Smile Direct Club Reviews | Glassdoor

Smile Direct Club Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 291 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
David Katzman
195 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It is incredibly fast paced environment which can be overwhelming for some(in 14 reviews)

  • "Work / Life balance at times can be challenging(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Over the moon with SDC!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SmileGuide in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smile Direct Club full-time

    Pros

    Words cannot express how much I love working for this company. Since day 1 SDC has exceeded my expectations, from the onboarding process to training, to joining an innovative team that foster a system of support. The company also leans to promoting from within and that's a huge plus given that I see so many people getting promoted left and right. My favorite part however, is being able to represent the company when engaging...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only thing that falls short sometime is communication. The company is growing incredibly fast and there's times when not all the updates and implementations get reported immediately. However, I can see how much effort the company is making to cover their bases and they have an outstanding team.

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend sharing with SmileGuides information that is customer-facing such as promos, email samples, discount codes that might be active etc. There's been times when the customer knows more about a promotion than I do (even though I read all of the news letters and trainings) and it can be a tad embarrassing.

    Smile Direct Club2019-06-05

    Smile Direct Club Response

    June 7, 2019SmileDirectClub

    We are happy you shared your positive experience with us. Our team members are essential, and we couldn’t spread the smiles without you!

  2. "BEST career move! LOVE SDC!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smile Direct Club full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rapidly growing, AMAZING culture, endless opportunities for growth! Consistently promoting from within!

    Cons

    Change is constant and we move at the speed of light, so you must be adaptable!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your people and encourage a positive culture. This is what makes SDC so special!

    Smile Direct Club2019-06-05

    Smile Direct Club Response

    June 7, 2019SmileDirectClub

    We’re glad you have had a great experience working at SmileDirectClub! Every single team member contributes to the overall success of the company.

  3. "Making an Impact Every Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smile Direct Club full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Making a positive impact on the lives on customers everyday and seeing that impact on a regular basis. * Opportunity to develop and grow in your career. * Super fun culture and intentional development and care for team member engagement.

    Cons

    * Fast pace of growth. * Change is expected, so we adapt and flow with it. * Benefits are not stellar.

    Advice to Management

    * Watch out for burn out. Build a solid bench so the culture can support the growth.

    Smile Direct Club2019-05-29

    Smile Direct Club Response

    May 31, 2019Specialist

    We’re glad you have had a great experience working at SmileDirectClub! Every single team member contributes to the overall success of the company.

  4. "Best company I have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smile Direct Club full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture and Values, Work/Life Balance, Compensation

    Cons

    Take work home, must use personal cell phone for work communication

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to invest in your people! I value our company, customers and our culture.

    Smile Direct Club2019-05-29

    Smile Direct Club Response

    May 31, 2019Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive, and we know it takes time out of your busy day to complete!

  5. "Great company that focuses on always growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smile Guide in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smile Direct Club full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Travel, opportunities, pay, training is awesome.

    Cons

    Would prefer to work 40 hour weeks always

    Smile Direct Club2019-05-29

    Smile Direct Club Response

    May 31, 2019Specialist

    We appreciate your thoughtful words. The best way we can help support our customers is by supporting our team members first.

  6. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Smile Direct Club full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great hourly pay - not much micro-managing - flexible work schedule - Open on weekends, so if you are a student or have other commitment during the week this is a good job. - You get one on one customer service, and you get to meet a lot of amazing people - You get to change a lot of smiles, especially for those that cannot afford traditional braces - There is room to grow if you plan on staying with the company...

    Show More

    Cons

    - very number and sale oriented, which can put a lot of pressure on the individual - this is not a traditional dental assistant position( not necessarily a cons), since there is no dentist to assist. This is more of a sales position.

    Smile Direct Club2019-05-29

    Smile Direct Club Response

    May 31, 2019Specialist

    Thank you for leaving us this feedback. We strive to make our job descriptions as clear as possible and hope that our training provide clarity as well. We are happy you shared your positive experience with us. Our team members are essential, and we couldn’t spread the smiles without ...

    Show More
  7. "Mehhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Smile Direct Club full-time

      Pros

      Benefits/pay are good & the office is neat.

      Cons

      Parking/ long hours, you have to pay to park.

      Advice to Management

      Provide parking

      Smile Direct Club2019-06-13

      Smile Direct Club Response

      June 14, 2019Team Member

      Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoy the office environment . We take feedback to heart and we recently offered some updated parking benefits to support our team members. Please reach out to your P&O Business Partner to learn more.

    • "Basically a sales position"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Smile Guide 

        I have been working at Smile Direct Club full-time

        Pros

        Better starting pay than other dental assisting jobs

        Cons

        Hard to get a raise

        Smile Direct Club2019-05-29

        Smile Direct Club Response

        May 31, 2019Specialist

        We truly appreciate you sharing your experience. Please know that our People & Organization team is always available to meet and discuss any ideas or improvements you may have. Best, Madison

      • "Very fun and motivating!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - SmileGuide 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Smile Direct Club full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Fun environment! This company is always evolving and I love getting to be a part of it. We are always striving to give the customer the confident smile that they want and I love that.

        Cons

        I haven't found anything that I wouldn't suggest to a fellow job seeker.

        Smile Direct Club2019-05-25

        Smile Direct Club Response

        May 31, 2019Specialist

        We appreciate your thoughtful words. The best way we can help support our customers is by supporting our team members first.

      • "Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Arlington, VA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Smile Direct Club full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        -great pay - can enroll for benefits

        Cons

        -cares way too much about sales

        Advice to Management

        - more encouragement

        Smile Direct Club2019-05-24

        Smile Direct Club Response

        May 31, 2019Specialist

        We truly appreciate you taking the time to share feedback with us about your experience!

      Found 291 reviews