Smith Hanley Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Smith Hanley Associates Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Smith Hanley Associates CEO Tom Hanley
Tom Hanley
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great company--!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I have only worked at 2 companies my entire working career-- and my experiecne at Smith Hanley has been very positive-- friendly work place, very professional and a great team! All current employees are terrific-- will always stay in touch! Plus earning potential is outstanding!

      Cons

      The traffic getting to the office can be challenging-- located on I-95

      Smith Hanley Associates2014-06-17
    • Helpful (2)

      "A caring work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I love that as long as you perform well, you have relative freedom to come and go as you wish and I love that your desk is your business and that the bosses have an open door and a friendly ear.

      Cons

      Very little actual training for entry and early stage level recruiters. Training is mostly on the job and via interaction with colleagues. Staff are encouraged to attend relevant courses both in-person and on-line.

      Smith Hanley Associates2014-06-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Overall great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Recruiter 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time

      Pros

      -Small setting with helpful coworkers who assist with the onboarding process. -Long time employees have been invaluable helping with details. -Open door policy to talk to Partners about new ideas. -Great reputation and client list.

      Cons

      -Limited ability to work from home. -Very cost concious in certain areas.

      Advice to Management

      Additional Training for new hires would be a great investment.

      Smith Hanley Associates2014-06-11
    • Helpful (3)

      "I love working here!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Recruiter in Southport, CT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time

      Pros

      They give me so much independence in running "my" business. As a full-desk recruiter I get to decide how to spend my day and my efforts and I get compensated well for the results. Because SHA is a mid-size recruiting firm, I also get referrals and fee agreements already in place from my associates...for free!

      Cons

      Because we have so much independence we don't get trained (or controlled some would say) as much as other recruiting firms. SHA should probably beef up the training program.

      Advice to Management

      Great offices, very good compensation structure, nice people work here...keep all that up, but improve the communications/information around health plans.

      Smith Hanley Associates2014-05-29
    • "Good company for contractors"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Statistical Programmer in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Because it is a small company, the access to recruiters and HR was easy and less complicated.

      Cons

      Salary hikes.. which are not that frequent.

      Smith Hanley Associates2013-05-04
    • "Good firm to work as a statistical consultant."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Statistical Analyst (Biotech/Pharamceutical Industry) 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Exposure to various opportunities as a consultant. Professional recruiters and management. Hope they can retain the standards in the years to come.

      Cons

      Nothing significant. My expectations were mostly met or exceeded.

      Smith Hanley Associates2013-03-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "A good place to come to each day."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recruiter in Southport, CT
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates

      Pros

      A place of respect and friendship.

      Cons

      The software is cumbersome and diffucult to master.

      Smith Hanley Associates2012-04-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not what I was lead to believe or hoped it would be"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recruiter in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates

      Pros

      Established name recognition in the field.

      Cons

      Poor leadership. Lack of tools and support. No colleagiality.

      Smith Hanley Associates2012-04-12
    • "One of the better agencies..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in

      I worked at Smith Hanley Associates

      Pros

      Base & Comission structure is fair Ethical business practices Nice office

      Cons

      Very poor communication from top to bottom ATS system is not user friendly Favortism

      Smith Hanley Associates2012-06-25
    • "It is what you make it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Optional in
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Smith Hanley Associates

      Pros

      Unlimited earning potential in most areas

      Cons

      unstructured, no investment made in business

      Smith Hanley Associates2011-07-20
    Found 31 reviews