend to not have immediate resolution. It seems the company is poised to sell and making decisions that best set itself up to do that.

    Show More
    Smashburger2015-06-29
  8. "I love the people I work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in Littleton, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people that work at smashburger is not only a team but a family.

    Cons

    Somtimes finding the proper staff is hard. Hours are a little high.

    Advice to Management

    I am happy on how involved the management team is when it comes to helping out and supporting.

    Smashburger2015-06-04
Found 8 reviews