Smashburger "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Smashburger Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Smashburger Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer  Tom Ryan
Tom Ryan
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good food, enjoyed the people I worked with(in 23 reviews)

  • "Fun coworkers, great food during break(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours, retail job, standing around a long time(in 14 reviews)

  • "Poor cooperation between managers, micromanagement, low pay, short staffed, lack of trust and communication(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Smashburger allows you to rise through the ranks given that you are committed and indoctrinated into the smash culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits. Lots of overtime pay. Opportunity to travel and work

    Cons

    High turnover. Low pay for Cooks and GSEs

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-04-03
  2. "Maximum workloads, (key holder) with upper management responsibilities, underpaid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader/Manager in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours. Decent medical for the cost after 1 year employment; biweekly payments. Good place to learn alot in a short time.

    Cons

    Very low pay for the amount of responsibilities and expectations of upper management. The better you are at your job, the more you'll get to do other people's jobs as well (including the GM's).

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2019-08-20
  3. "Severely Mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun coworkers, free food, scenic location,

    Cons

    Poor cooperation between managers, micromanagement, low pay, short staffed, lack of trust and communication.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2019-05-31
  4. Helpful (3)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Great bonus plan in place, if you can achieve better results than previous quarters.

    Cons

    Very poor work/life balance. 50 hours required turns into 60 hours, sometimes more, if you're not one of the managers that just dips out during rushes (which I could never do to my team), Physically demanding, Lots of constant changes from higher departments, lack of consistency from District Managers, High turnover rate, Hard to meet labor matrix, Poor training in place for managers, Low pay rate for hourly employees.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2017-05-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant in Las Vegas, NV
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger

    Pros

    401k, health insurance, guaranteed 50 hours a week, food is free for managers. I was lucky enough to have very fun and exciting workers on all shifts.

    Cons

    low pay for the amount of work to be done, staff always young and disrespectful, bonus a bit unattainable, health insurance extremely expensive with high deductible, managers expected to do the work of marketing? last I checked I wasn't in the marketing career. sucks the life out of you. no repercussions for bad employees. was told "not to cut hours for people calling out" which is condoning unreliable workers.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2016-03-24
  6. "Decent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger part-time

    Pros

    Laid back environment, friendly and nice GM, cool co-workers who were fun to be around.

    Cons

    Low pay, some very lazy coworkers, extremely busy at times, dirty kitchen, very hot in the back. Some of the managers were lazy and did not do their jobs.

    Smashburger2016-03-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Gse in Medford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger

    Pros

    There are no pros whatsoever!

    Cons

    Low pay for bust your behind work. When I interviewed and was hired I indicated that I could not work past 10PM, yet I was scheduled to work until 11PM and wasn't allowed to leave until 12:30 AM - all with NO break. Went through extensive training but once we opened and went live, was told not to follow the "script". Most employees are 16-17 year olds students that have never worked before and were forced to work well past their scheduled shifts. Those of us over the age of 18 are forced to pick up the end of shift duties. One Manager tells you to do something one way yet another Manager tells you to do something another way. This is the worst place I have ever worked in more than 40 years.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-12-12
  8. Helpful (5)

    "A stepping stone. Get the experience and get out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 

    I have been working at Smashburger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good quality product that you can be proud to serve. People I work with are great and work hard despite low pay and amount of work we ask for. Such a fast growing company there is opportunity to advance. Pretty good and attainable bonus.

    Cons

    Labor matrix is impossible, especially in lower volume stores. Managers always in position. Low pay and too much expected of associates makes finding and keeping good people difficult No time allowed to schedule administrative duties or non service activities like opening and closing the restaurant. Not very good base pay, for the amount of work and hours

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-10-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "great burgers crappy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shift Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashburger

    Pros

    Free food. Some great people and great customers. Lots of overtime if you have no life.

    Cons

    Extremely demanding for very low pay. Have to prep, work the rush, get food out to order in a short time frame while being understaffed. Little or no recovery time/ help shift to shift

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-09-16
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Home of the Glorified Fast Food Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gse in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smashburger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The mood is mostly relaxed if there isnt a huge amount of customers. Coworkers are often your source of entertanment and you will have more than enough time to get to know them

    Cons

    Low pay for expectations, Moving up in rank takes initiative and brown nosing, employees are expendable, short shifts or long shifts with many breaks, no incentive other than to not get fired. 25% discount if off, %50 discount if on shift.

    Continue reading
    Smashburger2015-03-04
Found 13 reviews