Smith Hanley Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Smith Hanley Associates Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Smith Hanley Associates CEO Tom Hanley
Tom Hanley
12 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Good company and Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Recruiter in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good commission structure, hard work is rewarded, entrpreneurial work environment, Management allows for alot of employee freedom but they are also very supportive and helpful. Knowledgable colleagues and unlimited earning potential!!

    Cons

    Being a niche recruiter can feel a bit lonely sometimes as everyone has their own very specific niche that they service. But if you enjoy working on your own its a top notch place to do it!

    Smith Hanley Associates2018-07-17
  2. "Top notch recruiting firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Recruiter in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great place to be for an entrepreneurial mindset. Generous commission structures, with well tenured management who are great mentors to learn the business. Small but mighty team in Chicago who is very self-sufficient.

    Cons

    Not for those who need an immense amount of hand holding to succeed

    Smith Hanley Associates2018-07-17
  3. "Smith Hanley is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Recruiter in Southport, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Honest hardworking colleagues and a supportive work environment

    Cons

    none that impact my day to day work

    Advice to Management

    expand recruiting practices to more niches

    Smith Hanley Associates2018-07-12
  4. "Principal, Practice Leader, Executive Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southport, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. As a recruiter, Smith Hanley Associates provides you the opportunity to have your own 'niche' area. You have the relationships with both sides of the desk-client and candidate- which is fabulous!! Smith Hanley Associates office location is GREAT - easy access from I-95 and Metro North. They have flex time to accommodate commuting time.

    Cons

    I don't have any negatives for Smith Hanley Associates

    Advice to Management

    Keep what you are doing-- it works!!

    Smith Hanley Associates2018-07-11
  5. "Director of Online Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Vice President Marketing in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Stellar group of seasoned recruiters. Always timely with feedback and staying on your radar.

    Cons

    More volume of open roles

    Advice to Management

    Increase the amount of Senior level marketing roles.

    Smith Hanley Associates2018-03-20
  6. "Executive Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Recruiter in Southport, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    This is the best place I have ever worked! They foster a caring and collaborative work environment that sets you up for success! I now have my dream job...

    Cons

    There is nothing worth writing about.

    Smith Hanley Associates2018-02-13
  7. "Executive Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    -Good W/L balance -Good office culture -No micromanagement -Clearly defined territory and plan -Good incentive structure -Great reputation and long lasting relationships

    Cons

    -Flat organizational structure -High advertising costs in the recruiting business

    Advice to Management

    -Recognize the challenges facing the industry

    Smith Hanley Associates2018-02-13
  8. "Recruiter Nikki"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is an amazing recruiting company with decades' experience and specializes in pharma and healthcare industry. The recruiter I worked with (Nikki) has lots of experience, connections, and patience. I'm very satisfied with the current position. As this is a narrow field, highly specialized talents may have a hard time to find a perfect match. Companies with highly specialized positions are in similar situation. With...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not any I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Very nice job.

    Smith Hanley Associates2018-01-29

    Smith Hanley Associates Response

    February 9, 2018Managing Director

    Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm glad your utilization of our recruiting services has been going so well!

  9. "Applicant for a position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates

      Pros

      Contact with recruiter while "top candidate for position"

      Cons

      Was not selected for position with a client they where recruiting for. New opportunity-no response with new job posting after several emails. No review of material presented at interview, this allowed no support to "per interview" questions... No prep from recruiter that was so excited about my fit with this top company

      Advice to Management

      Make sure recruiters Are preping clients, reviewing material and if they are no selected, that doesn't mean the client should should be no longer qualified for future positions and not even communicates with when asking about a different posting. Feels like recruiter didn't make money on my hire so now just not good enough at all for anything

      Smith Hanley Associates2017-10-01

      Smith Hanley Associates Response

      October 6, 2017Managing Director

      I am so sorry you had a poor experience in the interview process with our firm. Feel free to contact me directly and I can follow up to see where we dropped the ball in continuing to work with you in your job search. Jacque Paige, owner, jpaige@smithhanley.com

    • "Great place to work! Excellent reputation in the industry"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time

      Pros

      Good support from management to be successful Work/ life balance valued Excellent reputation in the industry

      Cons

      Dynamic industry environment, must always be ahead of the curve - not necessarily a con - you do need to bring your A game everyday

      Advice to Management

      Continue to strive to be proactive in determining innovative ideas to continue to grow.

      Smith Hanley Associates2017-09-05

      Smith Hanley Associates Response

      September 8, 2017Managing Director

      Thank you! Yes, looking for opportunities for our current recruiters and new recruiters to grow our business is always a priority.

    Found 31 reviews