KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Smile Direct Club

Engaged Employer

Smile Direct Club

Add a Review

Smile Direct Club Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 730 of over 756 reviews

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Smile Direct Club CEO David Katzman
David Katzman
447 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Smile Direct Club and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Stressful

    Mar 10, 2021 - Senior Systems Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only Pro I can think of is there are some good guys that work there.

    Cons

    Poor leadership leads to good employees leaving.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Smile Direct Club Response

    Team Member Engagement Associate Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with SmileDirectClub. We always strive to listen to our Team Members. We’ve shared your feedback with your P&O Team and it may inspire new ideas to further enhance our Team Member experience and truly live out our truth #BetterisBetter. If you would like to discuss further, please email peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    All over the place

    Feb 18, 2021 - Dental Team RDA 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Community, pay, bonus, benefits, friends

    Cons

    No flexibility, micromanaging is so bad, they give you points for everything that goes against you, never actually spoke with a doctor and dental team is basically the doctor.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Smile Direct Club Response

    Team Member Engagement Associate Manager

    Thank you for providing your feedback. We are sorry you felt this way, as we always make sure our Team Members and customers are top priority. We acknowledge there is always room for improvement #BetterIsBetter. If you would like to talk through your feedback further, please email peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    No job security

    Feb 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent salary and benefits package

    Cons

    Leadership is only loyal to their bottom line. If you are not management, you are expendable no matter how well you do your job.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Smile Direct Club Response

    Team Member Engagement Associate Manager

    We appreciate you leaving us a review and are disheartened to hear that you feel that we do not care about our team members. No one should feel this way and we would love any ideas or improvements on what we could have done to resolve this. Please send us an email at peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com.

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not worth it

    Nov 10, 2020 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have made some really great friends, I was constantly learning something new and it paid pretty well for Nashville.

    Cons

    However, I now know the things to look for and what to avoid in future roles and companies. SDC is chaotic with too many people thinking they have the power to make decisions when in reality they do not. This causes a lot of confusion and rework. The company will tell you that titles don’t matter and the organization is flat but that couldn't be further from the truth. In my opinion, unless you are a director it seems like your opinion does not matter even though you were hired to be an expert in your field. Even worse, it seemed that female team members' POVs were valued less than their male counterparts'. It seems like there is no rhyme or reason as to why some people had to relocate to Nashville and why others get flown in either privately or commercially (pre-covid). It creates an awkward dynamic for those that had to pick up their entire lives, including families, and move to a new city. There are constant reminders that some people matter more than others despite them preaching the flat org. The company stated they were listening and learning back in June in response to Black Lives Matter. Their CEO, not even 6 months later, supposedly donated $100k to Trump and over $250k to a Republican Super PAC. As a public company, who promotes BIPOC in their advertising, they should have to address this if the brand really is trying to embrace D&I. Leadership is money hungry and doesn’t care about their customers. I feel that they’ve made that very clear during my time there. My suggestion for anyone considering a job would be to reach out to someone that recently worked at SDC in the department you are looking at and get their experience firsthand. Although, I do wonder how many people would speak truthfully about SDC in fear of retaliation from the company.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful

    Smile Direct Club Response

    Team Member Engagement Associate Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed working with our Team Members and are concerned to learn of your feedback on leadership. We recently implemented a diversity, inclusion, and belonging team as we continue to grow and learn. We have shared your feedback with the leadership team as we always want to be improving. If you have any recommendations on how we can continue to improve, please send us an email at peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com.

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Full of broken promises

    Jan 26, 2021 - Guide 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay...not many others though. Sometimes good coworkers. Could be a great career if management was not so rude.

    Cons

    NO WORK LIFE BALANCE,schedule issues, favoritism, get your hours cut if the manager does not like you. Guides start drama for no reason and result in getting sent to another store. wear make up everyday if not you will get your hours deducted and get comments made by upper management...

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Smile Direct Club Response

    Team Member Engagement Associate Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with SmileDirectClub. We always strive to listen to our Team Members, and though it’s disheartening to learn of your experience, we want you to know that we hear you. We’ve shared your feedback with our team and it may inspire new ideas to further enhance our Team Member experience and truly live out our truth #BetterisBetter. If you would like to discuss further, your People & Organization Business Partner would welcome the chance to connect peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Needed to move on

    Jan 26, 2021 - Associate Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers were amazing team work was fun. Meeting new people everyday

    Cons

    Upper management helped to choose horrible locations for new shops! Felt unsafe and was told I was naive while many times the CVS I was in was being stolen from and very shady people coming in.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Smile Direct Club Response

    Team Member Engagement Associate Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with SmileDirectClub. We always strive to listen to our Team Members, and though it’s disheartening to learn of your experience, we want you to know that we hear you. We’ve shared your feedback and it may inspire new ideas to further enhance our Team Member experience and truly live out our truth #BetterisBetter.  If you would like to discuss further, your People & Organization Business Partner would welcome the chance to connect . Please email peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Get in and get out

    Aug 2, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Antioch, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited Overtime, Benefits, Company Swag and giveaways

    Cons

    Sesmitic Racism, Nepotism, the illusion of a lasting career, constant fear of being fired,mass

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Smile Direct Club Response

    Team Member

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. In reviewing your comments, it feels like there was some miscommunication on our hiring process and points system. We hope that all of our Team Members feel supported and developed . As a development focused culture, we do encourage career growth across the organization as well as upward. We have shared your feedback with our training team so that we can continue to improve communication around these processes for Team Members. If you have any other feedback that you would like to share, please send us an email at peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    HORRIBLE

    Mar 29, 2021 - Market Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None none none none none

    Cons

    Everything Run Away Do Not Work here

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Smile Direct Club Response

    Team Member Engagement Associate Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We want to reassure you that our Team Members are our top priority and key to the success of SmileDirectClub. It’s important to show our appreciation to ensure all our Team Members feel as valued as they truly are. Our Leaders care deeply about our Team Members, and we’ll continue to find new ways to build a culture of appreciation at SDC, as well as improve their work-life balance. If you would like to discuss further, your People & Organization Business Partner would welcome the chance to connect with you to talk through your feedback anytime or email peoplesuppiort@smiledirectclub.com

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love my job

    Dec 15, 2020 - Dental Assistant in Corona, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay travel create smiles and great memories are created

    Cons

    Long hours Cold weather Away from home

    1 person found this review helpful

    Smile Direct Club Response

    Team Member Engagement Associate Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive, and we know it takes time out of your busy day to complete!

  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Culture

    Dec 21, 2020 - Dental Assistant in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay and family vibe, along with great bonus system

    Cons

    You record all of your appointments

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Smile Direct Club Response

    Team Member Engagement Associate Manager

    We’re glad you had a great experience working with us. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us!

Viewing 121 - 130 of 730 Reviews

Popular Careers with Smile Direct Club Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Smile Direct Club? Share Your Experiences

or