Smashburger Shift Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Smashburger Shift Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
4%
Recommend to a Friend
Smashburger President   Carl Bachmann
Carl Bachmann
0 Rating
  1. "Great Management Team!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    “I love the people at Smashburger including my mentors. I have had many along the way that have devoted so much of their time to make sure that I was successful. The passion my peers and mentors show me is refreshing and it feels like a family. “

    Cons

    I love what I do and where I work and can't see myself working anywhere else.

    Smashburger2014-03-28
  2. "Maximum workloads, (key holder) with upper management responsibilities, underpaid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader/Manager in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours. Decent medical for the cost after 1 year employment; biweekly payments. Good place to learn alot in a short time.

    Cons

    Very low pay for the amount of responsibilities and expectations of upper management. The better you are at your job, the more you'll get to do other people's jobs as well (including the GM's).

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with management, and know what's in it for you. Get things in writing. There is always constant promises for pay raise or promotion with no ending results. Management is always "dangling the carrot in front of the horse's mouth".

    Smashburger2019-08-20
  3. "Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free/discounted food Fast paced environment

    Cons

    Awful management-specifically upper level So much favoritism in every store I worked in Management team never took me seriously Pay is just not good enough for how badly this company will screw you over I was sexually harassed for the entirety of my position in leadership as well as just harassed Such a high turnover Constantly understaffed-I always did 3 people’s jobs at once Just a hostile/stressful/lazy work environment I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees

    Smashburger2018-09-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Walk all over you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The employees/coworkers, and the regulars are the only things that keep many people still working there.

    Cons

    They are only looking out for themselves, their next bonus, and how they can save their next dollar without caring how the little people feel. They're about to sell and almost cut 401k match to make profit look better.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better, and stand up better for your employees, make your voice heard

    Smashburger2017-10-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work if you can avoid burning out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great, it's usually a great environment to work in. There are some benefits once you become a manager: vacation time and a 401k (they match up to 6% of your check 100%). There are opportunities to move up, I started as a GSE and have the potential to move up to assistant manager. The new management seem to be making some positive changes, but the results of these changes have yet to be seen.

    Cons

    Stores are not often fully-staffed meaning the staff that are employed are sometimes overworked and if someone doesn't show up you aren't likely to find someone to come in and cover. The pay is not adequate in my opinion, and this is why they have such a high turnover rate. People burn out.

    Advice to Management

    You need to support your stores more by paying the employees that stay a more liveable wage or else face the fact that your turnover rate will continue to soar. Also, hiring new employees on for more than employees who've been with the company for an extended period of time is creating a lot of frustration and discontent among your GSE's and cooks.

    Smashburger2017-01-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "This is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is great upward mobility, and one of their core foci is team member development. It is a great company to get your feet wet in the restaurant business with.

    Cons

    There is potential to be so much more. But corporate doesn't execute on it. Like I said it is a great place to get your feet wet but we can potentially push our people harder but don't.

    Advice to Management

    make the expectations on the store level more realistic. Some metric need to be tweeked and the prediction matrix needs to be fixed.

    Smashburger2015-08-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "great burgers crappy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shift Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger

    Pros

    Free food. Some great people and great customers. Lots of overtime if you have no life.

    Cons

    Extremely demanding for very low pay. Have to prep, work the rush, get food out to order in a short time frame while being understaffed. Little or no recovery time/ help shift to shift

    Advice to Management

    Pay hire wages to attract more employees, better employees, stop rehiring previously fired employees

    Smashburger2015-09-16
  8. Helpful (4)

    "No Bueno"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed that I had great co-workers, easy work, the schedules tend to be pretty flexible.

    Cons

    The management tends be very unstable, we also had 3 district managers within a course of a year. The pay is not great, the managers like to take advantage of their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers that actually care about the company, and that have a good background in hospitality.

    Smashburger2014-02-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good job to gain experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay (until they too away the tips) Good opportunities to move up. Great food Great and achievable expectations

    Cons

    Terrible higher up management. My GM was never around EVER and no one held him accountable for his hours and his management style. No AM for 6 mo. Regional Management should have been better on top of things.

    Advice to Management

    Keep better tabs on store managers, ask the shift managers how they are doing and how they feel about their managers. Bring back tips or raise pay. Pretty great company overall though.

    Smashburger2012-11-13
Found 9 reviews