Smith Protective Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Smith Protective Services Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Smith Protective Services CEO Clayton J. Smith (no image)
Clayton J. Smith
7 Ratings
  1. "100% Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    To be 100% honest, I have been in business development, marketing and advertising for 20 plus years ..... I do my job and the return on investment is the professionalisms I receive from my team here at Smith Protective Services.... do your job and your dedication is rewarded... Hard work pays off 👊🏼😉

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of, I have a very supportive team!

    Smith Protective Services2019-01-21
  2. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scheduler in Fort Worth, TX

    I worked at Smith Protective Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Manager Great location Easygoing work environment

    Cons

    Low wages, lots to do, no room to move up

    Smith Protective Services2019-04-19
  3. "Long hours, no respect, treated like an animal when on site."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Smith Protective Services

    Pros

    Definitely a job for right out of high school, quick to hire.

    Cons

    Some jobs are in dangerous areas, very little thought is put into the well being of workers.

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2019-02-01
  4. "Professional Business with a family backing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in a family owned and run business that has been around for over a hundred years is in of itself astonishing, but when the family makes it a point to get out and meet with its people to show they care for all their hard work; well that just makes it even better. I have worked off and on with Smith for over 10 years, and now that I am no longer in my chosen field of work of Fire/EMS, I have dedicated myself to this company in hopes of making my part of it even better.

    Cons

    The days can be long and often frustrating, and the various of types of people that come and go can often times make it even more frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2018-04-28
  5. "Security Dispatcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people , off on weekends

    Cons

    Being a dispatcher here can really be stressful at times because guards do not show up to there post. Dispatchers have to do all there work on paper and the pay is really low for the work that has to be done.

    Smith Protective Services2017-12-12
  6. "Good people bad communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People work with you to get the on a schedule that works in your favor. People are friendly with a sense of humor. Good company to get your foot in the door if your looking to get into security.

    Cons

    No communication between posts, if you want to become commissioned you have to hound someone until it happens. Under paid for what we do, and almost everyone employed agrees that you should find another company once you get enough experience. The benefits are bare bones, good for regular checkups but if something happens on the job or off, you have no actual coverage.

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2017-08-05
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family owned and care about employees

    Cons

    Security is very competitive field and low profit margins mean low compensation for employees.

    Smith Protective Services2017-07-07
  8. "Sr. Manager - Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    No 2 days are the same.

    Cons

    There is a high turnover rate amongst the guards.

    Smith Protective Services2017-04-13
  9. "Smith security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Officer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services

    Pros

    Easy work for high pay

    Cons

    Horrible management they don't know how to schedule

    Smith Protective Services2016-12-06
  10. "Sad to say but this company is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Officer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smith Protective Services

    Pros

    In the beginning I thought I would enjoy working for this company, but as time went on I noticed so much disrespect, no communication between the supervisors. They do not appreciate you at all. You become ill and be admitted to the hospital and once discharged you submit discharge paperwork to your supervisor and he states I'm afraid if you call in sick again I will have to terminate you, very rude.

    Cons

    Sorry, no respect for workers and no communication

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2016-12-13
Found 20 reviews