Smith Brothers Farms Reviews | Glassdoor

Smith Brothers Farms Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dustin Highland
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Bagging corn/potatoes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Smith Brothers Farms part-time

    Pros

    4 to 7 hour work days not on Sundays 15 to 20 minute breaks very friendly workers/boss

    Cons

    The barn has to stay cold so the crops dont get rotten have to be to work by Eight am

    Smith Brothers Farms2018-02-10
  2. "Good to be a Milkman."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Milkman in Woodinville, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smith Brothers Farms full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working as a milkman for Smith Brothers is a wonderful job. The company treat's you well and pays well too. And talk about job satisfaction. Everyone seems to love the milkman. Whether they're customers or not. The job satisfaction is through the roof. I worked here 6 plus years. It was extremely rewarding to me. If I were younger, I'd still be working here. Unfortunately, my knees had other ideas.

    Cons

    It is hard work. 200+ stops a day. It's tough being a relief driver, but if you can stick it out and get your own route? You're golden.

    Smith Brothers Farms2019-04-13
  3. "Milkman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Milkman in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smith Brothers Farms full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Base pay is high. A lot of freedom to manage yourself and make decisions. Middle management was amazing. Overall a great place to work day to day.

    Cons

    Didn’t receive a raise in 5 years. Early start time. Condescending upper management. A lot of growth and the natural pains that come with that. Little upward mobility.

    Advice to Management

    Take feedback as constructive advice, not a personal slight.

    Smith Brothers Farms2018-03-25
  4. "No promotion path, not sustainable longterm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smith Brothers Farms full-time

    Pros

    Small company where you can know everyones name.

    Cons

    No promotional path, not sustainable longterm.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees.

    Smith Brothers Farms2017-09-07
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smith Brothers Farms full-time

    Pros

    Locally owned.Great leadership from the top. Old school concept with huge modern relevance.

    Cons

    Some times the communication with lower management is off.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Smith Brothers Farms2016-11-23
  6. "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Brothers Farms full-time

    Pros

    I drive a company car and they give me a gas card so I don't have to pay for gas out of pocket. This is also nice because I don't have to put miles onto my car. They have great benefits and matching 401k. Everyone is so nice and super helpful. They always listen on your opinion to better the company.

    Cons

    You have to work on the weekends.

    Smith Brothers Farms2016-02-11
  7. "MarCom Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kent, WA

      I worked at Smith Brothers Farms for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun family business with unique value proposition

      Cons

      industry going through changes, so hard to keep doing business as usual; need to be forward-thinking, but with empathy for long-term employees

      Smith Brothers Farms2016-02-18
    • "Excellent company to work for."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Tekoa, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Smith Brothers Farms full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Excellent pay and benefits with time off.

      Cons

      Room for advancement is limited.

      Advice to Management

      Excellent job in leadership and policies.

      Smith Brothers Farms2015-01-02
    • "A family owned company that will never grow and expand without major improvements."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kent, WA

      I worked at Smith Brothers Farms

      Pros

      -Benefits -Competitive pay -Job security -Great products -Dedicated delivery drivers -Great job for someone who isn't all that ambitious

      Cons

      -No room for professional growth -Forget about trying to break into Senior Management if you are not family -Lack of communication -Micro management -Bad job to have for someone who is very ambitious

      Advice to Management

      Promoting employess other than family members to senior management might give Smith Brothers a fresh look at how to improve the business.

      Smith Brothers Farms2011-09-07
    Found 9 reviews